Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Editing > Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-03-2013, 05:57 AM   #1
KubeDawg
Nade Whore
Server Owner
Beta Tester
 
KubeDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Class/Position: Scout/Soldier
Gametype: CTF/TDM
Affiliations: blunt. Moto
Posts Rated Helpful 128 Times
Why is there a random seam showing after compiling my map?

I've made sure there are no leaks, no brushes that line up with the seam that shows from the front to back to top to bottom, remade the nearby brushes completely and nothing seems to fix the problem. This is a rounded surface made using the arch tool. It's 1/4 of a circle and has 8 sides on it, none of which match up to where the seam appears. All of my brushes in the map are also 100% lined up to the grid.

Here's a screenshot of the problem in game:


Here's what I see in hammer:


This problem didn't start until the last few versions of my map. I've done some research and think it might be related to area portals, but I can't find the "Load Portal File" option in my Map menu. The only thing I haven't tried is making my own area portals.

Any idea what this issue is and possibly how to fix it? I had another one on my map on a texture I had used the vertex tool on but had another copy of the same texture so I deleted the one that didn't work and made a copy of the one that did and that fixed the issue there, but I feel like I've exhausted everything I know how to try to fix this.

I should also mention that I have this issue even when testing with VIS and RAD turned off.
__________________
Moto's Funhouse | Dallas, TX - 74.91.114.247:27015

ff_plunder - Complete

Last edited by KubeDawg; 11-03-2013 at 06:04 AM.
KubeDawg is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-03-2013, 06:05 AM   #2
KubeDawg
Nade Whore
Server Owner
Beta Tester
 
KubeDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Class/Position: Scout/Soldier
Gametype: CTF/TDM
Affiliations: blunt. Moto
Posts Rated Helpful 128 Times
My compile code:
Code:
** Executing...
** Command: "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\kubedog@msn.com\sourcesdk\bin\ep1\bin\vbsp.exe"
** Parameters: -game "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\sourcemods\FortressForever" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\sourcemods\FortressForever\maps\deadzone_a9"

Valve Software - vbsp.exe (Dec 11 2006)
2 threads
materialPath: c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\sourcemods\FortressForever\materials
Loading C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\sourcemods\FortressForever\maps\deadzone_a9.vmf
Can't find surfaceprop Stone for material VBD/PACK 1 FLOORS/VBD_TILE_W_STONE001, using default
fixing up env_cubemap materials on brush sides...
ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
Processing areas...done (0)
Building Faces...done (0)
Chop Details...done (0)
Find Visible Detail Sides...
Merged 60 detail faces...done (0)
Merging details...done (0)
FixTjuncs...
PruneNodes...
WriteBSP...
NODRAW on terrain surface!
NODRAW on terrain surface!
done (1)
writing C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\sourcemods\FortressForever\maps\deadzone_a9.prt...done (0)
Creating default cubemaps for env_cubemap using skybox materials:
skybox/sky_day01_01*.vmt
Run buildcubemaps in the engine to get the correct cube maps.

No such variable "$hdrbasetexture" for material "skybox/sky_day01_01rt"
Can't load skybox file skybox/sky_day01_01 to build the default cubemap!
Finding displacement neighbors...
Finding lightmap sample positions...
Displacement Alpha : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
Building Physics collision data...
done (0) (310173 bytes)
Placing detail props : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
Compacting texture/material tables...
Reduced 798 texinfos to 414
Reduced 44 texdatas to 35 (1293 bytes to 924)
Writing C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\sourcemods\FortressForever\maps\deadzone_a9.bsp
1 second elapsed

** Executing...
** Command: Copy File
** Parameters: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\sourcemods\FortressForever\maps\deadzone_a9.bsp" "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\sourcemods\FortressForever\maps\deadzone_a9.bsp"


** Executing...
** Command: "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\kubedog@msn.com\sourcesdk\hl2.exe"
** Parameters: -game "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\sourcemods\FortressForever"  +map "deadzone_a9"
__________________
Moto's Funhouse | Dallas, TX - 74.91.114.247:27015

ff_plunder - Complete
KubeDawg is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-03-2013, 05:27 PM   #3
Crazycarl
D&A Member
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Crazycarl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 31 Times
Are the vertices themselves on the grid? It looks like a floating point error.
__________________
Support FF:
Crazycarl is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-03-2013, 06:42 PM   #4
KubeDawg
Nade Whore
Server Owner
Beta Tester
 
KubeDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Class/Position: Scout/Soldier
Gametype: CTF/TDM
Affiliations: blunt. Moto
Posts Rated Helpful 128 Times
I don't have any vertices nearby. The arch points themselves do not line up with the grid but they never do with this many points. Also, I have 5 other arches like this in my map that work without issue.

I got half of the issue fixed. Now it's just the bottom portion of this brush that has a tear in it and it seems to be about half as wide of a tear:
__________________
Moto's Funhouse | Dallas, TX - 74.91.114.247:27015

ff_plunder - Complete

Last edited by KubeDawg; 11-03-2013 at 06:44 PM.
KubeDawg is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-03-2013, 09:09 PM   #5
Crazycarl
D&A Member
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Crazycarl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 31 Times
Take the grid down to 1-unit size and snap your vertices to that. Floating point errors are rare but if your vertices are on an integer coordinates this should never happen.
__________________
Support FF:
Crazycarl is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-03-2013, 10:30 PM   #6
KubeDawg
Nade Whore
Server Owner
Beta Tester
 
KubeDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Class/Position: Scout/Soldier
Gametype: CTF/TDM
Affiliations: blunt. Moto
Posts Rated Helpful 128 Times
Sorry, I double checked and verified all points are snapped to the grid on my arches. I do have a platform on the inside of the arch that I clipped to match the points on the inner side of the arch but they all match up perfectly as well. So the only other things on my map that don't match to the grid are props and some of the pillars I made where it'd be impossible to make each side fit to the grid. Still, these items aren't attached to the wall with the problem and are not on the same grid line. The pillars are also func_details.
__________________
Moto's Funhouse | Dallas, TX - 74.91.114.247:27015

ff_plunder - Complete

Last edited by KubeDawg; 11-03-2013 at 10:37 PM.
KubeDawg is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-03-2013, 11:06 PM   #7
NeonLight
NeoNL
Wiki Team
Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Boston, Mass
Class/Position: Soldier, Medic
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: +M|M+ -RS
Posts Rated Helpful 170 Times
This is a problem on spiderx as well, but I did find a solution which I was too lazy to fix at the time. If you remake the brush (can't remember if you can just copy paste from another source) it should fix it.
NeonLight is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-04-2013, 01:24 AM   #8
Jay Mofo Mills
Jay|mOfO|Mills
Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Gametype: Snag the flag beotches
Posts Rated Helpful 8 Times
side note

not related to your exact post but,

If you don't run lighting (vrad) I don't think your map will detect a leak and a pointfile would not be created. Try Neon's idea, delete the brush and remake it.... Make sure its all on grid ( I think the arch tool puts all your points on grid) and see if that works.

p.s. Hammer always does some weird shit that makes no sense all of the sudden. good luck
Jay Mofo Mills is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-04-2013, 01:29 AM   #9
Jay Mofo Mills
Jay|mOfO|Mills
Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Gametype: Snag the flag beotches
Posts Rated Helpful 8 Times
and when I reread it you said areaportals and not pointfiles.... I dont think your map needs areaportals unless your fps is really dropping low but I doubt with what I've seen of your map its necessary (or would work with the layout). It would give you errors during compile if it was areaportals and I dont think it would cause the tearing effect you have.
Jay Mofo Mills is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-04-2013, 03:05 AM   #10
KubeDawg
Nade Whore
Server Owner
Beta Tester
 
KubeDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Class/Position: Scout/Soldier
Gametype: CTF/TDM
Affiliations: blunt. Moto
Posts Rated Helpful 128 Times
I've run a full compile with RAD and VIS turned on, still with no leaks or point file. I made sure to get rid of all my leaks before I tried to fix this tearing issue.

Neon, I did try copying/pasting from another source with no luck. I'll try making a brand new arch and see if that helps.
__________________
Moto's Funhouse | Dallas, TX - 74.91.114.247:27015

ff_plunder - Complete
KubeDawg is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-05-2013, 06:09 AM   #11
KubeDawg
Nade Whore
Server Owner
Beta Tester
 
KubeDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Class/Position: Scout/Soldier
Gametype: CTF/TDM
Affiliations: blunt. Moto
Posts Rated Helpful 128 Times
fixed finally. I set all my curved corners to func_details and no more problem.
__________________
Moto's Funhouse | Dallas, TX - 74.91.114.247:27015

ff_plunder - Complete

Last edited by KubeDawg; 11-05-2013 at 06:09 AM.
KubeDawg is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.