Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Community > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-28-2006, 02:52 PM   #1
o_imbrifer
 
o_imbrifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Changes every few months
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Bots & Spies

Quick bot question:

How will bots detect spies? Will they occaisonally shoot at fellow players to see if they are bots? If they look at someone who is disguised for a while, will they 'see their name' and guess its not really that player and attack the spy? Will they be completely oblivious to spies?

If I make a map where the players are spies sneaking into a bot-controlled base, will it work?
o_imbrifer is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 06-28-2006, 03:25 PM   #2
o_rannibunny
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
I didn't know they were even going to implement bots...
o_rannibunny is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 06-28-2006, 03:37 PM   #3
Lost
Fear teh crowbar.
Retired FF Staff
 
Lost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Oklahoma
Gametype: CTF ftw, yeh
Posts Rated Helpful 6 Times
Send a message via Yahoo to Lost
The latest Foxbot was pretty good at spy recognition, but it wouldn't instantly shoot you if you were disguised. I'd get mowed every once in a while when I feigned as well.
__________________
Do what you want cuz a pirate is free!

You are a pirate!
Lost is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 06-28-2006, 03:40 PM   #4
o_ghost
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
From the community FAQ:

Is the FF Team going to have Control Over Bots?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Defrag
We keep telling people that we can either have some semblance of control of bot development (and do it inhouse thanks to DrEvil) or someone will make 3rd party bots regardless, over which we have no control (so they could be terrible but popular). The added bonus of doing it inhouse is we can use bots for other stuff like training maps.

As for the bot status, DrEvil has fully functioning HL2 bots, but we haven't really done a huge amount of work on integrating them with FF just yet (not hard to plug them in). That's coming up very soon. We have a lot of good ideas for making bots contribute to the mod.
o_ghost is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 06-28-2006, 03:55 PM   #5
o_imbrifer
 
o_imbrifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Changes every few months
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Err, I think that FAQ entry is super-old. I think the bots are more in tune with FF now? Guess a FF team member will have to clear things up...
o_imbrifer is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 06-28-2006, 04:27 PM   #6
o_ghost
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
That was more directed at rannibunny. Sorry for the confusion.
o_ghost is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 06-29-2006, 08:42 AM   #7
o_fjorn
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Its been my experience with foxbots and spies, that they have a sort of checklist they go through

something along these lines:
Has the Spy fired its weapons after spawning?
Has the Spy thrown a nade after spawning?
Has the Spy been seen undisguised by a bot after spawning?
Has the Spy "touched" a bot after spawning?
Has the Spy been damaged by a bot after spawning?

if the answer to any of those is yes, the bot shoots at the spy. Kinda like a team with good comms, except better.
o_fjorn is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 06-29-2006, 04:34 PM   #8
Circuitous
Useless
Retired FF Staff
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Class/Position: D Soldier, O Scout
Gametype: AvD
Posts Rated Helpful 9 Times
Send a message via AIM to Circuitous Send a message via MSN to Circuitous Send a message via Yahoo to Circuitous Send a message via Skype™ to Circuitous
Quote:
Originally Posted by rannibunny
I didn't know they were even going to implement bots...
Mostly for the tutorial mode, as I understand it, although they could be used for servers.
__________________
Look at all those dead links.
Circuitous is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 06-30-2006, 01:13 AM   #9
o_rifle
 
o_rifle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: could you give me directions
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Bots are a must please do not release until you have bots.
o_rifle is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 06-30-2006, 03:15 PM   #10
o_paft
 
o_paft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo Don't mention the word bots and FF together. It's like saying Bots and TFC Ahhhhhhhhh!
o_paft is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 06-30-2006, 03:52 PM   #11
o_dammage
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
bots should be banned from pubs IMO. They just pollute the server list.
o_dammage is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.