Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Editing > Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-30-2006, 07:32 AM   #1
o_stino
 
o_stino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Weird Elevator, not going to the path_track, but stops half a meter in front of it.

Hello, i'm making another ff map, but i have problems with my elevator:

here's my setup:
trigger_multiple: red_elevator_a_trigger
OnStartTouch red_elevator_a_trigger Disable
OnStartTouch red_elevator_a_train StartForward

func_tracktrain: red_elevator_a_train
First Stop Target = red_elevator_a_bottom
Height above track = 0
Max Speed = 500
Initial Speed = 50
Flags: No Pitch, No User Control, Fixed Orientation

path_track: red_elevator_a_top
Next Stop Target: red_elevator_a_bottom
New Train Speed: 50
OnPass red_elevator_a_train Stop
OnPass red_elevator_a_train StartForward afther 5 sec

path_track: red_elevator_a_bottom
Next Stop Target: red_elevator_a_top
New Train Speed: 100
OnPass red_elevator_a_train Stop
OnPass red_elevator_a_trigger Enable


and now the weird about it, the platform stats at the bottom, when i step over it it goes to the top, just before it hits the top it stops (half a meter), and waits 5 sec, then it returns to the bottom and again at half a meter from the bottom it stops again, when i duck below it and go trough the trigger, it goes back up, but again the same, not to the top..
o_stino is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-30-2006, 10:49 AM   #2
o_bumgravy
 
o_bumgravy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
from what i remember in HL1 you got this if you didnt have an origin brush tied with your train entity, not sure if its the same for hl2. Unless you have a lip value or move distance or something set in the train entity by mistake...
o_bumgravy is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-30-2006, 10:58 AM   #3
o_someth|ngw|cked
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Yeah i got this problem when i made an elevator using path_tracks too, it uses the outer box of the path as a trigger to stop then proceeds to the center before moving back again

Try just using an analogue brush
o_someth|ngw|cked is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-30-2006, 02:51 PM   #4
o_swampthing360
 
o_swampthing360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Surrey, SE England
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
ok i dont know much about ele's ive just started mapping but maybe this will help you out........ when i made my ele i made sure the bottom track was just blow the ground so it hits it and the upper box just above where u want it to stop if that does'nt work click the link below maybe that will help

clicky
o_swampthing360 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-30-2006, 07:33 PM   #5
o_nezumi
 
o_nezumi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Peoples Republic of Harmfull Free Radicals
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Yea, the problem is func_tracktrains in source just blow. Just use a func_door with a huge negative lip instead. Unless you're trying to make a multi-floor elevator or something, which I think you can use a bunch of doors for anyway.
o_nezumi is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-30-2006, 09:30 PM   #6
o_imbrifer
 
o_imbrifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Changes every few months
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Yeah, use a door or a func_movelinear.

Is there a little origin circle in the middle of your elevator entity? If so, I'm sure moving it up and down will fix your problemo.
o_imbrifer is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-30-2006, 09:35 PM   #7
o_loader
 
o_loader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Portsmouth, England
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
why the fuck dont they just make a func_lift that works
o_loader is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-30-2006, 10:25 PM   #8
o_bumgravy
 
o_bumgravy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
the origin brush should have its centre where you want the centre of the lift to be, as this point will correspond to the middle of the path_track point entities, so if you desgin your lift a certain way it could look too high or low or off centre. the origin brush should also be tied to the train entity, it wont render in game as long as it has the origin texture so dont worry about that.
o_bumgravy is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 08-01-2006, 05:26 AM   #9
o_nezumi
 
o_nezumi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Peoples Republic of Harmfull Free Radicals
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
In source, origing brushes don't do anything. I don't know if there even is the origing texture.

Moving the purple handle thing around should work but it doesn't. Using func_elevators for things that need to stop at precise locations just doesn't work in source.

You could spend a lot of time adjusting things by tiny ammounts but I think it'll be off if there's any network latency anyway.
o_nezumi is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 08-03-2006, 12:21 PM   #10
o_stino
 
o_stino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Imbrifer
Yeah, use a door or a func_movelinear.

Is there a little origin circle in the middle of your elevator entity? If so, I'm sure moving it up and down will fix your problemo.
i'm sure that whould not fix it, look i will try to draw it:
(the red squares are the path_tracks)

i just want that he stops back on the green line, and moves up to the top.
o_stino is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 08-04-2006, 07:54 AM   #11
o_nezumi
 
o_nezumi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Peoples Republic of Harmfull Free Radicals
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Wait, so the elevator starts at the bottom, moves to the top, then comes back down almost all the way to the bottom, or does it just move to the top then back to where it started?
o_nezumi is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 08-04-2006, 08:09 PM   #12
o_bumgravy
 
o_bumgravy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
move the path_tracks?
o_bumgravy is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 08-05-2006, 08:47 AM   #13
o_stino
 
o_stino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by BumGravy
move the path_tracks?
to where? and no, if i lower the bottom path track the elevator whould spawn under the ground.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nezumi
Wait, so the elevator starts at the bottom, moves to the top, then comes back down almost all the way to the bottom, or does it just move to the top then back to where it started?
no it never reaches one of the path_tracks afther it started
o_stino is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.