Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Editing > Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-13-2012, 05:02 PM   #1
Snipe
WhenGasGrenWillBack?
 
Snipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Maryland
Class/Position: Sniper, Spy
Gametype: Spy Deathmatch
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
some mapping questions

As some of you know, I've been doing a lot of work in Hammer lately and I need some help with these little "problems".

First off, grenades in spawn. I am assuming that its part of the LUA that doesnt allow grenades to go off in the spawn rooms? I really want to implement that into my map i'm working on. (I also think it should be like that in EVERY map)

Second, spawn rooms that have a "force-field" or lasers that kill the other teams player. Do I HAVE to use something like lasers or could I implement both a door AND a brush/trigger/whatever that kills the other teams players when they walk through an open spawn door? (the door will still only open for that specific team. this would be a fail safe for those pesky spies who like to creep in when i'm leaving spawn... lopestyler, I am talking about you...)

Lastly, I was tinkering with the idea of a hybrid gamestyle. Think CTF with Command Points. The flags will be in the bases, but depending what points you control determines where you spawn on the battlefield. Obviously controlling more control points gives your team an advantage, spawning you close to the enemy base thus making it easier for you to get their flag.

Phew.... long-winded post.

tl dr: help me.
Snipe is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-13-2012, 07:50 PM   #2
R00Kie
Kawaii! ルーキー
Lua Team
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
R00Kie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Nowhere, Kansas
Class/Position: Random
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: BiG, Kawaii!, MustacheBrigade, GoodFellas
Posts Rated Helpful 82 Times
No grenades in spawn is a brush entity. Trigger_ff_script with the name "no_grens" you can also use "spawn_protection" which will block grenades, infection, and prevent building. Make sure to include base_teamplay in your lua.

For spawn killing doors you can do that by using a trigger_hurt and lua that detects the team.

Here is some lua from aardvark for an example. Good luck.
Code:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
-- aardvark lasers and respawn shields
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
KILL_KILL_KILL = trigger_ff_script:new({ team = Team.kUnassigned })
lasers_KILL_KILL_KILL = trigger_ff_script:new({ team = Team.kUnassigned })

function KILL_KILL_KILL:allowed( activator )
	local player = CastToPlayer( activator )
	if player then
		if player:GetTeamId() == self.team then
			return EVENT_ALLOWED
		end
	end
	return EVENT_DISALLOWED
end

function lasers_KILL_KILL_KILL:allowed( activator )
	local player = CastToPlayer( activator )
	if player then
		if player:GetTeamId() == self.team then
			if self.team == Team.kBlue then
				if redsecstatus == 1 then
					return EVENT_ALLOWED
				end
			end
			if self.team == Team.kRed then
				if bluesecstatus == 1 then
					return EVENT_ALLOWED
				end
			end
		end
	end
	return EVENT_DISALLOWED
end

blue_slayer = KILL_KILL_KILL:new({ team = Team.kBlue })
red_slayer = KILL_KILL_KILL:new({ team = Team.kRed })
sec_blue_slayer = lasers_KILL_KILL_KILL:new({ team = Team.kBlue })
sec_red_slayer = lasers_KILL_KILL_KILL:new({ team = Team.kRed })
__________________
Released: [ Island ] [ Rookie ] [ Limbo ] [ Sonic ] [ Tomb ] [ Skydive2 ] [ Bunkerwars ]
Beta: [ Argon ] [ Reflection ] [ Urbantag ]
Lua: [ game_rules ]
R00Kie is offline   Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
Old 03-14-2012, 02:46 PM   #3
Snipe
WhenGasGrenWillBack?
 
Snipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Maryland
Class/Position: Sniper, Spy
Gametype: Spy Deathmatch
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
thank you R00Ki3. Since I am new at all this, every bit helps. Esp when it comes to the LUA or brush entities and scripts.

The last part of my first post, would that even be possible to do something like that via the LUA? Mixing 2 game types together?

Also, if i can't learn everything i need to do with the LUA, would there be someone willing to do it for me or help with the majority of it? like a collaboration or something maybe.
Snipe is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-14-2012, 07:44 PM   #4
Elmo
Gets tickled by FF
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Elmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK
Class/Position: Med Solly HW
Gametype: Any/CTF
Posts Rated Helpful 41 Times
Yes it's possible. But that's about as much as I can help as I suck at LUA.
__________________
Support FF:
Done: ff_monkey
Done: ff_bases
Done: ff_warpath
Forever Doing: ff_medieval (beta#99999999)
Elmo is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-14-2012, 07:48 PM   #5
Ricey
UI Designer
Front-End Developer
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Ricey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Winter Park, FL
Class/Position: D Eng
Gametype: CTF 9v9
Affiliations: .gr , smr
Posts Rated Helpful 46 Times
Yea it's possible. I wish Pon was still around, he'd be able to do it.
__________________
Support FF:
Maps : Haste |Scrummage |Mulch_Trench
Voltage | Exchange Classic | Fortsake
ricecakes: I demand SGs get a buff
squeek.: buy it a gym membership


'I have an eye for design' - Kube 2014
Ricey is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-15-2012, 12:38 AM   #6
Crazycarl
D&A Member
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Crazycarl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 31 Times
Base_teamplay already handles grabbing and capturing flags. You can do a lot just by including base_teamplay and modifying it to do what you need to do. If you look at the documentation for info_ff_script, it has a list of callbacks, which are game events you can tap into and insert your own custom behavior.

Controlling spawn points is easy. They have a callback called validspawn. If it returns true, a player can spawn there. You can do any kind of logic and turn a group of spawns on or off.
__________________
Support FF:
Crazycarl is offline   Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
Old 03-19-2012, 01:21 AM   #7
Snipe
WhenGasGrenWillBack?
 
Snipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Maryland
Class/Position: Sniper, Spy
Gametype: Spy Deathmatch
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
ok... need some more assistance. Im working with displacements right now and im not sure exactly how to accomplish what i want to do.

I made a mountain side and decided to run a tunnel through it. how would i go about making the displacements "wrap" around the tunnel? would i just create a bunch of small ones around or is there a way to cut them? also, can you make a 45 degree angle on a displacement (like a triangle) ?? PIC RELATED

Snipe is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.