Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Help & Technical > Server/Player Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-31-2009, 05:12 PM   #1
~kev~
pmagnvs
D&A Member
 
~kev~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: East Texas
Class/Position: Engineer - D
Gametype: Free for all CTF - no stupid clan rules
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
FF server on this machine?

I'am getting a new dedicated server. The order was placed last night and it should be ready either tonight or tomorrow. This is not some kind of game server, its a dedicated server running CentOS Linux.

Server stats:
Intel E8300
4 GB RAM
250GB HD
cPanel

I'am going to be running about 6 websites - which includes a mix of VBulletin forums and wordpress blogs. With the websites up and running, I should have about 2 - 2.5 gigs free memory.

I would like to host a single FF server with about 12 - 16 slots.

What do yall think about it?
__________________
team fortress forum | survival gear
~kev~ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-01-2009, 04:19 AM   #2
[AE] 82694
Retired FF Staff
 
[AE] 82694's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
2.5 gigs of memory I wouldn't be concerned with. CPU usage and bandwidth would be my main concerns, mainly the band width. But the best way to tell is to try it. There is a couple tricks for boosting the max fps the server puts out also you can find in the source mod forums or the srcds site if I remember.
__________________
I Love GenghisTron . I miss you sooooo Much. LOL.
[AE] 82694 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-01-2009, 10:06 AM   #3
AlienTItWrench
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Yeah should be good, are you hosting in US? Because always bad ping for us Euro players.

Hopefully you should have some good map rotations on, not boring crappy 2fort!!
AlienTItWrench is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-02-2009, 09:03 PM   #4
~kev~
pmagnvs
D&A Member
 
~kev~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: East Texas
Class/Position: Engineer - D
Gametype: Free for all CTF - no stupid clan rules
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienTItWrench View Post
Yeah should be good, are you hosting in US? Because always bad ping for us Euro players.

Hopefully you should have some good map rotations on, not boring crappy 2fort!!

The server is in Dallas Texas, USA.

Starting today, the first websites are being moved to the new server. Hopefully friday I can get the rest of the sites moved, and then start on a FF server this coming weekend.

I am looking at a rotation of 6 - 24 maps. But no more then 32.
__________________
team fortress forum | survival gear
~kev~ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-11-2009, 03:45 AM   #5
Mooga
Colorless FTW
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
Mooga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: A Small Box
Affiliations: SRCDS.com
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Is it a really dedicated server or a virtual server?
Virtual servers tent to have issues with SRCDS.

However, you should be able to run a server. With 2.83GHz a core, you should easily be abel to run a single server. I'm not sure how much CPU the web sites generate though.
__________________
~ Mooga ...w00t?
SRCDS.com | Twitter
Mooga is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.