Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Community > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2011, 07:05 PM   #41
Hammock
D&A Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 13 Times
Yes
Hammock is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-20-2011, 03:16 AM   #42
Gwarsbane
Slayer of humans
D&A Member
 
Gwarsbane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mostly on earth though in some alt dimensions
Class/Position: I'm an Offensive Defensive person
Gametype: Fortress Forever
Affiliations: I'm a merc, only thing that talks is money
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
Yes that was true. You could enter any of your spawns and get a bag in there, but you would not spawn there if you did not have that cap point.


I knew there was something off but I just could not put my finger on it.
Gwarsbane is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-22-2011, 02:46 AM   #43
SadPanda
Endangered
Beta Tester
 
SadPanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Class/Position: Depends on the mood
Gametype: ALL OF THE ABOVE
Affiliations: [S&N] [U3]
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Map kicks ass. Nuff said.
SadPanda is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-22-2011, 03:23 AM   #44
Gwarsbane
Slayer of humans
D&A Member
 
Gwarsbane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mostly on earth though in some alt dimensions
Class/Position: I'm an Offensive Defensive person
Gametype: Fortress Forever
Affiliations: I'm a merc, only thing that talks is money
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
There is some problems like today game, if you have a good conc jumper along with 1 or 2 other scouts and a couple of medics on one team that team rules heavily.

I don't want to get into a debate about that, I'm just saying thats what happens with this map currently.

Once the access to the top edge on the rocks is removed and a few other of the changes that were suggest are done maybe that will change, but since its in beta, is there a possibility that we could see what its like to have a limit of 1 scout and 1 medic for each team? Yes I know certain people are going to moan about me bringing this up, but its just for 1 beta, maybe a second lua could be provided that does not have that limit so that the 2 can be switched out on servers. Then server admins can decide on their own which one to run.
Gwarsbane is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-22-2011, 04:13 AM   #45
GenghisTron
AKA LittleAndroidMan
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
GenghisTron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Dystopia
Class/Position: Demo/Medic
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: [TALOS] [SR]
Posts Rated Helpful 11 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gwarsbane View Post
There is some problems like today game, if you have a good conc jumper along with 1 or 2 other scouts and a couple of medics on one team that team rules heavily.
That's how Warpath has always been. Make some SG's in good spots.
__________________
GenghisTron is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-22-2011, 11:05 AM   #46
Iggy
Heartless Threadkiller
Beta Tester
Forum Moderator
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Class/Position: D-Solly / O-Medic
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: [AE] AssEaters
Posts Rated Helpful 42 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gwarsbane View Post
There is some problems like today game, if you have a good conc jumper along with 1 or 2 other scouts and a couple of medics on one team that team rules heavily.

I don't want to get into a debate about that, I'm just saying thats what happens with this map currently.

Once the access to the top edge on the rocks is removed and a few other of the changes that were suggest are done maybe that will change, but since its in beta, is there a possibility that we could see what its like to have a limit of 1 scout and 1 medic for each team? Yes I know certain people are going to moan about me bringing this up, but its just for 1 beta, maybe a second lua could be provided that does not have that limit so that the 2 can be switched out on servers. Then server admins can decide on their own which one to run.
These are valid points. I understand the "put SGs in good places" suggestion, but the truth is SGs can be pwn3d from a distance, if you even have the time to get them set up in the first place.

I know we are trying to keep the game "the same" between all servers, but trying different LUAs to keep maps fun is a good idea.

Is there a way that the difference in LUAs can be displayed during the load-up screen(such as, have a different one for each LUA)?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by zSilver_Fox
See kids? Only Iggy and FT are good enough to post when high.
Publishers Website My book on BN.com My book on Amazon.com

Friend me on Facebook
Follow me on Twitter
Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-22-2011, 01:34 PM   #47
Elmo
Gets tickled by FF
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Elmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK
Class/Position: Med Solly HW
Gametype: Any/CTF
Posts Rated Helpful 41 Times
Any ideas as to where I might put in some Sg platforms. Would that be at all desirable? I'd appreciate any thoughts on that (yay/nay)

I'll have to find time to make these other changes. I gotta wait for my new graphics card to come. If anyone fancies doing some of the lua chabges for me?? :-p My 8800 died again (revived it in the oven last time but I can't be bothered to do it again). Can't wait for shiney new my new 560 GTX!
__________________
Support FF:
Done: ff_monkey
Done: ff_bases
Done: ff_warpath
Forever Doing: ff_medieval (beta#99999999)
Elmo is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-22-2011, 02:40 PM   #48
Hammock
D&A Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 13 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gwarsbane View Post
There is some problems like today game, if you have a good conc jumper along with 1 or 2 other scouts and a couple of medics on one team that team rules heavily.
Lol, that's how every game is! The only difference is in warpath everyone needs to play offense and defense at the same time, unlike your typical noobish pub style play of ctf that degenerates into 9 Defense and 2 Offense.

CTF, AvD, ID, ADZ, pretty much the way pubbers play all those maps is the same, regardless on whether they're designed for it. That's why warpath is soo awesome, you need everyone on your team playing Offense and Defense at the same time, the dispersion of skill is a result of poor judgement of the players themseleves, not because of the map design. The map design just shows how flawed the popular ctf pub style is, since the current mentality is to stack as many good offensive players together on one team cause they know the other is just going to be a hoard of defenders and it takes that to bust through.

And pickup players are given such a hard time... yeesh, they strive to be as balanced as possible before the game starts because they understand the inbalance of skill ruins the game for atleast half the people, if not everyone cause the other team is just as bored.

Pubbers tend not to be that coherent, even admins don't step up to make attempts to balance the game.

Oh and the teams can be inbalanced in numbers (ie: 6v3) and still be balanced in skill, it's all about encouraging people to have a little thought about how the game is going, and not be soo greedy just to be on a winning team.
Hammock is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-22-2011, 06:59 PM   #49
SadPanda
Endangered
Beta Tester
 
SadPanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Class/Position: Depends on the mood
Gametype: ALL OF THE ABOVE
Affiliations: [S&N] [U3]
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
I like the fact that if an engineer puts an SG on top of one of the capture points (i.e. cap 2) the opposing players have the ability to down the SG from above. However in some cases the SG cannot hit the player, but that's pretty much the same for every map...

I think the way the map stands now is fine. I haven't ran into any minor bugs or anything (not saying there aren't any) but it truly comes down to player skill. Like Hammock said, that's how every game is.

Nice work Elmo
SadPanda is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-22-2011, 07:25 PM   #50
Elmo
Gets tickled by FF
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Elmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK
Class/Position: Med Solly HW
Gametype: Any/CTF
Posts Rated Helpful 41 Times
cheers! Where exactly do you mean?

With the changes that squeek made, as detailed in his last dev blog, we will (from 2.42) be able to make the SG shoot through any brushes we choose. So if you feel the SG should shoot through wherever you were talking about then let me know where that is so we can discuss it
__________________
Support FF:
Done: ff_monkey
Done: ff_bases
Done: ff_warpath
Forever Doing: ff_medieval (beta#99999999)
Elmo is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-23-2011, 02:22 AM   #51
SadPanda
Endangered
Beta Tester
 
SadPanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Class/Position: Depends on the mood
Gametype: ALL OF THE ABOVE
Affiliations: [S&N] [U3]
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
The wooden canopy's over points 1,2,4 and 5. There are small openings on top and around the sides. If you conc up onto the top of the canopy you can fire down on the SG and if you're at the proper angle the SG will not hit you. It's easy to get on top of these canopy's as well because of the fact you can practically walk across the entire map on the maps "walls", I guess you can call them? At any rate it's really not a huge deal but might make the engineer have more of a chance on the map.
SadPanda is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-23-2011, 08:35 AM   #52
Elmo
Gets tickled by FF
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Elmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK
Class/Position: Med Solly HW
Gametype: Any/CTF
Posts Rated Helpful 41 Times
Okay so first priority is to close off the edges n then see I think. Cheers
__________________
Support FF:
Done: ff_monkey
Done: ff_bases
Done: ff_warpath
Forever Doing: ff_medieval (beta#99999999)
Elmo is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-23-2011, 02:37 PM   #53
toaster^
 
toaster^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
yeah player clip would be nice, but then this means that I wont be able to go up top and shoot the SG

unless there was an intentional bug with the player clip in the map, which no one will know about, and where u could secretly get up top.
__________________
toaster^ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-23-2011, 08:36 PM   #54
Elmo
Gets tickled by FF
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Elmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK
Class/Position: Med Solly HW
Gametype: Any/CTF
Posts Rated Helpful 41 Times
noo I'd only be stopping people running on the cliff edges. I don't mean clipping the top of the buildings!
__________________
Support FF:
Done: ff_monkey
Done: ff_bases
Done: ff_warpath
Forever Doing: ff_medieval (beta#99999999)
Elmo is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-18-2011, 08:28 PM   #55
Elmo
Gets tickled by FF
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Elmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK
Class/Position: Med Solly HW
Gametype: Any/CTF
Posts Rated Helpful 41 Times
Just to let you know I'm doing my disseration due in 2 weeks tomorrow. After then I'm a bum with no job so I'll actually finish it off. I got most of the clip brushes done.

I could really use a volunteer to help with/do the LUA side. Right now it's beyond me. It needs to be done in time for release testing so that we can actually get testing done on it... no one wants an LUA which might break a map entirely.

Also if I am to introduce a side tunnel as discussed then that might take me a little time to do too.. all depending on when squeek manages to get the patches ready for testing.

When anyway when I get down to mapping after my hand-in I'll try n set up streaming from my PC for the justin.tv channel.
__________________
Support FF:
Done: ff_monkey
Done: ff_bases
Done: ff_warpath
Forever Doing: ff_medieval (beta#99999999)

Last edited by Elmo; 04-18-2011 at 08:29 PM.
Elmo is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-23-2011, 10:34 AM   #56
Elmo
Gets tickled by FF
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Elmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK
Class/Position: Med Solly HW
Gametype: Any/CTF
Posts Rated Helpful 41 Times
ohhh fudgecakes.. I've done most of the work for the new tunnel and its just occurred to me that I already hit the displacement limit or I was a only few brushes off it. I'm not convinced I can turn enough displacements into models for the the tunnel to be implemented...

I'll try but I'm not convinced :/ Any ideas?

*EDIT*

scrap that I've got ~300 faces in displacements that I can turn into props and at the moment I only need ~180...

Carl - are you pretty fast with propper these days? lol fancy lending a hand
__________________
Support FF:
Done: ff_monkey
Done: ff_bases
Done: ff_warpath
Forever Doing: ff_medieval (beta#99999999)

Last edited by Elmo; 05-23-2011 at 10:42 AM.
Elmo is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-23-2011, 02:32 PM   #57
Elmo
Gets tickled by FF
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Elmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK
Class/Position: Med Solly HW
Gametype: Any/CTF
Posts Rated Helpful 41 Times
All sorted. I must be 2 or 4 faces off the displacement limit
__________________
Support FF:
Done: ff_monkey
Done: ff_bases
Done: ff_warpath
Forever Doing: ff_medieval (beta#99999999)

Last edited by Elmo; 05-23-2011 at 02:32 PM.
Elmo is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-23-2011, 04:06 PM   #58
Elmo
Gets tickled by FF
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Elmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK
Class/Position: Med Solly HW
Gametype: Any/CTF
Posts Rated Helpful 41 Times



HAMMOCK?! WHAT D'YA THINK?!

As you suggested its hard to reach for the attackers being up high. Offence can get up there by running up the wall, engi finds it hard, a waste of a rocket/pipe (health) for solly/demo but hws cannot get up there at all.

The tunnel itself is pretty damn narrow so it shouldn't be hard to defend should anyone come down...

All other changes as suggested in this thread are done except for on screen notifications for "you must capture point XYZ first!" when in an uncappable trigger.

I need to commit it to beta and get testing on it now - but I dont think it'll be a problem.
__________________
Support FF:
Done: ff_monkey
Done: ff_bases
Done: ff_warpath
Forever Doing: ff_medieval (beta#99999999)

Last edited by Elmo; 05-23-2011 at 04:12 PM.
Elmo is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-23-2011, 05:25 PM   #59
reaper18
sKeeD
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
reaper18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Class/Position: Scout, Demo, Solly
Gametype: Any
Posts Rated Helpful 21 Times
Send a message via AIM to reaper18
amazing job elmo, looks even better than before!
reaper18 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-23-2011, 05:36 PM   #60
Elmo
Gets tickled by FF
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Elmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK
Class/Position: Med Solly HW
Gametype: Any/CTF
Posts Rated Helpful 41 Times
I'm just sorry it took so long. I've enjoyed doing this new stuff but the clip brushes were just so damn boring!
__________________
Support FF:
Done: ff_monkey
Done: ff_bases
Done: ff_warpath
Forever Doing: ff_medieval (beta#99999999)
Elmo is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.