Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Editing > Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-15-2005, 06:10 AM   #1
o_eradicatus
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Norway
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
func_occluders

Any info or tutorials on this entity?

hopefully on how to place them around the map.

I only get this when I try to use them:

Occluder "" straddles multiple areas. This is invalid!
o_eradicatus is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-15-2005, 02:41 PM   #2
trepid_jesse
Fortress Forever Staff
 
trepid_jesse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Texas
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
I also haven't been able to pin down what causes that error to occur either, Eradicatus. That's one of the things I'd like to go back to and try to re-create the problem so that I can figure out what exactly a func_occluder doesn't like to do.

Right now, we've used them somewhat sparingly in Hunted, but I imagine that we're going to be using them more and more as we use more and more models.

I can tell you that they aren't like func_areaportals in the regard that the "occluding" face can been traced to from more than one direction. The occluding face also doesn't need to be raised off of a brush.

So, for example, if you had a wall that you also wanted to occlude the models behind it -- the func_occluder that was behind the wall could be flush up against the wall; it does't need to be 1 unit off the wall or anything like that.

Another thing, which you probably already know, is that you put the occluding texture on the face that you wish to occlude "through." What I mean, is that the occluder works based on looking through it from the front and not vice versa. The occluder doesn't work if you're behind the occluder; even though, you're still "technically" looking through the occluder... but yeah, I think you get the idea.
__________________
Support FF:

Trepid, what?
trepid_jesse is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-15-2005, 02:58 PM   #3
o_eradicatus
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Norway
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Such a pain in the butt.

Specially when I *cough* relied on occluders to hide my map.

Now I get 20-30 fps on meh gf6800u in the main fighting areas.

Another thing that frustrates me, is that every tutorial on things, that I come over, apparently is made for newbies. Even the source reference docs is just basic.


What does straddles mean?

Heh, this is turning out to be just as fun as leaf errors was in HL1
o_eradicatus is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-16-2005, 12:28 AM   #4
trepid_jon
Ray Ray Johnson
Fortress Forever Staff
 
trepid_jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Class/Position: D Civilian
Gametype: Rocket Jousting
Affiliations: EAFD
Posts Rated Helpful 77 Times
Send a message via ICQ to trepid_jon Send a message via AIM to trepid_jon
I imagine that means the occluder is spread out into multiple...areas. Haha, so I basically said what the error says. I just meant that maybe it's saying that the occluder is in multiple and different VIS areas/portals, and apparently that's a bad thing.

Or maybe it means something different.

Uh, odds are they're probably basic white, cotton, underpants. But I sort of think, well maybe they're silk panties. Maybe it's a thong. Maybe it's something really cool that I don't even know about. You know. And uh, and I started feeling.....what? What, I thought we were in the trust tree, in the nest, were we not?

Anyways, I'm also a little confused with that error, Eradicatus, so I'm just not sure.
__________________
Support FF:
Trepid
steamcommunity.com/id/trepid_jon/
trepid_jon is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-16-2005, 05:49 AM   #5
o_eradicatus
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Norway
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
I would like it to be a thong.




And.. HA! just you people wait till yourself are gonna use occluders.

o_eradicatus is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-17-2005, 02:43 AM   #6
o_eradicatus
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Norway
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Peoples going to use occluders are in luck! :P

This is why this error occur:

If you got a room, and splits it in half by adding a wall on the middle. Then have two props in each room. Then you cant have a single occluder brush going from one room to another (going through the wall on the middle) to occlud both props. This will generate the straddles multiple areas error.

If you only have props in one of the rooms, and still have the occluder going through the wall in the middle, it will not generate this error.

Or as Jeff Lane said here:

Quote:
This error usually occurs when an func_occluder is touching an func_areaportal, or is within a solid brush that touches two different areas on different faces of the brush.

An area is defined by an areaportal splitting up the two spaces.

It's not a fatal error, but the occluder will not function correctly.
o_eradicatus is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-17-2005, 06:16 AM   #7
trepid_jon
Ray Ray Johnson
Fortress Forever Staff
 
trepid_jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Class/Position: D Civilian
Gametype: Rocket Jousting
Affiliations: EAFD
Posts Rated Helpful 77 Times
Send a message via ICQ to trepid_jon Send a message via AIM to trepid_jon
Ah, I see. Makes a little more sense now. Good find.
__________________
Support FF:
Trepid
steamcommunity.com/id/trepid_jon/
trepid_jon is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.