Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Editing > Modding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-28-2010, 02:29 PM   #1
be_
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 5 Times
kill sound q.

Anyone know if it's possible to cycle through different death sounds at random in-game? I kinda don't think so since you can only choose one in the fortress options, but was wondering if it was possible. This way, there could be a few different sounds put in there for fun.

Last edited by be_; 03-28-2010 at 02:29 PM.
be_ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-28-2010, 08:09 PM   #2
squeek.
Stuff Do-er
Lua Team
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
squeek.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northern California
Class/Position: Rallygun Shooter
Gametype: Conc tag (you just wait)
Affiliations: Mustache Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 352 Times
Send a message via AIM to squeek.
You could write a script to simulate this.

Something like:
Code:
alias attackbeep1 "+attack; wait; cl_killbeepsound deathbeep1; bind MOUSE1 attackbeep2"
alias attackbeep2 "+attack; wait; cl_killbeepsound deathbeep2; bind MOUSE1 attackbeep3"
...
alias attackbeep8 "+attack; wait; cl_killbeepsound deathbeep8; bind MOUSE1 attackbeep1"
bind MOUSE1 attackbeep1
I have not tested that, and am very inexperienced at writing scripts, but that'd be the general idea.
__________________
#FF.Pickup ¤ Fortress-Forever pickups

My Non-official Maps
Released FF_DM_Squeek - FF_2Mesa3_Classic - FF_Siege_Classic
Beta FF_Myth - FF_Redlight_Greenlight

Sick of the people on the internet, always moanin'. They just moan.
- Karl Pilkington

Last edited by squeek.; 03-28-2010 at 08:10 PM.
squeek. is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-28-2010, 11:19 PM   #3
be_
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 5 Times
I tried this but no such luck. Thank you though; that does make it seem possible.
be_ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-30-2010, 08:00 PM   #4
Ragdoll
Blacknight's Test Guy
D&A Member
 
Ragdoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Class/Position: Scoot
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Affiliations: [Brik], F-in-S, [HelpStar]
Posts Rated Helpful 4 Times
I've tested that script in-game, and, you are correct, it does not work. I've tried a few other things as well.
It doesn't seem that the command itself is what's breaking the script. I entered the command on its own and it registered fine. I then tried a continuous loop of aliases running to switch out the killbeep every 40 seconds or so, but that resulted in a crash. What I'd suggest would be binding 'cl_killbeepsound x' to your movement keys in addition to the appropriate movement direction. This is what I've got running, using 4 custom killbeeps bound to spacebar, a, s, and d, since w would reset it all too often.
Ragdoll is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-30-2010, 10:51 PM   #5
Hawk Eye
Who the fuck is this guy?
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
Hawk Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Class/Position: O Preferred
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: [AE] Asseaters
Posts Rated Helpful 2 Times
You can't make infinite loops, they'll always crash.

Changing the fire key doesn't work for you guys? It seems like what Squeek posted should work fine.
Hawk Eye is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-30-2010, 11:25 PM   #6
Ragdoll
Blacknight's Test Guy
D&A Member
 
Ragdoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Class/Position: Scoot
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Affiliations: [Brik], F-in-S, [HelpStar]
Posts Rated Helpful 4 Times
The problem is that the syntax for the cl_killbeepsound command bugs out if there's a semicolon at the end of 'deathsound x', which is required for that script.
Ragdoll is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-30-2010, 11:55 PM   #7
squeek.
Stuff Do-er
Lua Team
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
squeek.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northern California
Class/Position: Rallygun Shooter
Gametype: Conc tag (you just wait)
Affiliations: Mustache Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 352 Times
Send a message via AIM to squeek.
Maybe alias the deathbeep changes too?

Code:
alias deathbeep1 "cl_killbeepsound deathbeep1"
alias deathbeep2 "cl_killbeepsound deathbeep2"
...
alias deathbeep8 "cl_killbeepsound deathbeep8"
And then use:
Code:
alias attackbeep1 "+attack; wait; deathbeep1; bind MOUSE1 attackbeep2"
alias attackbeep2 "+attack; wait; deathbeep2; bind MOUSE1 attackbeep3"
...
alias attackbeep8 "+attack; wait; deathbeep8; bind MOUSE1 attackbeep1"
bind MOUSE1 attackbeep1
__________________
#FF.Pickup ¤ Fortress-Forever pickups

My Non-official Maps
Released FF_DM_Squeek - FF_2Mesa3_Classic - FF_Siege_Classic
Beta FF_Myth - FF_Redlight_Greenlight

Sick of the people on the internet, always moanin'. They just moan.
- Karl Pilkington
squeek. is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-31-2010, 12:01 AM   #8
Ragdoll
Blacknight's Test Guy
D&A Member
 
Ragdoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Class/Position: Scoot
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Affiliations: [Brik], F-in-S, [HelpStar]
Posts Rated Helpful 4 Times
Nope. Doesn't like apostrophes either. And also, it needs to be +attackbeep1, etc., otherwise, it's stuck in an attack.
Ragdoll is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-31-2010, 12:30 AM   #9
Hawk Eye
Who the fuck is this guy?
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
Hawk Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Class/Position: O Preferred
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: [AE] Asseaters
Posts Rated Helpful 2 Times
This seemed to work to me. I'd have to check it again on a quiet server with no background noise, but I didn't hear my usual doot.

I missed my doot.

Code:
// Killbeep randomizer
// This script changes the killbeep noise every time you fire
// Giving a nice psuedo-random effect to the deathbeep noise

// To use:  Place file in cfg folder, add exec random_db to your autoexec
// or just manually call it each time you play!

// Note:  If Copy + Pasting, you should name it random_db.cfg :P

// Aliases to change death beep
alias db1 "cl_killbeepsound deathbeep1"
alias db2 "cl_killbeepsound deathbeep2"
alias db3 "cl_killbeepsound deathbeep3"
alias db4 "cl_killbeepsound deathbeep4"
alias db5 "cl_killbeepsound deathbeep5"
alias db6 "cl_killbeepsound deathbeep6"
alias db7 "cl_killbeepsound deathbeep7"
alias db8 "cl_killbeepsound deathbeep8"


// Aliases for Attack
alias +ab1 "+attack; wait; db1"
alias -ab1 "-attack; wait; bind mouse1 +ab2"

alias +ab2 "+attack; wait; db2"
alias -ab2 "-attack; wait; bind mouse1 +ab3"

alias +ab3 "+attack; wait; db3"
alias -ab3 "-attack; wait; bind mouse1 +ab4"

alias +ab4 "+attack; wait; db4"
alias -ab4 "-attack; wait; bind mouse1 +ab5"

alias +ab5 "+attack; wait; db5"
alias -ab5 "-attack; wait; bind mouse1 +ab6"

alias +ab6 "+attack; wait; db6"
alias -ab6 "-attack; wait; bind mouse1 +ab7"

alias +ab7 "+attack; wait; db7"
alias -ab7 "-attack; wait; bind mouse1 +ab8"

alias +ab8 "+attack; wait; db8"
alias -ab8 "-attack; wait; bind mouse1 +ab1"

// Bind to Mouse1
bind mouse1 +ab1
edit: Why do we keep calling it deathbeep when the cvar is killbeep? D:

Last edited by Hawk Eye; 03-31-2010 at 12:31 AM.
Hawk Eye is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-31-2010, 12:50 AM   #10
Ragdoll
Blacknight's Test Guy
D&A Member
 
Ragdoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Class/Position: Scoot
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Affiliations: [Brik], F-in-S, [HelpStar]
Posts Rated Helpful 4 Times
You smart, smart man.
Ragdoll is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-31-2010, 12:54 AM   #11
squeek.
Stuff Do-er
Lua Team
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
squeek.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northern California
Class/Position: Rallygun Shooter
Gametype: Conc tag (you just wait)
Affiliations: Mustache Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 352 Times
Send a message via AIM to squeek.
Nice job Hawk.
__________________
#FF.Pickup ¤ Fortress-Forever pickups

My Non-official Maps
Released FF_DM_Squeek - FF_2Mesa3_Classic - FF_Siege_Classic
Beta FF_Myth - FF_Redlight_Greenlight

Sick of the people on the internet, always moanin'. They just moan.
- Karl Pilkington
squeek. is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-31-2010, 04:21 AM   #12
Hawk Eye
Who the fuck is this guy?
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
Hawk Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Class/Position: O Preferred
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: [AE] Asseaters
Posts Rated Helpful 2 Times
Glad I could help.
Hawk Eye is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-31-2010, 07:23 PM   #13
be_
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 5 Times
Ya! It works perfectly guys. Thank you very much
be_ is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.