Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Community > Tips and Tutorials

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-24-2009, 09:27 PM   #1
elyk
 
Join Date: May 2009
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Spy config help

I'm one of those rare TFC/FF players who use arrowkeys in combination with the keypad. I've had trouble with the keypad being friendly with the disguise/cloak/etc. menu in FF, hoovering your mouse until the next selection pops up is too slow, and I do not play this class enough to bother with scritps. I've looked in my config file and haven't found anythnig that I could tweak to fix this. If you can help solve this problem it will be much appreciated.
elyk is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-25-2009, 12:17 AM   #2
Jester
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Jester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Class/Position: O: Scout
Affiliations: {NFO} - New Family Order
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Not entirely sure what you mean, something like this?:

bind KP_5 "disguise enemy medic"

Would bind your number 5 on the numpad to disguise as medic. If that is the type of thing you want, I will post the rest of the numbers.
Jester is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-25-2009, 02:54 AM   #3
fishBurger
get off my lawn
 
fishBurger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Class/Position: O scout / demo
Gametype: killing
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Go arrowkeys! I'm not positive, but I think you can click mouse1 when one of the options is highlighted.
__________________
That means that either you are an American, or you are NOT an American. There is no hyphenated exception. -Iggy
fishBurger is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-25-2009, 03:31 PM   #4
elyk
 
Join Date: May 2009
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jester View Post
Not entirely sure what you mean, something like this?:

bind KP_5 "disguise enemy medic"

Would bind your number 5 on the numpad to disguise as medic. If that is the type of thing you want, I will post the rest of the numbers.
Sorry for making it unclear, but to go through the menu alot quicker, for instance; cloak is listed as 6, I'd have to press the number 6 as oppose of pressing 6 on the keypad. It doesnt pick up the selection I chose when using the keypad.
elyk is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-25-2009, 04:32 PM   #5
Hammock
D&A Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 13 Times
Do you have numlock on? I use the keypad to do all my disguising and have to have numlock on for it to work.
Hammock is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-25-2009, 06:06 PM   #6
PartialSchism
Keep On Keepin' On
 
PartialSchism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Mississippi
Class/Position: Offense
Gametype: Fun
Affiliations: I'm bad at FF, and my customs suck
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Send a message via AIM to PartialSchism
( Sticky Above Your Face - Fortress Forever basic binds / commands )

http://forums.fortress-forever.com/s...ad.php?t=10618


KP_HOME - Keypad Home, 7 Keypad
KP_UPARROW - Keypad Up Arrow, 8 Keypad
KP_PGUP - Keypad Page Up, 9 Keypad
KP_LEFTARROW - Keypad Left Arrow, 4 Keypad
KP_5 - Keypad 5 Keypad
KP_RIGHTARROW - Keypad Right Arrow, 6 Keypad
KP_END - Keypad End, 1 Keypad
KP_DOWNARROW - Keypad Down Arrow, 2 Keypad
KP_PGDN - Keypad Page Down, 3 Keypad
KP_ENTER - Keypad Enter Keypad
KP_INS - Keypad Insert, 0 Keypad
KP_DEL - Keypad Del, '.' Keypad
KP_SLASH - Keypad Back Keypad
KP_MINUS - Keypad Hyphen, - Keypad
KP_PLUS - Keypad Plus, + Keypad
* - Keypad Star, * Keypad

***
Spy
***
disguise team class - Spy disguise : [team can be color, enemy or friendly]
eg: bind "x" "disguise enemy soldier"
cloak - Cloak - (replaces feign)
scloak - Silent Cloak - (replaces sfeign)
[You cannot run and jump/bunnyhop whilst cloaked]
sentrysabotage - Places sabotage unit on Sentry Gun
dispensersabotage - Places sabotage unit on Dispenser
PartialSchism is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-25-2009, 09:05 PM   #7
Jester
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Jester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Class/Position: O: Scout
Affiliations: {NFO} - New Family Order
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Yea double-check that numlock is on first. If that doesnt work try these lines in console:
bind 5
bind kp_5
They should have the same result if they can both be used for the menu, if not you will have to do some binding.
Jester is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-27-2009, 08:52 PM   #8
elyk
 
Join Date: May 2009
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Tried everything you guys mentioned, still no good . Thanks for all your help though, I guess I'll have to find a way around it. Its weird, the homerow numbers arent bound, but still can be used, but the keypad is bound and it wont be picked up through the spy/engy select menu.
elyk is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-28-2009, 12:15 AM   #9
PartialSchism
Keep On Keepin' On
 
PartialSchism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Mississippi
Class/Position: Offense
Gametype: Fun
Affiliations: I'm bad at FF, and my customs suck
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Send a message via AIM to PartialSchism
huh?

1. dont hold mouse2

2. open the console

3. type this
Code:
bind KP_5 "disguise enemy spy"
4. hit enter / return

5. close the console

6. press 5 on the keypad

if that doesn't disguise you as an enemy spy, your keypad is the problem.
PartialSchism is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.