Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Editing > Mapping > Maps

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2006, 08:09 PM   #181
o_tercel
 
o_tercel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caesium
Finally, just thought I'd let you know what we're working on atm. Aside from optomising all the brushes, and playing with front of base textures, we're currently making a speedometer that gives a speed readout to offy as they come skimming in across the water! We've got it working nicely, and just need to try to make it look cool now.
lol that sounds awesome. you should make it like one of those police speed things thats like "Your speed 'X' then under it say something like "Conc safely!"

update soon :P
o_tercel is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-04-2006, 09:00 PM   #182
o_ohcanep
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Finland
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Usually it flashes and says "Overspeed", damn liar. Not you, the machine.
o_ohcanep is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-10-2006, 11:19 AM   #183
o_caesium
 
o_caesium's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nezumi
...Were you planning on putting some sort of rock2 style trigger_hurt across the door or anything? (and maybe a non-solid brush with the effects/com_shield003a texture on it? If you perhaps do decide to use this texture I've got a red version of it you can use...)
I would like to try the texture please, Nezumi. Is it uploaded somewhere? Thanks in advance.

There hasn't been too much work on the map recently as we've got important exams coming up in a few weeks, and there isn't that much I want to change on the map anyway tbh. We've been working on some new front of base textures, which should be good, playing with the speedometer, and adding a little more trim in places. Apart from that, there isn't much more that can be done until FF is released...

PS. I still need a nice sunny skybox that lines up. I'm told there are such things in DOD:S. Please message me if you can help me out here.

Last edited by o_caesium; 05-10-2006 at 11:32 AM.
o_caesium is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-10-2006, 05:59 PM   #184
o_nezumi
 
o_nezumi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Peoples Republic of Harmfull Free Radicals
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
http://www.superjer.com/nezumi/combineshield.zip

That's the red version. The blue one should be called com_shield003a.

I'm not sure this is actually the right texture. This one may not fade away as you move away from it.

Edit: I guess the combine shield textures don't fade out as you move away from them. It must be done with triggers in the game then. Oh well. These textures should look allright from across the map anyway.

Last edited by o_nezumi; 05-10-2006 at 06:30 PM.
o_nezumi is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-10-2006, 11:57 PM   #185
o_sidd42
 
o_sidd42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Cheers Nezumi. The shield textures do work properly, but only if you put them on a func_brush. It uses the "PlayerProximity" proxy, which doesn't work on world brushes.
o_sidd42 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-11-2006, 06:25 PM   #186
o_nezumi
 
o_nezumi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Peoples Republic of Harmfull Free Radicals
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Pha! Wouldn't you know it. Well there you go then.
o_nezumi is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-24-2006, 08:21 PM   #187
o_sidd42
 
o_sidd42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
A Speed camera in action..




Perfectly calibrated into mph, of course.

Hasn't been much progress recently, and there won't be until me and caes have finished exams, or ff comes out, whichever is soonest.

Oh, and ff_badger is being planned
o_sidd42 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-24-2006, 09:38 PM   #188
o_ohcanep
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Finland
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Hmph, miles are silly. What's the speed limit set by Mr. Aardwark anyway?
o_ohcanep is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-24-2006, 10:07 PM   #189
o_darknight
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Yorkshire
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Haha, awesome!
o_darknight is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-24-2006, 10:07 PM   #190
o_geokill----->
 
o_geokill----->'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Fort Worth, Tejas
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Wow that's so cool
o_geokill-----> is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-24-2006, 10:25 PM   #191
o_paft
 
o_paft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Heh! Thats fantastic.
o_paft is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-24-2006, 11:16 PM   #192
o_ivaqual
 
o_ivaqual's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Europe, Front Yard
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
will only reach perfection when it'll count kilometers and not miles.
neat suff
o_ivaqual is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-25-2006, 12:36 AM   #193
o_own3r
 
o_own3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Is it possible to do something like this, but for the score?

Maybe this might also work on a map with flag locations too?
A proximity sensor style brush which is invisable and non solid would determin which area the flag was displayed in.
o_own3r is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-25-2006, 03:54 AM   #194
o_nezumi
 
o_nezumi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Peoples Republic of Harmfull Free Radicals
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Hahaha, silly foreign noobs not knowing both metric and imperial.

How does the sensor behave when there's multiple people around?
o_nezumi is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-25-2006, 06:08 AM   #195
Circuitous
Useless
Retired FF Staff
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Class/Position: D Soldier, O Scout
Gametype: AvD
Posts Rated Helpful 9 Times
Send a message via AIM to Circuitous Send a message via MSN to Circuitous Send a message via Yahoo to Circuitous Send a message via Skype™ to Circuitous
Go ahead and make it kilometers, we're smart enough to convert it in our heads.
__________________
Look at all those dead links.
Circuitous is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-25-2006, 08:45 AM   #196
o_sidd42
 
o_sidd42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Own3r
Is it possible to do something like this, but for the score?
The wonderful world of material proxies
There's quite a lot of silly stuff you could do with these, but it depends on what the devs consider is worthwhile.
You can basically change how any wall looks. You can make this depend on: The player's speed, If they are looking at the wall, how far away they are, and how much health they have.

If they add some things to ff, then you could have walls which change depending on your class, flag location, and score. Some potential applications are a scoreboard, like the one in etf Mach. Walls which only a scout or spy can see through. "Tutorial Mode" arrows appearing differently for different classes. Best of all though I think, is ghostly gazelle which you can only see in certain places after you have died, and before you respawn.

objections to mph have been noted, and it now works in 7 furrowlengths per microcentury
o_sidd42 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-25-2006, 09:38 AM   #197
o_nezumi
 
o_nezumi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Peoples Republic of Harmfull Free Radicals
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
At last, truly universal units.
o_nezumi is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-25-2006, 11:04 AM   #198
o_luminous
 
o_luminous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
it is quite silly that we still use mph in the uk, when everything else is metric now :s but it would be so confusing/hard to get used to if it was changed to kph

really cool idea though
o_luminous is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-25-2006, 01:14 PM   #199
o_tercel
 
o_tercel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
looks sweet!
o_tercel is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-25-2006, 08:25 PM   #200
Circuitous
Useless
Retired FF Staff
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Class/Position: D Soldier, O Scout
Gametype: AvD
Posts Rated Helpful 9 Times
Send a message via AIM to Circuitous Send a message via MSN to Circuitous Send a message via Yahoo to Circuitous Send a message via Skype™ to Circuitous
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sidd42
objections to mph have been noted, and it now works in 7 furrowlengths per microcentury
Sweet.
__________________
Look at all those dead links.
Circuitous is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.