Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Off Topic > Chat

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-07-2007, 04:21 AM   #1
Darkness24713
Another
 
Darkness24713's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Sending files from comp to comp

Is there a USB way i can connect 2 computers together to send files back and forth ?
Darkness24713 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-07-2007, 04:33 AM   #2
Backstaber
Custom User Title
D&A Member
 
Backstaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Jersey
Class/Position: Scout Offence
Gametype: Capture The Flag
Affiliations: None
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Yes, there is a way, it's called networking.
Backstaber is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-07-2007, 06:19 AM   #3
Spiderm4N
Banned
 
Spiderm4N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Brazil
Posts Rated Helpful 5 Times
lol?
Spiderm4N is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-07-2007, 08:13 AM   #4
Ihmhi
[AE] 0112 Ihmhi *SJB
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Ihmhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Newark, NJ, United States
Class/Position: A little bit o' everythin'
Gametype: Also a little bit o' everythin'
Affiliations: [AE] Asseater, *SJB Straight Jacket Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
Send a message via AIM to Ihmhi Send a message via MSN to Ihmhi Send a message via Yahoo to Ihmhi
I think he is asking if there is a way to get a direct connection with just one USB cable connecting the two computers.

I am actually a bit curious about this myself... I wonder if there were a way to USB network? Knowing most USB devices there is probably already some freeware program out there... you just plug it in, it autodetects it, and everything works as good as it does on a Mac (except you can play games olololol).
__________________
Support FF:
Anime: The Thread: Reloaded
The one and only anime thread on these here forums.

Select the pistol, and then, select your horse.
Ihmhi is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-07-2007, 10:35 AM   #5
Pixel
if(0>1){printf("broked");}
Beta Tester
 
Pixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Amerika
Class/Position: O
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
something like this?

http://www.amazon.com/USB-DirectLink...065748-6217756

or the slower usb 1.0 version

http://www.amazon.com/USB-Direct-Lin...065748-6217756
Pixel is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-07-2007, 10:38 AM   #6
Ihmhi
[AE] 0112 Ihmhi *SJB
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Ihmhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Newark, NJ, United States
Class/Position: A little bit o' everythin'
Gametype: Also a little bit o' everythin'
Affiliations: [AE] Asseater, *SJB Straight Jacket Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
Send a message via AIM to Ihmhi Send a message via MSN to Ihmhi Send a message via Yahoo to Ihmhi
That is pretty cool. I wonder if there is any special design in that cable or if you could do it with a regular USB cable...
__________________
Support FF:
Anime: The Thread: Reloaded
The one and only anime thread on these here forums.

Select the pistol, and then, select your horse.
Ihmhi is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-07-2007, 12:44 PM   #7
mervaka
A Very Sound Guy!
Fortress Forever Staff
 
mervaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK
Posts Rated Helpful 15 Times
USB flash drive?
__________________
Support FF:
mervaka is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-07-2007, 12:56 PM   #8
Ihmhi
[AE] 0112 Ihmhi *SJB
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Ihmhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Newark, NJ, United States
Class/Position: A little bit o' everythin'
Gametype: Also a little bit o' everythin'
Affiliations: [AE] Asseater, *SJB Straight Jacket Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
Send a message via AIM to Ihmhi Send a message via MSN to Ihmhi Send a message via Yahoo to Ihmhi
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ihmhi
with a regular USB cable...
__________________
Support FF:
Anime: The Thread: Reloaded
The one and only anime thread on these here forums.

Select the pistol, and then, select your horse.
Ihmhi is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-07-2007, 01:38 PM   #9
Coronius
Alcoholic Artist
 
Coronius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts Rated Helpful 2 Times
If youre on the same Router or whatever you get like 10MB's a second while transfering files anyway..?
Coronius is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-07-2007, 09:36 PM   #10
Iggy
Heartless Threadkiller
Beta Tester
Forum Moderator
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Class/Position: D-Solly / O-Medic
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: [AE] AssEaters
Posts Rated Helpful 42 Times
Requires a router... it is the easiest way..... But I find it ironic that this hasn't been easily done before.......

oh, wait:

Par-Net connected 2 Amiga computers together via Parallell port and a single cable.....wow.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by zSilver_Fox
See kids? Only Iggy and FT are good enough to post when high.
Publishers Website My book on BN.com My book on Amazon.com

Friend me on Facebook
Follow me on Twitter
Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-07-2007, 11:27 PM   #11
Darkness24713
Another
 
Darkness24713's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Backstaber
Yes, there is a way, it's called networking.
Thanks for the smart ass awnser. Made yourself look real cool
Darkness24713 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-07-2007, 11:29 PM   #12
Darkness24713
Another
 
Darkness24713's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by mervaka
USB flash drive?
Notice i said Connect 2 computers together with USB not with a jump drive
Darkness24713 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-08-2007, 12:14 AM   #13
Suite307
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Double Posting also makes you cool. Try getting a USB cable and plug 2 computers, it works if you want to play in LAN , either way, you'll need to network those 2 computers if you want to share files. I have no idea how.
Suite307 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-08-2007, 05:33 AM   #14
Mooga
Colorless FTW
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
Mooga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: A Small Box
Affiliations: SRCDS.com
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
First off, while USB is FASTER then your standard LAN (10/100), a LAN or crossover would probably be much easier then messing with some type of USB crossover.
Second, I do know that it is possible to network computers via fire-wire. However no one uses fire-wire much anymore.

EDIT: While searching, you need a special USB cord for file transfer because of that "chip" in the middle.
__________________
~ Mooga ...w00t?
SRCDS.com | Twitter
Mooga is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-08-2007, 06:31 AM   #15
Ihmhi
[AE] 0112 Ihmhi *SJB
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Ihmhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Newark, NJ, United States
Class/Position: A little bit o' everythin'
Gametype: Also a little bit o' everythin'
Affiliations: [AE] Asseater, *SJB Straight Jacket Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
Send a message via AIM to Ihmhi Send a message via MSN to Ihmhi Send a message via Yahoo to Ihmhi
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mooga
EDIT: While searching, you need a special USB cord for file transfer because of that "chip" in the middle.
Yes, I noticed that, which is why I was wondering if it was possible to do it with just a regular USB cord.

The data can go both ways, obviously. You can plug in a PSP or an iPod via USB and transfer data between them and a computer. Why not computer to computer transfer via this method? Why do you need a special cable? All you would need is the appropriate software.
__________________
Support FF:
Anime: The Thread: Reloaded
The one and only anime thread on these here forums.

Select the pistol, and then, select your horse.
Ihmhi is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-08-2007, 06:51 AM   #16
Mooga
Colorless FTW
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
Mooga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: A Small Box
Affiliations: SRCDS.com
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ihmhi
Why do you need a special cable? All you would need is the appropriate software.
The only thing I could think is if there was a DRIVER which let this happen. The chip is needed, I think, for the computer to know that it's connected to another.

With your PSP, it is put into a USB mode were it can talk to the computer and vise versa. A computer (with windows) can't do that.

EDIT: to quote this site:
Quote:
USB was designed to connect up to 127 USB peripherals to a USB host (typically a PC). It was not designed as a LAN technology and the USB Implementers Forum recommends existing LAN technology such as Ethernet for creating a computer network.
__________________
~ Mooga ...w00t?
SRCDS.com | Twitter
Mooga is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-08-2007, 10:30 PM   #17
mervaka
A Very Sound Guy!
Fortress Forever Staff
 
mervaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK
Posts Rated Helpful 15 Times
buy a pair of lan cards and an ethernet cable then.
__________________
Support FF:
mervaka is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-08-2007, 11:59 PM   #18
df`
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
I know you can do this with a parallel cable, it's pretty much plug and play. Connect the parallel ports and go into New Connection Wizard -> Advanced "I want to connect via direct parallel/serial cable" or whatever, and you're on your way. Not sure why it doesn't work with USB. It sure would be a lot faster!
df` is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-09-2007, 12:37 AM   #19
Mooga
Colorless FTW
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
Mooga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: A Small Box
Affiliations: SRCDS.com
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by mervaka
buy a pair of lan cards and an ethernet cable then.
You need a CROSSOVER. (Unless you're using gigabit)
__________________
~ Mooga ...w00t?
SRCDS.com | Twitter
Mooga is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.