Nade Whore
Server Owner
Beta Tester

Class/Position: Scout/Soldier
Gametype: CTF/TDM
Affiliations: blunt. Moto
Posts Rated Helpful 128 Times
Going to try Linux for the first time, needing some advice

So I've never used Linux before, and by never, I mean my knowledge of Windows based OS's supercedes my knowledge of Linux based OS's quite a bit.

I've started to hear over the past few years that Linux is actually quite robust, in that it can do quite a lot of things, very fast, and I'd like to familiarize myself with the OS and eventually get to know FreeBSD and even Apple's OS.

But for now, I really just want to play around with it, I know there are tons of distros, I want to find something that's easy to install, something that I can dual boot with, as Windows will still be my main OS, and something that works for what I do on a day to day basis, which is pretty much look at youtube videos and browse these forums. I have no interest in installing Wine to play video games, as I could just play em through windows and probably have less of a headache doing so.

So, what are the best distros, or your favorite ones, as well as what are some of the features with each one that really stand out compared to a Windows OS? I've heard Ubuntu is the most popular, I've seen a few videos with some of the cool effects, but other than speed, what would be some of the key features of using Linux over Windows?
Moto's Funhouse | Dallas, TX - 74.91.114.247:27015

ff_plunder - Complete
KubeDawg is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-11-2008, 06:28 PM   #2
Ramones

Gametype: AvD
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
maybe you want to try out some live cds.

http://software.opensuse.org/
http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/download
http://www.mandriva.com/en/download
http://debian-live.alioth.debian.org/

I'm using Ubuntu. It is easy to install and use. Never installed another distro, though.
Ramones is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-11-2008, 06:39 PM   #3
Shadow00Caster
Retired FF Staff