Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Community > Tips and Tutorials

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-24-2007, 07:00 PM   #1
Aviel
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Weapon Switch Config

Hello there,

so what I was thinking of is pretty simple - I have seen all those weapon switch configs which use one button to switch between the weapons. However I am a player whom uses the mousewheele a lot, actually while playing I can't stop switching weapons as it kinda became a 'normal' thing for me, used to it by CS and TFC such as other Shooters. So I had MWup and MWdown basicly for weapon switch which can be a bit confusing while your in combat und use twice MWdown for example but don't switch weapons as it's bound to one weapon....however I came up with this, I use it and works great.

I use this in my soldier.cfg - slot3@shotgun and slot5@rocketlauncher
Code:
alias soldier_w1 "slot3; alias soldier_w_switch_up soldier_w3; alias soldier_w_switch_down soldier_w2"
alias soldier_w2 "slot5; alias soldier_w_switch_down soldier_w4; alias soldier_w_switch_up soldier_w1"
alias soldier_w3 "slot5; alias soldier_w_switch_up soldier_w1; alias soldier_w_switch_down soldier_w4"
alias soldier_w4 "slot3; alias soldier_w_switch_down soldier_w2; alias soldier_w_switch_up soldier_w3"

alias soldier_w_switch_up soldier_w1
alias soldier_w_switch_down soldier_w3
bind "MWHEELUP" "soldier_w_switch_up"
bind "MWHEELDOWN" "soldier_w_switch_down"
You can use this config for any class by changing the slots which are being used by the classes. This script works for two weapons only, but I'm pretty shure there is a way for three weapons - but I'm just to lazy atm.
Aviel is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-24-2007, 07:42 PM   #2
Dr.Satan
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dr.Satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Class/Position: Med / Solly
Gametype: PAYLOAD
Affiliations: DET-
Posts Rated Helpful 19 Times
for a third weapon you would just need to add another alias into the command to include another weapon slot.
Dr.Satan is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-24-2007, 09:35 PM   #3
Kanadwen
 
Kanadwen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: York, PA
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Send a message via AIM to Kanadwen Send a message via Yahoo to Kanadwen
Nice script buddy! I'll be sure to use it!
Kanadwen is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-02-2007, 01:27 PM   #4
Custos
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Thank you man. Great stuff.

Im not very good at these things but i managed to make it work on engy.
But what i can't figure out is how to include the changeweapon sound. I know it's effectively useless but I want it for the feel. Could anybody help me?
Custos is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.