Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Off Topic > Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-19-2009, 12:09 AM   #121
Paft
Beta Tester
 
Paft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK - http://forums.fortress-forever.com
Class/Position: [O] Med
Gametype: CTF/Skills
Posts Rated Helpful 67 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paft View Post
Windows 7 Build 7127 RTM
I will try this as main OS.
Paft is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-19-2009, 04:05 AM   #122
Mooga
Colorless FTW
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
Mooga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: A Small Box
Affiliations: SRCDS.com
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paft View Post
Windows 7 Build 7127 RTM
Any extra changes?
__________________
~ Mooga ...w00t?
SRCDS.com | Twitter
Mooga is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-19-2009, 01:33 PM   #123
Paft
Beta Tester
 
Paft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK - http://forums.fortress-forever.com
Class/Position: [O] Med
Gametype: CTF/Skills
Posts Rated Helpful 67 Times
Don't know exactly tbh. A comment from where I got it "I hear this build fixes the folder.jpg issue."

Also: http://news.softpedia.com/news/Windo...y-111791.shtml

...Once the disk has booted and you get that pretty blue-sky screen it hangs there for a painfully long time for this to come up, then again here. The times were so long (6min+),the disk wasn't spinning during this time - no led, it didn't feel right. Put me off, so fucked it off in the end.
Paft is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-19-2009, 01:56 PM   #124
Paft
Beta Tester
 
Paft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK - http://forums.fortress-forever.com
Class/Position: [O] Med
Gametype: CTF/Skills
Posts Rated Helpful 67 Times
My problem better described
Paft is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-19-2009, 03:57 PM   #125
Crazycarl
D&A Member
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Crazycarl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 31 Times
A My Little Pony would not feel out of place on that background.

It seems to sit there doing nothing when you boot from CD? I got that with the beta, so I just installed from within XP.
__________________
Support FF:
Crazycarl is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-19-2009, 05:24 PM   #126
Paft
Beta Tester
 
Paft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK - http://forums.fortress-forever.com
Class/Position: [O] Med
Gametype: CTF/Skills
Posts Rated Helpful 67 Times
Background - yeah, gay isn't it.

Like this guy said

Quote:
[..]
Once past that, it goes to starting Windows where you have the wallpaper with the little bird and other graphics. Well, that's all I got, that and a working mouse pointer. I went to another computer to start looking for answers on the Web. I then hear the DVD spin up and back down, but still nothing.

After a good 5 minutes, I look over and it's at the point where you select your country, keyboard layout, etc. I click next and it's back to waiting . . . Things got faster once I got past the "expanding files." Configuring settings, etc., went at about normal speed.

I have Windows loaded now and it's running fine. In case I have to install again, I went ahead and burned another copy at slow speed (4x), although I don't think it's the DVD.
It did seem to be working just...seemed like unnormal. Because it just hangs at those points no activity from disk or drive.

I burnt it off on an a new fresh DVD+RW. I will burn it off on a DVD+R just for the hell of it and see what happens. Though the disk was verified at end of burn.
Paft is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-19-2009, 05:45 PM   #127
Mooga
Colorless FTW
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
Mooga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: A Small Box
Affiliations: SRCDS.com
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Maybe you should use the legit version of the RC
__________________
~ Mooga ...w00t?
SRCDS.com | Twitter
Mooga is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-19-2009, 09:47 PM   #128
Paft
Beta Tester
 
Paft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK - http://forums.fortress-forever.com
Class/Position: [O] Med
Gametype: CTF/Skills
Posts Rated Helpful 67 Times
Burnt to different media and still takes it's time to bring up the first box. Must just be the way it is, eh?

Ran and installed from within Windows anyway and it felt right, no hanging waiting for the first bit.
Paft is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-19-2009, 09:53 PM   #129
Anshinritsumai
_o
 
Anshinritsumai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: 127.0.0.1
Class/Position: Medic & Engy
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: DM, OC, -[CfH]-
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
I think it has something to do with the fact that your running it through a VM. I never had that problem when I ran it without a VM environment.

Though, I did have it mounted to DaemonTools/PowerISO to install, and even then I didn't have any problems =/

I both see and don't see the point of running a VM; sure you don't want to screw up your comp, but VMs don't guarantee best performance or that it's going to even run the beta/rc OS.
__________________

Last edited by Anshinritsumai; 05-19-2009 at 09:58 PM.
Anshinritsumai is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-19-2009, 10:11 PM   #130
Ricey
UI Designer
Front-End Developer
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Ricey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Winter Park, FL
Class/Position: D Eng
Gametype: CTF 9v9
Affiliations: .gr , smr
Posts Rated Helpful 46 Times
For me Windows 7 tends to hang alot, for no real reasons at all, other then that, I like it.
Ricey is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-19-2009, 10:21 PM   #131
Paft
Beta Tester
 
Paft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK - http://forums.fortress-forever.com
Class/Position: [O] Med
Gametype: CTF/Skills
Posts Rated Helpful 67 Times
This is/full install I have been trying. The pics are from softpedia.com.

It is early yet, not got everything going, yeah, eveyone has pointed this out but it is nice to judge for yourself; yes indeed it does seem smoother over Vista.

32bit - 1gb. Haven't wanted to jump back to my XP Peformance Ed yet. Feels OK doesn't it. Remvoed bits I don't need. Heh, just looking back, everything is unticked except .net, print.
Paft is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-20-2009, 12:22 AM   #132
Ricey
UI Designer
Front-End Developer
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Ricey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Winter Park, FL
Class/Position: D Eng
Gametype: CTF 9v9
Affiliations: .gr , smr
Posts Rated Helpful 46 Times
I don't think I'll go back to XP, even with the random hang ups 7 has. I don't know if it's just my graphical side of my mind kicking in, but it's pleasing to look at.. that or I am so use to OS X looking sexy.
Ricey is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-20-2009, 12:56 AM   #133
Paft
Beta Tester
 
Paft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK - http://forums.fortress-forever.com
Class/Position: [O] Med
Gametype: CTF/Skills
Posts Rated Helpful 67 Times
XP does feel pretty old now doesn't it.

Even though Windows classic look is ugly it's damn simple on the eyes, no confusion.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent Buckshot Moose View Post
The one thing that annoys me about Vista and 7 is the way the windows look on a non-enhanced Aero theme. Their borders are humongously thick. I like the general curvy style of the windows but the size of the borders makes me lol. Is there any way to get decent looking windows (i.e. not classic theme) that don't have hugemongous borders?
This helps:
Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Personalization\Window Color and Appearance\advanced appearance settings

change the dropdown to Border Padding and set to 0
Paft is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-20-2009, 01:49 AM   #134
Anshinritsumai
_o
 
Anshinritsumai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: 127.0.0.1
Class/Position: Medic & Engy
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: DM, OC, -[CfH]-
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
The one and only problem I've had with Win7, is it takes a long time to shut down for me, but I'm blaming that on lack of ram.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paft View Post
This is/full install I have been trying. The pics are from softpedia.com.
My bad.
__________________
Anshinritsumai is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-20-2009, 02:24 AM   #135
Mooga
Colorless FTW
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
Mooga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: A Small Box
Affiliations: SRCDS.com
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
I want to install on my laptop, but I don't think I'll find any driver suport.
__________________
~ Mooga ...w00t?
SRCDS.com | Twitter
Mooga is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-20-2009, 03:13 AM   #136
Phatman
n00bsauce
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tucson, AZ
Class/Position: Soldier/Pyro/ThatOneJerk
Gametype: Anything that involves killing
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Send a message via AIM to Phatman Send a message via MSN to Phatman
Been having some power settings issues more or less. Most of the time it's when I clost the "lid" when it's plugged in. Monitor goes off, but it doesn't go to sleep or or hibernate. I open it back up and still no video. Then I'm forced to essentially force the computer off.
Phatman is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-20-2009, 03:46 PM   #137
Paft
Beta Tester
 
Paft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK - http://forums.fortress-forever.com
Class/Position: [O] Med
Gametype: CTF/Skills
Posts Rated Helpful 67 Times
Bah, I left the computer encoding video last night unaware it would go into sleep mode after x amount of time.
Paft is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-21-2009, 01:39 AM   #138
Paft
Beta Tester
 
Paft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK - http://forums.fortress-forever.com
Class/Position: [O] Med
Gametype: CTF/Skills
Posts Rated Helpful 67 Times
After having 7 for a day and a half I feel it performs just as well with the only 2 games I play, FF/TFC. And just as well (or better?) in general use. I would have to reinstall XP to be sure, because I really don't know.

Any solid proof or fact vs fiction on how is vers XP SP3.

They have their arses in gear now, focusing a bit? on performance. But it makes me wonder, did they have thier arsed in gear back in the day for XP? Or is XP kind of sloppy like Vista?

I see suff like this, but It isn't enough.
Paft is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-21-2009, 02:08 AM   #139
Paft
Beta Tester
 
Paft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK - http://forums.fortress-forever.com
Class/Position: [O] Med
Gametype: CTF/Skills
Posts Rated Helpful 67 Times
..stfu Paft. Wait 'till it's out first before proper comparing.
Paft is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-21-2009, 02:32 AM   #140
Crazycarl
D&A Member
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Crazycarl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 31 Times
Actually, the FF dev build crashes in Win 7(beta still) pretty regularly for me. Other than that and the issue of some incompatible software, I have no problems.
__________________
Support FF:
Crazycarl is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.