Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Editing > Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2008, 11:20 AM   #1
-=Roland=-
 
-=Roland=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hiram, GA
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Is there a way to preview doors in hammer?

Dumb question. Is there a way to see the way doors actually function in Hammer? I had 2 doors last night that I kept having to tweak the settings. So I would go in change a setting, do a fast build, start the game, test the door, and go back a do it again to get the right. There has to be a better way that I'm missing.
-=Roland=- is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-15-2008, 12:05 PM   #2
Sidd
Lua Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Sadly, I don't think there is. Same with lighting and lots of other things.
The best compromise is to keep ff running in a window, and use cordon compiles. That way you just have to reload a small map, and not start ff every time you want to see the effect of your changes.
Sidd is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-15-2008, 11:15 PM   #3
Crazycarl
D&A Member
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Crazycarl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 31 Times
Put -onlyents in the vbsp command line and turn off vvis and vrad. It will compile in seconds. Then you can reload the map in Source and see all the entity changes you made.

You can only change entity settings this way. Lighting, geometry and static props need a full recompile
Crazycarl is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-16-2008, 12:06 AM   #4
GambiT
Fortress Forever Staff
 
GambiT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baton Rouge
Class/Position: Spy
Affiliations: -=DoM=-
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
do you mean the open direction settings by chance?
__________________
-------------------------------FF_Rock2(WIP)------------------------------
---------------------------FF_RedGiant(Released)-------------------------
--------------------------FF_Fragzone_G(Released)------------------------
--------------------------FF_Civibash_G(Released)------------------------
-------------------FF_Conc_G1(WIP)--------------------
-------------------FF_Hollow_G(WIP)---------------------
GambiT is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-16-2008, 03:17 AM   #5
-=Roland=-
 
-=Roland=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hiram, GA
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by GambiT
do you mean the open direction settings by chance?
Yep, that and how far the dang thing moves. Once I get the first one made the way I want it (ablout 95% of the way now) I'm gonna prefab it So I don't need to worry about it any more

Carl: I give the onlyent a try. That's assuming my computer will play nice and load the game and hammer at the same timw (which will save me roughly 5-6 mins per change,compile,test,change some more cycle.
-=Roland=- is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-16-2008, 06:07 AM   #6
chilledsanity
D&A Member
 
chilledsanity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Gametype: AvD, I/D, waterpolo, hunted
Posts Rated Helpful 6 Times
Turning VRAD to off and VVIS to fast will make your compile occur in seconds, that's about as good as you'll get.
chilledsanity is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-16-2008, 01:23 PM   #7
-=Roland=-
 
-=Roland=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hiram, GA
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
That's what I been doing so far. I was hopeful anyway.
-=Roland=- is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-18-2008, 07:45 PM   #8
GambiT
Fortress Forever Staff
 
GambiT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baton Rouge
Class/Position: Spy
Affiliations: -=DoM=-
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
you can tell which way your doo will open in hammer. the "top x,y(i believe)" view will tell you. when you set the "move direction" of the door that little round thing with the line in it, know what i mean? if you are looking at the top view and you want the door to open to the right, then that line should point to the right. if you want it to move down(according to the top view) then the line should be pointing down towards you.
__________________
-------------------------------FF_Rock2(WIP)------------------------------
---------------------------FF_RedGiant(Released)-------------------------
--------------------------FF_Fragzone_G(Released)------------------------
--------------------------FF_Civibash_G(Released)------------------------
-------------------FF_Conc_G1(WIP)--------------------
-------------------FF_Hollow_G(WIP)---------------------
GambiT is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-19-2008, 01:52 AM   #9
-=Roland=-
 
-=Roland=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hiram, GA
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
That much I know. It was more along the line of how far it's going to move. I pretty much got them now and have pre-fabbed them so I just add them as I need. Maybe I'll even release them once I get them just a bit more perfect. Anyone actually need jailhouse doors?
-=Roland=- is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-19-2008, 03:12 AM   #10
GambiT
Fortress Forever Staff
 
GambiT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baton Rouge
Class/Position: Spy
Affiliations: -=DoM=-
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
the door should move the width of the door, unless you have a "lip" or whatever the setting is. i always leave a lip, but thats just me.
__________________
-------------------------------FF_Rock2(WIP)------------------------------
---------------------------FF_RedGiant(Released)-------------------------
--------------------------FF_Fragzone_G(Released)------------------------
--------------------------FF_Civibash_G(Released)------------------------
-------------------FF_Conc_G1(WIP)--------------------
-------------------FF_Hollow_G(WIP)---------------------
GambiT is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-19-2008, 11:11 AM   #11
-=Roland=-
 
-=Roland=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hiram, GA
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
It's a prop based door and has a large negative lip.
-=Roland=- is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-20-2008, 08:58 PM   #12
Dr.Satan
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dr.Satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Class/Position: Med / Solly
Gametype: PAYLOAD
Affiliations: DET-
Posts Rated Helpful 19 Times
never hurts to have a prefab...release it when you have it right.
__________________
(Released) conc_school | hellion_classic | ksour_PAYLOAD | mulch_faf
(Beta) alchimy_b1
(Lua) base_payload_2015
(Models) props_trainyard
Support FF:
Dr.Satan is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-20-2008, 11:27 PM   #13
-=Roland=-
 
-=Roland=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hiram, GA
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Will do
-=Roland=- is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.