Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Help & Technical > FF Technical Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-14-2007, 02:57 PM   #1
Sidd
Lua Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Bt Home Hub

Ok it seems a few people with the Bt Home Hub have been having problems.

The game pauses at "sending client info", or manages to join a server but loses the connection in the first 2 minutes. This happens in all source games, not just ff.

This is a firewall problem with the home hub. You need to enable some ports for it to work. A slight issue is the default hl2 setting in the home hub is wrong, and the ports listed on valve's website are wrong!

To change the firewall settings of the Home Hub follow read this link:

http://portforward.com/english/route...eat_Source.htm

The ports you need to forward are:
1200
6881 to 6889
27000 to 27050

Hopefully this will help a few people out. People with other routers don't see to have had as much trouble, maybe 6881 to 6889 isn't normally blocked by default? dunno. Anyway, this fixed ff for me and at least 2 other people.
Sidd is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-14-2007, 03:01 PM   #2
Ginger Lord
Retired FF Staff
 
Ginger Lord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sunny England
Affiliations: Custard
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Send a message via MSN to Ginger Lord
I'll give this a go, my HomeHub is acting up. Had all the Source things forwarded so i'll try these too.
Ginger Lord is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-14-2007, 03:51 PM   #3
vartaxe
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
humm strange i always tought that the ports to use was


i will try yours... because i'm having troubles connecting to an server with the cornfield map... its strange buts true!
vartaxe is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-14-2007, 03:57 PM   #4
Sidd
Lua Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
ye, I'm not sure exactly which of the 27000 ports you need to forward, maybe just 00-15 and 30-39 is enough. But forwarding the 6881 to 6889 range definitely fixed it for me.
Sidd is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-14-2007, 04:44 PM   #5
vartaxe
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
nothing done... still cant connect to any server

maybee it my new isp that sucks!!! i have 2mb (2048/256) adsl powered by tele2.lu (previously i had telepac.pt)

someone said to me that tele2.lu has some upload compression technology maybee thats the problem!?

please help me i want to play
vartaxe is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-23-2007, 02:09 PM   #6
Ginger Lord
Retired FF Staff
 
Ginger Lord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sunny England
Affiliations: Custard
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Send a message via MSN to Ginger Lord
What I have done to fix my homehub dropping my connection is to enable DMZ and point it at my computer on the network, then reconnect to the network.

Advanced > Application Sharing > DMZ > Assign PC

You may also need to restart your PC. Fixed problems in all Source Games for me with joining a server and within a minute getting "Connection Lost" error.
Ginger Lord is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-25-2007, 04:50 PM   #7
toolboxer
Guest
 
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Sidd, very helpful! Solved the crappy connection problems on my end.


btw, it took me about 10 f**king minutes to sign up here. It was like riddles in the dark with gollum. what does ff stand for? um, friendlyfire? Who is buried in grants tomb... Ulysses S. Grant. Apprently not.

Thank f**k I know what the opposite of yes is.
  Reply With Quote


Old 09-25-2007, 10:45 PM   #8
Lost
Fear teh crowbar.
Retired FF Staff
 
Lost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Oklahoma
Gametype: CTF ftw, yeh
Posts Rated Helpful 6 Times
Send a message via Yahoo to Lost
Quote:
Originally Posted by toolboxer
btw, it took me about 10 f**king minutes to sign up here. It was like riddles in the dark with gollum. what does ff stand for? um, friendlyfire? Who is buried in grants tomb... Ulysses S. Grant. Apprently not.

Thank f**k I know what the opposite of yes is.[/SIZE]
hahaha, too damned funny.
__________________
Do what you want cuz a pirate is free!

You are a pirate!
Lost is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.