Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Off Topic > Chat

Old 02-16-2005, 08:47 PM   #1
o_ickby

Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Jargon Buster

Hi all!

As a newbie (sorry if that offends anyone) , I've been finding it hard to follow all the abbreviations and jargon used in TFC and other online games.
There are obvious ones I know eg:

WTF = what the fu*k
STFU = shut the fu*k up
OMG = oh my god

Are there any more commonly used abbreviations we noobs should know? What is "pwnage" and why is it spelt with a P? Why do some players use teh instead of the? Are there any abbreviations and jargon you'd like to see used?

I know this is beginners stuff but, well, i'm a beginner.

BTW (by the way ), I'm really looking forward to this mod. If only I had a better machine than an Athlon 650mhz. Bugger.

Nice to meet you all.
o_ickby is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-16-2005, 09:10 PM   #2
o_rebo

Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Its cool Ickby but this type of question should be posted in Off Topic Chat. I agree "General Discussion" is a bit ambiguous and ill see about changing it.

Pwnage, probably started as a misstype of ownage. Now the thing about the internet is that without terms of reference its difficult for the more active internet users to seperate the newbies from the guys who have a basic understanding of internet etiquette. Thats why these mistypes stick, pwn or pwnage becomes a term of identification. It shows your not a borning school teacher or an uneducated rita. Why do these somewhat silly terms stick as opposed to technical or knowledge aspects of the internet, well that sprobably because most internet users are sub 25 and in this age proper grammar and pronounciation is not drilled into people ( i should know ) )