Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Off Topic > Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-25-2010, 04:22 AM   #1
Everything
HOLY HELL, MEDIC QUICKLY
Wiki Team
Beta Tester
 
Everything's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Naples, FL
Class/Position: Spy / Medic - Defense
Gametype: CTF; but not actually going for the objective
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
Send a message via AIM to Everything
Processor questions

I'm just making sure I'm doing everything right, but here's what I got going on:

I need a processor upgrade, done, so I look for an Intel Core i7-920 blah blah, one of those strong ones. Cool. But I realized one thing - Socket Type required for i3, i5 and i7 processors is LGA 1366, my motherboard or cpu, I do believe..? has LGA 775, which isn't going to cut it. I was told.

Budget doesn't matter, I'm going to get graduation money in a week, but to you computer geeks, would this work out for me?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboD...t=Combo.381165

A motherboard supporting LGA 1366 sockets, and the CPU of course?
__________________
Steam Profile

Last edited by Everything; 05-25-2010 at 04:22 AM.
Everything is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-25-2010, 07:58 AM   #2
reaper18
sKeeD
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
reaper18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Class/Position: Scout, Demo, Solly
Gametype: Any
Posts Rated Helpful 21 Times
Send a message via AIM to reaper18
i found a 3.2 ghz quad core plus i think it was an asus motherboard for 314 dollars: best deal i found on a decent computer. If i can find the link ill post it here.

Although that mobo is pretty sick

Last edited by reaper18; 05-25-2010 at 08:03 AM.
reaper18 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-25-2010, 08:53 AM   #3
Dexter
internet user
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dexter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 42 Times
I bought an i7 920 in march. I got these as well:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-049-_-Product

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-028-_-Product

total 600 bux through a local retailer with some sweet deals, not sure newegg total :effort:. runs rrrreal well so far


edit: that mobo is real fine, but be aware you'll want some new RAM, DDR3 1333 would probably be your best bam/bux for that mobo.

Last edited by Dexter; 05-25-2010 at 08:56 AM.
Dexter is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-25-2010, 08:05 PM   #4
Everything
HOLY HELL, MEDIC QUICKLY
Wiki Team
Beta Tester
 
Everything's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Naples, FL
Class/Position: Spy / Medic - Defense
Gametype: CTF; but not actually going for the objective
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
Send a message via AIM to Everything
Why would I need more ram? For passing requirement options or just for safe keeping, I already have 4gb of ram.
__________________
Steam Profile
Everything is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-25-2010, 08:10 PM   #5
Dexter
internet user
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dexter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 42 Times
You ideally want to run the i7 with triple channel memory. Dual channel is perfectly fine and very well performing currently but it's more of an investment thing. If you overclock or get a faster processor you'll probably hit dual channel limits first.

this sums it up for me: http://www.tweaktown.com/articles/16...it/index7.html

Note the date tho. tl;dr if you have the bucks get some new fast triple channel. Dual channel will work but will probably be your first bottleneck as I understand it.
Dexter is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-25-2010, 08:13 PM   #6
Everything
HOLY HELL, MEDIC QUICKLY
Wiki Team
Beta Tester
 
Everything's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Naples, FL
Class/Position: Spy / Medic - Defense
Gametype: CTF; but not actually going for the objective
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
Send a message via AIM to Everything
Oh, it's one of those go for it if you have the budget things.

Hm..
__________________
Steam Profile
Everything is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-25-2010, 08:33 PM   #7
Dexter
internet user
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dexter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 42 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny View Post
Oh, it's one of those go for it if you have the budget things.

Hm..
Ya. If not it would be your first upgrade later on. Do you want SLI? I think there are SLI/Crossfire x58 mobos that are a bit cheaper.
Dexter is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-25-2010, 08:41 PM   #8
Everything
HOLY HELL, MEDIC QUICKLY
Wiki Team
Beta Tester
 
Everything's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Naples, FL
Class/Position: Spy / Medic - Defense
Gametype: CTF; but not actually going for the objective
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
Send a message via AIM to Everything
You can call me a beginner, but here goes.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131641

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231306

seems.. okay.

The first one says
Quote:
3-Way SLI & Quad-GPU support - Flexible Multi-GPU solutions, Your Weapon of Choice!
Does that mean SLI or are you talking about something different?
__________________
Steam Profile

Last edited by Everything; 05-25-2010 at 08:41 PM.
Everything is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-25-2010, 08:45 PM   #9
Dexter
internet user
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dexter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 42 Times
ya that's what Im talking about. Using more then one video card in your computer. But nevermind, at least two seems de facto standard now :P $200 seems to be the sweet spot
Dexter is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-26-2010, 12:20 AM   #10
Mooga
Colorless FTW
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
Mooga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: A Small Box
Affiliations: SRCDS.com
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
"Gamer Ram" tends to say things like "SLI RAM!"
Honestly I don't think it's anything more then drawing gamers in.

Also, 4GB of ram handles most things an average gamer/user will need to do under windows 7. My rame usage tends to sit a bit high at just under 50% just doing the basics, but even when I'm gaming I never see ram become an issues. The only reason you would need more then 4GB is if you plan on doing VM stuff. Then I would get 8GB+ without even thinking about it.

With 4GB of ram I've video chated on skype while playing TF2 with firefox open.
__________________
~ Mooga ...w00t?
SRCDS.com | Twitter
Mooga is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-26-2010, 05:48 AM   #11
Dexter
internet user
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dexter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 42 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mooga View Post
"Gamer Ram" tends to say things like "SLI RAM!"
Honestly I don't think it's anything more then drawing gamers in.

Also, 4GB of ram handles most things an average gamer/user will need to do under windows 7. My rame usage tends to sit a bit high at just under 50% just doing the basics, but even when I'm gaming I never see ram become an issues. The only reason you would need more then 4GB is if you plan on doing VM stuff. Then I would get 8GB+ without even thinking about it.

With 4GB of ram I've video chated on skype while playing TF2 with firefox open.
the concern is more about the triple channel and higher speed then total amount really
Dexter is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-26-2010, 02:56 PM   #12
Lost
Fear teh crowbar.
Retired FF Staff
 
Lost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Oklahoma
Gametype: CTF ftw, yeh
Posts Rated Helpful 6 Times
Send a message via Yahoo to Lost
I found an article on Tom's hardware that the triple-vs-dual channel was more Intel vs AMD than any actual performance difference. Yah, triple lets you use three sticks of RAM in tandem, dual only allows two, so I can see how that would add up. But say you have 6 1GB sticks, then you've got the same amount of ram that is accessible by both dual and triple channel whatchamacallits.

I went dual since I got a Phenom but the new AMD processors are cheap as hell. If you want to save money on that, they're supposed to be comparable to the same model of i7 for gaming.

That's just what I've found here and there, doesn't make it the law.
__________________
Do what you want cuz a pirate is free!

You are a pirate!
Lost is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.