Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Editing > Mapping > Maps

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-31-2009, 08:56 AM   #1
GenghisTron
AKA LittleAndroidMan
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
GenghisTron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Dystopia
Class/Position: Demo/Medic
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: [TALOS] [SR]
Posts Rated Helpful 11 Times
ff_r123_b1 (TFC remake)

Concept: It's a fast-paced, 2v2/fun/random type map. It's basically a 'U' shaped xpress, but it has launch pads and more rampslides. It was a popular 2v2 map between hardcore 2v2'ers in TFC and a lot of people played it exclusively to get nice airshots. There was even an r123.avi made only with r123 plays.

It's not the best looking map, I made it over the course of the past two days, and it was just something to remove the mapper's block I'm having on my current WIP project. Anyways, for some tips; Don't fall off the map! It's pretty easy to get going so fast that you'll lose control. You're also able to get to the enemies base with minimal running--setup a jump pad at the spawn and you can rampslide all the way to the other base.

Screens:









Download:

Mediafire
Mirror
__________________

Last edited by GenghisTron; 12-31-2009 at 09:05 AM.
GenghisTron is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 12-31-2009, 09:04 AM   #2
mentalERROR
[DGAF]
 
mentalERROR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
sweet, loaded onto mentalHOUSE.
mentalERROR is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 12-31-2009, 05:02 PM   #3
Dr.Satan
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dr.Satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Class/Position: Med / Solly
Gametype: PAYLOAD
Affiliations: DET-
Posts Rated Helpful 19 Times
looks like crap!

jk...nice job Genghis, glad you got everything sorted out! Looks like a pretty fun map tbh.
__________________
(Released) conc_school | hellion_classic | ksour_PAYLOAD | mulch_faf
(Beta) alchimy_b1
(Lua) base_payload_2015
(Models) props_trainyard
Support FF:
Dr.Satan is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 12-31-2009, 06:14 PM   #4
NeonLight
NeoNL
Wiki Team
Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Boston, Mass
Class/Position: Soldier, Medic
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: +M|M+ -RS
Posts Rated Helpful 170 Times
I. Love. You.

I loved this map so much more than xpress
NeonLight is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-01-2010, 12:55 AM   #5
GenghisTron
AKA LittleAndroidMan
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
GenghisTron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Dystopia
Class/Position: Demo/Medic
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: [TALOS] [SR]
Posts Rated Helpful 11 Times
<3

And yea Satan, it's a lot of fun.
__________________
GenghisTron is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-02-2010, 02:11 AM   #6
zE
Pew pew ze beams
 
zE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Gametype: Gathers
Affiliations: pew pew
Posts Rated Helpful 11 Times
did u test it before release it, because that map is really bugged. with half of the map not rendering.
The pads thing is really fun.
zE is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-02-2010, 02:51 AM   #7
GenghisTron
AKA LittleAndroidMan
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
GenghisTron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Dystopia
Class/Position: Demo/Medic
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: [TALOS] [SR]
Posts Rated Helpful 11 Times
I think that's just the max rendering distance for the engine. It was the same way in TFC.
__________________
GenghisTron is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-02-2010, 03:12 AM   #8
zE
Pew pew ze beams
 
zE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Gametype: Gathers
Affiliations: pew pew
Posts Rated Helpful 11 Times
its not, look at any djump map, its like 10 times bigger, and renders it all, its something else.
zE is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-02-2010, 06:53 AM   #9
GenghisTron
AKA LittleAndroidMan
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
GenghisTron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Dystopia
Class/Position: Demo/Medic
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: [TALOS] [SR]
Posts Rated Helpful 11 Times
There's also a massive cylinder in the middle of the empty space in the middle. Most likely it.
__________________
GenghisTron is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-04-2010, 12:11 AM   #10
GenghisTron
AKA LittleAndroidMan
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
GenghisTron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Dystopia
Class/Position: Demo/Medic
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: [TALOS] [SR]
Posts Rated Helpful 11 Times
Beta 2 is out!

Changes
-Textured underside of the map
-Fixed the trigger between the bases to actually remove all projectiles
-Made the walk-way on the top of the base smaller to balance the map less in-favor of offense.
-Fixed the visual problems
-Made the boundaries of the map bigger
-Fixed it so that you don't get shot back when you accidentally hit the top end of the launch cannons

Download

Mediafire
__________________
GenghisTron is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-04-2010, 01:08 AM   #11
GenghisTron
AKA LittleAndroidMan
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
GenghisTron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Dystopia
Class/Position: Demo/Medic
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: [TALOS] [SR]
Posts Rated Helpful 11 Times
Beta 3 is out!

Changes

-Fixed Elevator issue with b2
-Fixed missing textures, and the random texture on the red base, blue ramp

Download

Mediafire
__________________
GenghisTron is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-07-2010, 06:07 PM   #12
zE
Pew pew ze beams
 
zE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Gametype: Gathers
Affiliations: pew pew
Posts Rated Helpful 11 Times
nice man, seems all fixed now : D
zE is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-08-2010, 04:27 PM   #13
GenghisTron
AKA LittleAndroidMan
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
GenghisTron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Dystopia
Class/Position: Demo/Medic
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: [TALOS] [SR]
Posts Rated Helpful 11 Times
Final release is out!

Version 4 (Final)

Changes

-Instant flag return when it falls off the world
-Aligned hazard stripes better
-Added .res, .txt, and loading screen
-Class limits

Download

Mediafire
Mirror
__________________
GenghisTron is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-08-2011, 02:51 AM   #14
color43
FF Player
D&A Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Code:
function startup()
    -- Team limits.
    SetPlayerLimit(Team.kBlue, 0)
    SetPlayerLimit(Team.kRed, 0)
    SetPlayerLimit(Team.kYellow, -1)
    SetPlayerLimit(Team.kGreen, -1)

    -- Blue team limits.
    local team = GetTeam(Team.kBlue)
    team:SetClassLimit(Player.kCivilian, -1)
    team:SetClassLimit(Player.kSniper, -1)
    team:SetClassLimit(Player.kPyro, -1)
    team:SetClassLimit(Player.kEnginner, 1)

    -- Red team limits.
    team = GetTeam(Team.kRed)
    team:SetClassLimit(Player.kCivilian, -1)
    team:SetClassLimit(Player.kSniper, -1)
    team:SetClassLimit(Player.kPyro, -1)
    team:SetClassLimit(Player.kEnginner, 1)

end
The spelling of Engineer is wrong in the highlighted statements in the included LUA. This allows unlimited snipers, pyros, and engineers on red.
color43 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-11-2011, 07:06 PM   #15
Agent Buckshot Moose
Wiki Standards Team
Wiki Team
 
Agent Buckshot Moose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Geokill's closet
Class/Position: Sniper/Demoman
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: :e0: Co-leader
Posts Rated Helpful 6 Times
Why is pyro even off? I can see sniper, but pyro?

Also that typo would explain why red team was full of snipers and blue didn't have any when I played it a few days ago...

Last edited by Agent Buckshot Moose; 09-11-2011 at 07:06 PM.
Agent Buckshot Moose is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-23-2012, 07:52 PM   #16
Respect38
D&A Member
 
Respect38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Class/Position: Pyro
Gametype: Hunted
Posts Rated Helpful 4 Times
That Engineer misspelling ever get fixed? I believe we played a match the other day and RED had a crapload of Sentries on their side...
Respect38 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-14-2012, 04:00 AM   #17
Respect38
D&A Member
 
Respect38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Class/Position: Pyro
Gametype: Hunted
Posts Rated Helpful 4 Times
If no one is going to look into fixing this, is there a way I could...?
Respect38 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-17-2012, 01:02 AM   #18
color43
FF Player
D&A Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Yeah. You can change the LUA file manually. Edit ff_r123.lua on the server and spell Engineer the right way.

You may need to get in touch with the server owner to do this if it's not your server.

Last edited by color43; 05-17-2012 at 01:04 AM.
color43 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-19-2012, 04:46 PM   #19
Respect38
D&A Member
 
Respect38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Class/Position: Pyro
Gametype: Hunted
Posts Rated Helpful 4 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by color43 View Post
Yeah. You can change the LUA file manually. Edit ff_r123.lua on the server and spell Engineer the right way.

You may need to get in touch with the server owner to do this if it's not your server.
No, it's not my server... and I don't know if any of the Old Timers people would be willing to fix it... oh well.
Respect38 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-22-2012, 05:12 PM   #20
Scuzzy
D&A Member
Retired FF Staff
 
Scuzzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Server: 206.217.134.170:27016
Posts Rated Helpful 2 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Respect38 View Post
No, it's not my server... and I don't know if any of the Old Timers people would be willing to fix it... oh well.
Done.
__________________
"Player Quality, not Quantity, is what we strive for." - The LLama Wrangler
"A clan is defined by the nature of it's enemies. - The Llama Wrangler
Scuzzy is offline   Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.