Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Editing > Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2007, 01:42 AM   #1
Ihmhi
[AE] 0112 Ihmhi *SJB
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Ihmhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Newark, NJ, United States
Class/Position: A little bit o' everythin'
Gametype: Also a little bit o' everythin'
Affiliations: [AE] Asseater, *SJB Straight Jacket Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
Send a message via AIM to Ihmhi Send a message via MSN to Ihmhi Send a message via Yahoo to Ihmhi
Odd Problem: grate turns black

__________________
Support FF:
Anime: The Thread: Reloaded
The one and only anime thread on these here forums.

Select the pistol, and then, select your horse.
Ihmhi is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-13-2007, 02:13 AM   #2
df`
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Hoping to see grate_fuckup in the next release.
df` is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-13-2007, 02:35 AM   #3
barronofhellion
 
barronofhellion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
my f'in source sdk wont even open the f' up ...
barronofhellion is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-13-2007, 02:42 AM   #4
Ihmhi
[AE] 0112 Ihmhi *SJB
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Ihmhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Newark, NJ, United States
Class/Position: A little bit o' everythin'
Gametype: Also a little bit o' everythin'
Affiliations: [AE] Asseater, *SJB Straight Jacket Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
Send a message via AIM to Ihmhi Send a message via MSN to Ihmhi Send a message via Yahoo to Ihmhi
Quote:
Originally Posted by df`
Hoping to see grate_fuckup in the next release.
The files are linked in the first post (and here too!), you can just download them...
__________________
Support FF:
Anime: The Thread: Reloaded
The one and only anime thread on these here forums.

Select the pistol, and then, select your horse.
Ihmhi is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-14-2007, 03:20 AM   #5
barronofhellion
 
barronofhellion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
just had a quick look at it , sorry to get back so late, just read the sdk f'up thread and had to put that line in for the pos to load up... have you tried deleteing the top or bottom brush and just using 1 brush ? there is no need for 2
barronofhellion is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-14-2007, 03:39 AM   #6
Ihmhi
[AE] 0112 Ihmhi *SJB
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Ihmhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Newark, NJ, United States
Class/Position: A little bit o' everythin'
Gametype: Also a little bit o' everythin'
Affiliations: [AE] Asseater, *SJB Straight Jacket Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
Send a message via AIM to Ihmhi Send a message via MSN to Ihmhi Send a message via Yahoo to Ihmhi
Quote:
Originally Posted by barronofhellion
just had a quick look at it , sorry to get back so late, just read the sdk f'up thread and had to put that line in for the pos to load up... have you tried deleteing the top or bottom brush and just using 1 brush ? there is no need for 2
Yes. It happens whether it is one brush or two.

Like I said, the .vmf is included. I have tried pretty much everything I can think of, so I included the .vmf to see if someone else can come up with a solution.
__________________
Support FF:
Anime: The Thread: Reloaded
The one and only anime thread on these here forums.

Select the pistol, and then, select your horse.
Ihmhi is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-14-2007, 07:16 AM   #7
TheWetMule
 
TheWetMule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: England, Midlands
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Send a message via MSN to TheWetMule Send a message via Skype™ to TheWetMule
Try making it a func_detail, it cured the same ish type problem for me when my glass kept getting darker, group all it, func_detail.
TheWetMule is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-14-2007, 07:34 AM   #8
Doompiggy
Banned
 
Doompiggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Internet
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
I think it's a Source problem, as I've seen this on lots of different mods, textures and brushes.
Doompiggy is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-14-2007, 11:23 AM   #9
GambiT
Fortress Forever Staff
 
GambiT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baton Rouge
Class/Position: Spy
Affiliations: -=DoM=-
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by barronofhellion
just had a quick look at it , sorry to get back so late, just read the sdk f'up thread and had to put that line in for the pos to load up... have you tried deleteing the top or bottom brush and just using 1 brush ? there is no need for 2

i had a looooooong conversation with him on that, to no avail...lol
__________________
-------------------------------FF_Rock2(WIP)------------------------------
---------------------------FF_RedGiant(Released)-------------------------
--------------------------FF_Fragzone_G(Released)------------------------
--------------------------FF_Civibash_G(Released)------------------------
-------------------FF_Conc_G1(WIP)--------------------
-------------------FF_Hollow_G(WIP)---------------------
GambiT is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-14-2007, 09:43 PM   #10
fisheye
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ihmhi
Also note that this map has no lighting entities (so everything is fullbright), but I do not think that this is a lighting issue.
trying a few lights would be a much more reliable method than guessing...


Quote:
I do not believe that it is because the two brushes are placed as they are.
dont you mean the 58 brushes? ok, so the trim needs the 20 that it has, but the other 38 could be made into 2 seperate brushes.
selecting the lot and turning it all into a single func_detail would save a lot of compile time, especially if it gets used in a bigger setting, but my money is on the lack of lighting.
fisheye is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-15-2007, 01:53 AM   #11
barronofhellion
 
barronofhellion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
barronofhellion is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-15-2007, 02:55 AM   #12
GambiT
Fortress Forever Staff
 
GambiT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baton Rouge
Class/Position: Spy
Affiliations: -=DoM=-
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
barron, just copy your gameconfig.txt file and keep it somewhere, i keep it in mydocuments.
__________________
-------------------------------FF_Rock2(WIP)------------------------------
---------------------------FF_RedGiant(Released)-------------------------
--------------------------FF_Fragzone_G(Released)------------------------
--------------------------FF_Civibash_G(Released)------------------------
-------------------FF_Conc_G1(WIP)--------------------
-------------------FF_Hollow_G(WIP)---------------------
GambiT is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-15-2007, 03:03 AM   #13
barronofhellion
 
barronofhellion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
actually thx gambit i was going to start a thread asking if you can back that up because this s* happens like every other few weeks it seams
barronofhellion is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-15-2007, 03:42 AM   #14
GambiT
Fortress Forever Staff
 
GambiT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baton Rouge
Class/Position: Spy
Affiliations: -=DoM=-
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
yea, and every time you refresh sdk content it wipes it clean, thats why i backed it up.
__________________
-------------------------------FF_Rock2(WIP)------------------------------
---------------------------FF_RedGiant(Released)-------------------------
--------------------------FF_Fragzone_G(Released)------------------------
--------------------------FF_Civibash_G(Released)------------------------
-------------------FF_Conc_G1(WIP)--------------------
-------------------FF_Hollow_G(WIP)---------------------
GambiT is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-17-2007, 11:34 AM   #15
Ihmhi
[AE] 0112 Ihmhi *SJB
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Ihmhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Newark, NJ, United States
Class/Position: A little bit o' everythin'
Gametype: Also a little bit o' everythin'
Affiliations: [AE] Asseater, *SJB Straight Jacket Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
Send a message via AIM to Ihmhi Send a message via MSN to Ihmhi Send a message via Yahoo to Ihmhi
Thanks to nodnarb who helped me figure this out.

I am still a Hammer newb, so while I thought it was not a lighting issue - ta-daa, I was freakin' wrong! I dropped in a couple of light entities , shot the grate to Hell, and it did not turn black!

So, if you ever encounter a similar problem as this, it looks like it is a lighting issue (specifically with fullbright).

Makes me wonder what kind of fuckups I would find on released maps (dev and community) if I changed mp_fullbright to 1 and went around shooting stuff, hehe...
__________________
Support FF:
Anime: The Thread: Reloaded
The one and only anime thread on these here forums.

Select the pistol, and then, select your horse.
Ihmhi is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-17-2007, 12:57 PM   #16
fisheye
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
[QUOTE=Ihmhi]Thanks to nodnarb who helped me figure this out.

QUOTE]

I missed his post, just like you seem to have missed mine. :P
fisheye is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-17-2007, 01:15 PM   #17
Ihmhi
[AE] 0112 Ihmhi *SJB
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Ihmhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Newark, NJ, United States
Class/Position: A little bit o' everythin'
Gametype: Also a little bit o' everythin'
Affiliations: [AE] Asseater, *SJB Straight Jacket Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
Send a message via AIM to Ihmhi Send a message via MSN to Ihmhi Send a message via Yahoo to Ihmhi
I talked with nodnarb about it in Steam Friends on Tuesday (the day before you poasted), I was just too busy to make another poast here. That is also why I missed your poast.

But yeah, thanks anyway. You're the only other person besides nodnarb that was able to figure it out. d:
__________________
Support FF:
Anime: The Thread: Reloaded
The one and only anime thread on these here forums.

Select the pistol, and then, select your horse.
Ihmhi is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-17-2007, 08:47 PM   #18
nodnarb
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 5 Times
<3
nodnarb is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-17-2007, 09:10 PM   #19
fisheye
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times


i'd still make sure it was all turned into a func_detail before using it, even though it wasn't the cause of the problem.
fisheye is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-18-2007, 02:21 AM   #20
Ihmhi
[AE] 0112 Ihmhi *SJB
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Ihmhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Newark, NJ, United States
Class/Position: A little bit o' everythin'
Gametype: Also a little bit o' everythin'
Affiliations: [AE] Asseater, *SJB Straight Jacket Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
Send a message via AIM to Ihmhi Send a message via MSN to Ihmhi Send a message via Yahoo to Ihmhi
Quote:
Originally Posted by fisheye


i'd still make sure it was all turned into a func_detail before using it, even though it wasn't the cause of the problem.
Eh well I can screw around with it... but I tested it with lights and saw absolutely no problems whatsoever. Either lights are a workaround or it is just Source being pissy.

I might experiment with it some and see if I can still get the error to crop up with lights around it, but well, you know how temperamental Hammer is.

Thing is, if someone were to activate fullbright using cheats, then they might be able to get the effect to happen. So yeah, I think I am going to delete the light entities from the test map and then make it a func_detail and see what happens.

Thanks for the tipzorz. <3
__________________
Support FF:
Anime: The Thread: Reloaded
The one and only anime thread on these here forums.

Select the pistol, and then, select your horse.
Ihmhi is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.