Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Community > Tips and Tutorials

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2008, 10:37 PM   #1
jordan10la
 
jordan10la's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Class/Position: Medic
Affiliations: {FYC}
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
I want some scripts but I have no clue what am doing.

Basically I have seen some people have auto messages and I would like to have auto messages too. For example when I call for a medic I would like to set my own message to display in team chat along with my location. Another example I would like to have would be able to bind a key to say something on team chat. Oh and the other one is when I press C to drop the flag it will display a message along with my current location. So if anyone could give me the basic structure for that it would be greatly appreciated.
jordan10la is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-12-2008, 10:39 PM   #2
GeoKill----->
Community Member
Server Owner
Beta Tester
Forum Moderator
 
GeoKill----->'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hawthorne, California
Class/Position: Soldier/Spy/Scout
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: :e0:Eternal Order Leader
Posts Rated Helpful 12 Times
http://www.fortress-forever.com/wiki/Scripts
__________________

:e0: Will live on Forever
Support FF:
GeoKill-----> is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-12-2008, 11:09 PM   #3
jordan10la
 
jordan10la's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Class/Position: Medic
Affiliations: {FYC}
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
I hate to say that a lot of that doesn't help me. So far I am thinking it would be something like:
bind "Z" saveme

But I don't know how to make its say something in teamchat, which would beside the saveme. But that still isn't quite what I want. I want it to send a message when Ichoose medic in the thign when i press Z (the one with armor and ammo) is that possible? Also where do I put them? In a autoexec.cfg?
jordan10la is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-13-2008, 01:10 AM   #4
fishBurger
get off my lawn
 
fishBurger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Class/Position: O scout / demo
Gametype: killing
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
bind z "saveme;say_team Heal me!! [%h Health - %a Armor]"

bind c "dropflagcommand;say_team Flag dropped at %l"

not sure what the cmd for dropflag is, but you should get the picture.
__________________
That means that either you are an American, or you are NOT an American. There is no hyphenated exception. -Iggy
fishBurger is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-13-2008, 05:10 AM   #5
jordan10la
 
jordan10la's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Class/Position: Medic
Affiliations: {FYC}
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishBurger
bind z "saveme;say_team Heal me!! [%h Health - %a Armor]"

bind c "dropflagcommand;say_team Flag dropped at %l"

not sure what the cmd for dropflag is, but you should get the picture.
Thanks man I'll have to try them out. But where do I put them?
EDIT: Nevermind I thought I would try autoexec.cfg and it worked.

Last edited by jordan10la; 04-13-2008 at 06:10 AM.
jordan10la is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-13-2008, 07:34 AM   #6
Dr.Satan
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dr.Satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Class/Position: Med / Solly
Gametype: PAYLOAD
Affiliations: DET-
Posts Rated Helpful 19 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishBurger
bind c "dropflagcommand;say_team Flag dropped at %l"
bind c "dropitems;say_team Flag dropped at %l {%hH}{%aA}"

dropitems is the command...and you really need to add in %h / %a commands if you are going to use a flag toss bind. The health tells your team members weather or not your toss was successful.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jordan10la
Another example I would like to have would be able to bind a key to say something on team chat
bind key "say_team whatever you want"
__________________
(Released) conc_school | hellion_classic | ksour_PAYLOAD | mulch_faf
(Beta) alchimy_b1
(Lua) base_payload_2015
(Models) props_trainyard
Support FF:
Dr.Satan is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-13-2008, 03:39 AM   #7
jordan10la
 
jordan10la's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Class/Position: Medic
Affiliations: {FYC}
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Satan
The health tells your team members weather or not your toss was successful.
What do you mean? I normally can't throw the flag in time so I just pres the bind when I die so they at least no where it is.
jordan10la is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-13-2008, 03:48 AM   #8
Circuitous
Useless
Retired FF Staff
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Class/Position: D Soldier, O Scout
Gametype: AvD
Posts Rated Helpful 9 Times
Send a message via AIM to Circuitous Send a message via MSN to Circuitous Send a message via Yahoo to Circuitous Send a message via Skype™ to Circuitous
If your hp is negative in your flag comm bind, they know you didn't toss it, it just dropped where you died. If it's positive, you tossed successfully.
__________________
Look at all those dead links.
Circuitous is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-13-2008, 07:59 PM   #9
Dr.Satan
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dr.Satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Class/Position: Med / Solly
Gametype: PAYLOAD
Affiliations: DET-
Posts Rated Helpful 19 Times
exactly
__________________
(Released) conc_school | hellion_classic | ksour_PAYLOAD | mulch_faf
(Beta) alchimy_b1
(Lua) base_payload_2015
(Models) props_trainyard
Support FF:
Dr.Satan is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.