Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Editing > Modding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-26-2008, 03:10 PM   #1
Paft
Beta Tester
 
Paft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK - http://forums.fortress-forever.com
Class/Position: [O] Med
Gametype: CTF/Skills
Posts Rated Helpful 67 Times
TFC crosshair txt files

It's been a while and my memory doesn't serve me well so need your help.

I am trying to use a crosshair for melee weapons. Taking any crosshair from the original crosshairs.spr. It doesn't matter which because I've edited it so it's the same xhair for all.


so example:
taking the sprite locations from tf_weapon_rpg

Code:
crosshair        320 crosshairs    24    48    24    24
crosshair        640 crosshairs    24    48    24    24
and putting it in tf_weapon_axe doesn't work. Nothing shows up in-game.

But doing a separate sprite file for the xhair works. What am I forgetting?
Paft is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-27-2008, 12:54 AM   #2
Zuljin
mimic- Zuljin`aG
 
Zuljin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Class/Position: O Scout
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Affiliations: mimic, mcccxxxvii
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
I think by default there were no crosshairs for the crowbar. If you had to add the two crosshair lines (for 320 and 640), then you probably need to add 2 to the number on the first line. The first number is the number of entries in that tf_weapon_axe file.

This is my tf_weapon_axe
Code:
8
weapon			320 320hud1	0	0	80	20
weapon_s		320 320hud1	0	20	80	20
crosshair		320 crosshairs  24	0	24	24
autoaim			320 crosshairs  0	72	24	24
weapon			640 640hud1	0	0	170	45
weapon_s		640 640hud4	0	0	170	45
crosshair		640 crosshairs  24	0	24	24
autoaim			640 crosshairs  0	72	24	24
I'm not sure why doing a separate sprite file for the crosshair works. Let me know if it still doesn't work (or if you already did this).
Zuljin is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-27-2008, 01:24 AM   #3
Paft
Beta Tester
 
Paft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK - http://forums.fortress-forever.com
Class/Position: [O] Med
Gametype: CTF/Skills
Posts Rated Helpful 67 Times
Thank you. You help figure out the problem.

It was the number on the top line. The default axe.txt is 4, I swapped it to 8 and now the crosshair shows. I don't know what that number is for though?
Paft is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-27-2008, 01:27 AM   #4
Zuljin
mimic- Zuljin`aG
 
Zuljin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Class/Position: O Scout
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Affiliations: mimic, mcccxxxvii
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paft
Thank you. You help figure out the problem.

It was the number on the top line. The default axe.txt is 4, I swapped it to 8 and now the crosshair shows. I don't know what that number is for though?
It's the number of entries in the file.
Zuljin is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-27-2008, 01:28 AM   #5
Paft
Beta Tester
 
Paft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK - http://forums.fortress-forever.com
Class/Position: [O] Med
Gametype: CTF/Skills
Posts Rated Helpful 67 Times
Ah...

Thanks.
Paft is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-27-2008, 01:38 AM   #6
Paft
Beta Tester
 
Paft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK - http://forums.fortress-forever.com
Class/Position: [O] Med
Gametype: CTF/Skills
Posts Rated Helpful 67 Times
Shit sake! You explained that. Sorry, it's 1:35 so completely brain dead.
Paft is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.