Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Help & Technical > Server Administration

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2008, 04:12 AM   #1
Dr.Satan
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dr.Satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Class/Position: Med / Solly
Gametype: PAYLOAD
Affiliations: DET-
Posts Rated Helpful 19 Times
[Tutorial]Setting up your Map Rotation

To set up your map rotation with SourceMod:

You have to change the following files:

maplist.txt (fortressforever/maplist.txt)
mapcycle.txt (fortressforever/addons/sourcemod/configs/mapcycle.txt)
adminmenu_maplist.ini (fortressforever/addons/sourcemod/configs/adminmenu_maplist.ini)

You will probably need to create the last 2 files (I had to) b/c the sourcmod dl doesn't come with them.

maplist.txt should be the maps you want. listed one by one each on their own line.

An example:

Code:
ff_congestus
ff_well
ff_aardvark
ff_etc
mapcycle.txt should be the same as the maplist.txt

Example:

Code:
ff_congestus
ff_well
ff_aardvark
ff_etc
adminmenu_maplist.ini is a full list of every map on your server. I don't think it has to be in alphabetic order, but it helps.

Example:

Code:
concadam
ff_aardvark
ff_congestus
ff_redgiant
...
Save this file in notepad (notepad NOT wordpad) as adminmenu_maplist.ini and it will save it as an ini file. Then upload to your server.

Once you have all that done you should be good to go.

Trouble Shooting

If your map is not starting at the first map in your maplist when you restart your server, you may need to check with your server provider. They probably have a specific map designated to be the "start map" whenever you restart / stop and start your server.

You can test this on your own by placing the following line in your server.cfg (fortressforever/server.cfg)

startmap "ff_dev_2fort"

Stop your server completely
Start your server
And finally check which map it starts on

If it starts up as anything but ff_dev_2fort then they have it set to start on something. I think the current default is usually ff_well (mine was).

To solve this you have 2 options:
  1. Contact your server provider and ask them to change the start map to something you want
  2. Place the map your server starts on at the top of your maplist and mapcycle.txt files

Example for Opt. 2 (assuming ff_well is default map):

Code:
ff_well
ff_congestus
ff_well
ff_aardvark
ff_etc
NOTE: You can have more then one listing of the same map in your mapcycle / maplist.txt
__________________
(Released) conc_school | hellion_classic | ksour_PAYLOAD | mulch_faf
(Beta) alchimy_b1
(Lua) base_payload_2015
(Models) props_trainyard
Support FF:

Last edited by Dr.Satan; 04-22-2008 at 07:39 PM.
Dr.Satan is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-22-2008, 06:41 PM   #2
puppychow
Arf!
D&A Member
 
puppychow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Send a message via MSN to puppychow Send a message via Yahoo to puppychow
i dont have an addons folder to create the mapcycle.txt in.....create directory?
puppychow is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-22-2008, 06:51 PM   #3
Circuitous
Useless
Retired FF Staff
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Class/Position: D Soldier, O Scout
Gametype: AvD
Posts Rated Helpful 9 Times
Send a message via AIM to Circuitous Send a message via MSN to Circuitous Send a message via Yahoo to Circuitous Send a message via Skype™ to Circuitous
Yeah.
__________________
Look at all those dead links.
Circuitous is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-22-2008, 07:38 PM   #4
Dr.Satan
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dr.Satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Class/Position: Med / Solly
Gametype: PAYLOAD
Affiliations: DET-
Posts Rated Helpful 19 Times
this is assuming you have sourcemod and metamod installed.

If you don't, then I believe all you would need to do is edit your maplist.txt file, but lemme check more into it.
__________________
(Released) conc_school | hellion_classic | ksour_PAYLOAD | mulch_faf
(Beta) alchimy_b1
(Lua) base_payload_2015
(Models) props_trainyard
Support FF:
Dr.Satan is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-22-2008, 07:41 PM   #5
Hammock
D&A Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 13 Times
Please use this tip server admins!

epicenter and dev_2fort over and over just plain sucks.
Hammock is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-22-2008, 09:55 PM   #6
GeoKill----->
Community Member
Server Owner
Beta Tester
Forum Moderator
 
GeoKill----->'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hawthorne, California
Class/Position: Soldier/Spy/Scout
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: :e0:Eternal Order Leader
Posts Rated Helpful 12 Times
I agree with you but people love dev_2fort, can't say the same for epicenter.
__________________

:e0: Will live on Forever
Support FF:
GeoKill-----> is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-22-2008, 10:12 PM   #7
puppychow
Arf!
D&A Member
 
puppychow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Send a message via MSN to puppychow Send a message via Yahoo to puppychow
speaking as someone who knows nothing about creating a server, and who is currently learning, i can say with confidence we need a more cohesive wiki or instruction set. didnt know what metamod or admin mod was till today...we need to get that basic.

maybe ill create when im done as im the one coming from a rookie's perspective....
puppychow is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-22-2008, 10:26 PM   #8
Dr.Satan
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dr.Satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Class/Position: Med / Solly
Gametype: PAYLOAD
Affiliations: DET-
Posts Rated Helpful 19 Times
like this?
__________________
(Released) conc_school | hellion_classic | ksour_PAYLOAD | mulch_faf
(Beta) alchimy_b1
(Lua) base_payload_2015
(Models) props_trainyard
Support FF:
Dr.Satan is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-23-2008, 03:02 AM   #9
puppychow
Arf!
D&A Member
 
puppychow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Send a message via MSN to puppychow Send a message via Yahoo to puppychow
oh fuck, yeah, ty

BTW, where do i enable VAC? still showing unsecured in server listings..
puppychow is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-23-2008, 03:46 AM   #10
greenday5494
Holy shit, thats kerrigan!
D&A Member
 
greenday5494's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Class/Position: D, whatever the team needs, usually engy
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: None
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
try -vac, but for source games, they are usually VAC-enabled by default
greenday5494 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-23-2008, 03:52 AM   #11
puppychow
Arf!
D&A Member
 
puppychow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Send a message via MSN to puppychow Send a message via Yahoo to puppychow
should be in some config somewhere..
puppychow is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-23-2008, 04:27 AM   #12
Jester
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Jester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Class/Position: O: Scout
Affiliations: {NFO} - New Family Order
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
https://support.steampowered.com/kb_...6911-PLXV-6818
Jester is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-23-2008, 04:40 AM   #13
puppychow
Arf!
D&A Member
 
puppychow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Send a message via MSN to puppychow Send a message via Yahoo to puppychow
im hosted so i dont have access to that. guess ill contact them.
puppychow is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-23-2008, 05:03 AM   #14
Jester
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Jester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Class/Position: O: Scout
Affiliations: {NFO} - New Family Order
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Judging by hosting sites like this:
http://www.fatpipeserver.com/faq.html
Quote:
Q: How do I enable VAC (Valve Anti Cheat) on my server?

A: If your server is a non-source server (ie. CS 1.6, Half-Life 1, DOD) then you can edit the liblist.gam file in your server's root folder and insert the line secure 1 to enable VAC. If you are running a Source server, please send us an e-mail and we will enable it for you if it already isn't (it is turned on by default - we can also turn it off for you if needed).
You'll probably have to contact your host.
Jester is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-23-2008, 02:20 PM   #15
Dr.Satan
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dr.Satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Class/Position: Med / Solly
Gametype: PAYLOAD
Affiliations: DET-
Posts Rated Helpful 19 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by puppychow
oh fuck, yeah, ty

BTW, where do i enable VAC? still showing unsecured in server listings..
No problem...me and 82694 typed all 3 of those out a while ago to help people. I think it came shortly after or when I made this tutorial, but I can't really remember.

I need to get that into the menu somewhere though...

EDIT: Ah that's right...it's in the Category:Tutorials, but there is nothing on the side bar referencing that. Dam I need to start back up on the wiki
__________________
(Released) conc_school | hellion_classic | ksour_PAYLOAD | mulch_faf
(Beta) alchimy_b1
(Lua) base_payload_2015
(Models) props_trainyard
Support FF:

Last edited by Dr.Satan; 04-23-2008 at 02:27 PM.
Dr.Satan is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.