Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Community > General Discussion

Old 09-08-2008, 07:41 PM   #1
$h4m3

Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
I Never Thought I Was a Part of Something Big

You see, I missed the initial surge by a few days. I heard FF came out a couple days after TF2 came out and immediately downloaded it. I heard the stories of a ton of players rockin it until the release of TF2, then they switched. Reasons? They had them. All in their own fashion. Glitches, graphics, end-user support. There were a ton of reasons people could/would/did switch to TF2. So, friends, when I started playing FF, it was dead-ish.

I don't believe I've ever seen more than 3 servers full at any given time. I've owned them, operated them, and moderated them in turn. I've learned the tricks of the trade of filling a server. Pretty much, just sit in it. Eventually 2-3 people would come and it would snowball from there. Sadly, this approach stopped working and we saw the rise of certain servers. Now we really only see those servers with players in them, if even them at all.

So now we are informed of the long-awaited 2.1's release on Friday. I sit and wonder what this actually means. The advertising, it's there. On the rare occasion that I pick up a pub and play I see at least 2-3 whenwillouts in the servers. In the words of our American politicians, "Change is Coming". But I have to wonder, how much? Don't get me wrong, I know of the need for change. My underlying question is, will it take FF to the level of TFC?

You see, as a child I played TFC alot. I clanned and pubbed and it was fantastic. The world of TFC was never-ending due to the many ways you could play. CTF was always available but when you tired of that you could move on to things like warpath or dustbowl. Even then, when the carnage became dull, escape maps, climb maps, conc maps, solly maps. The possibilities were endless on any given night.