Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Off Topic > Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2009, 03:52 AM   #41
Pixel
if(0>1){printf("broked");}
Beta Tester
 
Pixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Amerika
Class/Position: O
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by SizeableSSonic View Post
I still can't find a key for the 64 bit version...

Login here: https://profile.microsoft.com/

Click this link: https://www.microsoft.com/betaexperi...s/default.aspx
Pixel is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-21-2009, 07:53 PM   #42
Segundo
Banned
 
Segundo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Class/Position: Both
Gametype: Anticitizen
Affiliations: None
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Can i install this without having to wipe my entire hard drive(s)?

i dont know how to make a second install on the same drive. dual boot something?i dont know how to do it. I have two Hard drives.

150gb SATA [c:] <---windows XP
300gb SATA [d:] <---games etc
Segundo is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-22-2009, 02:54 AM   #43
Anshinritsumai
_o
 
Anshinritsumai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: 127.0.0.1
Class/Position: Medic & Engy
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: DM, OC, -[CfH]-
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
You should be able to run an "upgrade" from XP to Win7, which wouldn't erase files, as it would only install the OS and remove XP's boot and use Win7 to boot.

You could also install it on your D drive, but i'm not sure if it would erase your files or not. But since your not formatting anything, it shouldn't erase it at all, only install it...
Anshinritsumai is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-22-2009, 03:29 AM   #44
Segundo
Banned
 
Segundo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Class/Position: Both
Gametype: Anticitizen
Affiliations: None
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anshinritsumai View Post
You should be able to run an "upgrade" from XP to Win7, which wouldn't erase files, as it would only install the OS and remove XP's boot and use Win7 to boot.

You could also install it on your D drive, but i'm not sure if it would erase your files or not. But since your not formatting anything, it shouldn't erase it at all, only install it...
I could just copy all files over from D drive into C drive, then do that.
Segundo is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-22-2009, 06:34 AM   #45
Pixel
if(0>1){printf("broked");}
Beta Tester
 
Pixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Amerika
Class/Position: O
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
I'm dual booting xp and win7.

I shrank my last partition and created a new one and installed 7 on that.
Pixel is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-22-2009, 06:45 AM   #46
Segundo
Banned
 
Segundo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Class/Position: Both
Gametype: Anticitizen
Affiliations: None
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pixel View Post
I'm dual booting xp and win7.

I shrank my last partition and created a new one and installed 7 on that.
how do i do that? hmmm
Segundo is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-22-2009, 07:44 AM   #47
KubeDawg
Nade Whore
Server Owner
Beta Tester
 
KubeDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Class/Position: Scout/Soldier
Gametype: CTF/TDM
Affiliations: blunt. Moto
Posts Rated Helpful 128 Times
I'm having problems installing Win7 Beta.

Here's the image of what the install screen should look like:



Instead, mine gets to a blank screen, same wallpaper as above, and I can move my cursor around, but it never gets to bringing up the window so I can install it.

Edit, in the screenshot, I think they're using a vmware of sorts, i just made a seperate partition on my drive(100GB).
__________________
Moto's Funhouse | Dallas, TX - 74.91.114.247:27015

ff_plunder - Complete
KubeDawg is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-22-2009, 08:44 AM   #48
Demasu
Official FF Medic
 
Demasu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
How the hell do you download it? I went to the site and downloaded the thing it wanted me to, and nothing else happened.
__________________
Some ER Trauma Doctor: Which way did he point the gun? Was it towards the front of your face or the back of your face?

...and you wonder why I love doctors.
Demasu is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-22-2009, 11:41 AM   #49
Owoc
natural selection player
 
Owoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: subset of RRR
Class/Position: alien (fade), marine (comm)
Gametype: classic ns
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
https://www.microsoft.com/windows/wi...-download.aspx

Get a beta key via the above site. It should also allow you to download, but if it doesn't work for whatever reason, here are direct links to the disk images:

32 bit
64 bit

Owoc is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-22-2009, 05:33 PM   #50
Demasu
Official FF Medic
 
Demasu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Owoc View Post
https://www.microsoft.com/windows/wi...-download.aspx

Get a beta key via the above site. It should also allow you to download, but if it doesn't work for whatever reason, here are direct links to the disk images:

32 bit
64 bit

Thanks.
__________________
Some ER Trauma Doctor: Which way did he point the gun? Was it towards the front of your face or the back of your face?

...and you wonder why I love doctors.
Demasu is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-23-2009, 01:33 AM   #51
Circuitous
Useless
Retired FF Staff
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Class/Position: D Soldier, O Scout
Gametype: AvD
Posts Rated Helpful 9 Times
Send a message via AIM to Circuitous Send a message via MSN to Circuitous Send a message via Yahoo to Circuitous Send a message via Skype™ to Circuitous
Quote:
Originally Posted by Segundo View Post
how do i do that? hmmm
You can use a partition editor like what comes with most Live CDs (Linux, etc.) and a lot of PC utility/recovery discs.

I use an Ubuntu Live CD, myself. Put it in, boot up, do whatever you want.
__________________
Look at all those dead links.
Circuitous is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-23-2009, 03:04 AM   #52
Credge
FF Loremaster
Beta Tester
 
Credge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 4 Times
My initial impressions of 7 are pretty solid. My old recording program didn't like it so much (it installed, but whenever I played a note the program crashed, I imagine stuff like that will work itself out) but Audacity works like a charm! I've already started recording some stuff.

I REALLY like how I can just plug a thumb drive in with some drivers on it and they automatically start installing themselves. That's a very nice feature.

7 is booting up faster than my XP did on my old PC. It's just about instant. Pretty impressive. I've also noticed no lag, and I've got ALL of the extra gizmos and whirlygigs going on.

As long as 7 keeps this up, and allows my recording program to work on release, it's a buy. Hell, I'm considering getting it for this PC and just using XP for my old PC. Or I may even buy a new recording program! Oh lawdy.

All in all, I'm liking it.
__________________
"The nine most terrifying words in the English language are: 'I'm from the government and I'm here to help.'"

Ronald Reagan
Credge is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-23-2009, 05:55 AM   #53
Segundo
Banned
 
Segundo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Class/Position: Both
Gametype: Anticitizen
Affiliations: None
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
i ended up creating a second partition and installing on it, but every time i start up my pc it goes directly to XP what gives? i dont get an option to choose

nevermind i figured it out, i had to change the boot order of drives

Last edited by Segundo; 01-23-2009 at 06:03 AM.
Segundo is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-23-2009, 06:09 AM   #54
Damascus
Comic Artist
D&A Member
 
Damascus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Segundo View Post
how do i do that? hmmm
If you have a Mac, you can use Refit. It's a boot manager (I use it to triple boot Ubuntu/Leopard/Win. 7) that also comes with a partition manager.
Damascus is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-23-2009, 08:20 AM   #55
KubeDawg
Nade Whore
Server Owner
Beta Tester
 
KubeDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Class/Position: Scout/Soldier
Gametype: CTF/TDM
Affiliations: blunt. Moto
Posts Rated Helpful 128 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by KubeDawg View Post
I'm having problems installing Win7 Beta.

Here's the image of what the install screen should look like:

http://www.raymond.cc/images/install...ws-7-step2.png

Instead, mine gets to a blank screen, same wallpaper as above, and I can move my cursor around, but it never gets to bringing up the window so I can install it.

Edit, in the screenshot, I think they're using a vmware of sorts, i just made a seperate partition on my drive(100GB).
Still having this issue. Anyone have any ideas? I've tried reburning the iso, and even downloading another iso burner application, but come up with the same results.
__________________
Moto's Funhouse | Dallas, TX - 74.91.114.247:27015

ff_plunder - Complete
KubeDawg is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-24-2009, 04:09 PM   #56
Pixel
if(0>1){printf("broked");}
Beta Tester
 
Pixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Amerika
Class/Position: O
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
http://qna.live.com/ShowQuestion.asp...9C126AA5DB707E ?

I had a bunch of problems with vista and getting my damn old dvd drive to read it

edit: try burning slower or a different brand of disc

Last edited by Pixel; 01-24-2009 at 09:41 PM.
Pixel is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-24-2009, 10:57 PM   #57
KubeDawg
Nade Whore
Server Owner
Beta Tester
 
KubeDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Class/Position: Scout/Soldier
Gametype: CTF/TDM
Affiliations: blunt. Moto
Posts Rated Helpful 128 Times
w00t, got the 64 bit version and it finally worked. So far, it's pretty neat. I'm digging the new task bar, especially now that I can rearrange my windows.
__________________
Moto's Funhouse | Dallas, TX - 74.91.114.247:27015

ff_plunder - Complete
KubeDawg is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-25-2009, 09:20 AM   #58
Circuitous
Useless
Retired FF Staff
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Class/Position: D Soldier, O Scout
Gametype: AvD
Posts Rated Helpful 9 Times
Send a message via AIM to Circuitous Send a message via MSN to Circuitous Send a message via Yahoo to Circuitous Send a message via Skype™ to Circuitous
Circuitous: Holy SHIT.
Circuitous: Okay, dude
Circuitous: you know how when shit crashes on XP
Circuitous: and it asks if you wanna send an error report?
[AE]™ 0112 Ihmhi *SJB: Yeah?
Circuitous: Well
Circuitous: I did it here on Windows 7
Circuitous: and it sent the report
Circuitous: and dude?
Circuitous: It bounced back a window that explained the problem I was having (MSI installers crashing after an IE update)
Circuitous: and told me how to fucking fix it
Circuitous: and it fucking worked.
Circuitous: My mind?
Circuitous: It is blown.
[AE]™ 0112 Ihmhi *SJB: Holy shit.
__________________
Look at all those dead links.
Circuitous is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-25-2009, 10:00 AM   #59
GeoKill----->
Community Member
Server Owner
Beta Tester
Forum Moderator
 
GeoKill----->'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hawthorne, California
Class/Position: Soldier/Spy/Scout
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: :e0:Eternal Order Leader
Posts Rated Helpful 12 Times
Wow That is amazing
__________________

:e0: Will live on Forever
Support FF:
GeoKill-----> is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-25-2009, 10:07 AM   #60
Circuitous
Useless
Retired FF Staff
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Class/Position: D Soldier, O Scout
Gametype: AvD
Posts Rated Helpful 9 Times
Send a message via AIM to Circuitous Send a message via MSN to Circuitous Send a message via Yahoo to Circuitous Send a message via Skype™ to Circuitous
Here's the page it sent back after the report.
__________________
Look at all those dead links.
Circuitous is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.