Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Editing > Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2008, 10:47 PM   #1
Dr.Satan
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dr.Satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Class/Position: Med / Solly
Gametype: PAYLOAD
Affiliations: DET-
Posts Rated Helpful 19 Times
What is wrong with my compile

Ok so this is my compile log:

http://privatepaste.com/610FfEIMB5

And I pasted it into interlopers and it gives me this:

http://www.interlopers.net/index.php...&e=4-3,4-4,4-5

But now when I load up my map...most of my lights are fine, but for some reason the most recent ones I added (2 / 4 compiles ago) still won't show up. I know the setting are correct cause I have checked and re-checked them time and time again. But they just don't show up at all.

Can someone with experience browse through my compile log and see what's going on?
__________________
(Released) conc_school | hellion_classic | ksour_PAYLOAD | mulch_faf
(Beta) alchimy_b1
(Lua) base_payload_2015
(Models) props_trainyard
Support FF:
Dr.Satan is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-24-2008, 12:43 AM   #2
BumGravy
Black Cyclops
 
BumGravy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
You have too many entities.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lines 14+15
Brush 943732: num_entities == MAX_MAP_ENTITIES

Side 5

Texture: METAL/METALTRUSS026A
MAX_MAP_ENTITIES - 4096. Both brush entities and point-entities will be considered in this count.

keep removing stuff and compiling until you stop getting the error above.
BumGravy is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-24-2008, 03:05 AM   #3
Dr.Satan
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dr.Satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Class/Position: Med / Solly
Gametype: PAYLOAD
Affiliations: DET-
Posts Rated Helpful 19 Times
thank you...elmo pm'd me on irc too and figured it out for me. I think I got it working now.

Is there anywhere that tells you how many you can have? I did the report and it seemed fine.
__________________
(Released) conc_school | hellion_classic | ksour_PAYLOAD | mulch_faf
(Beta) alchimy_b1
(Lua) base_payload_2015
(Models) props_trainyard
Support FF:
Dr.Satan is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-24-2008, 01:08 PM   #4
BumGravy
Black Cyclops
 
BumGravy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
I think its 4096, not including func_details. So in entity report, select everything but the func_details and it will tell you how many objects it is.
BumGravy is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-24-2008, 02:07 PM   #5
Dr.Satan
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dr.Satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Class/Position: Med / Solly
Gametype: PAYLOAD
Affiliations: DET-
Posts Rated Helpful 19 Times
Awesome ty man!
__________________
(Released) conc_school | hellion_classic | ksour_PAYLOAD | mulch_faf
(Beta) alchimy_b1
(Lua) base_payload_2015
(Models) props_trainyard
Support FF:
Dr.Satan is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-24-2008, 11:27 PM   #6
BumGravy
Black Cyclops
 
BumGravy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Np. Hows it looking? I hope you arent getting this error after following my advice on making a million teleporter entities to stop players getting stuck
BumGravy is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-24-2008, 11:38 PM   #7
Dr.Satan
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dr.Satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Class/Position: Med / Solly
Gametype: PAYLOAD
Affiliations: DET-
Posts Rated Helpful 19 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by BumGravy
Np. Hows it looking? I hope you arent getting this error after following my advice on making a million teleporter entities to stop players getting stuck
lol nah actually this happened before the teleporter thing I just didn't think it was anything big b/c it didn't show up at interlopers...then when I tried to see my rooms for lighting I was like WTF!

It's coming along good...I need to find a few leaks, finish perfecting jump 14 / 15 to be the right proportions and add in the juggle and teleporter room, locations, and triggers and it'll be done...lol that sounded like less in my head.
__________________
(Released) conc_school | hellion_classic | ksour_PAYLOAD | mulch_faf
(Beta) alchimy_b1
(Lua) base_payload_2015
(Models) props_trainyard
Support FF:
Dr.Satan is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-25-2008, 04:15 PM   #8
Dr.Satan
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dr.Satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Class/Position: Med / Solly
Gametype: PAYLOAD
Affiliations: DET-
Posts Rated Helpful 19 Times
Ok so now I'm really fucking confused...

I'm trying to fix my leaks...I got one down and ran the point file again and got another leak, but this one is confusing as hell.

The pointfile starts outside of my skybox and ends outside of it. It doesn't attach to an entity at all and I know my skybox is closed off b/c I deleted it and remade it 3 times now. How can I have a leak that is not even in my map at all?
__________________
(Released) conc_school | hellion_classic | ksour_PAYLOAD | mulch_faf
(Beta) alchimy_b1
(Lua) base_payload_2015
(Models) props_trainyard
Support FF:
Dr.Satan is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-25-2008, 05:18 PM   #9
BumGravy
Black Cyclops
 
BumGravy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Compiiiiiiiiile loooooooooooooooog
BumGravy is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-25-2008, 05:21 PM   #10
Dr.Satan
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dr.Satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Class/Position: Med / Solly
Gametype: PAYLOAD
Affiliations: DET-
Posts Rated Helpful 19 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by BumGravy
Compiiiiiiiiile loooooooooooooooog
yeah I know...I have to wait until I go home for lunch to post it probably about 30min or so.
__________________
(Released) conc_school | hellion_classic | ksour_PAYLOAD | mulch_faf
(Beta) alchimy_b1
(Lua) base_payload_2015
(Models) props_trainyard
Support FF:
Dr.Satan is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-25-2008, 05:46 PM   #11
Crazycarl
D&A Member
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Crazycarl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 31 Times
Don't run vrad if there's a leak. There's no point and with no vis information it takes extra long because it's forced to light the whole outside of the map as well as the inside.

For the leak: You probably have a brush entity (like a trigger or something) that got its origin moved somewhere outside the map. If this is the case you won't see it unless you have "helpers" activated and select the entity in question. The compile log will tell you which entity is generating the leak, so start with that one. If you don't get a name, just select the whole map (or just the entites), make sure helpers are on and look at both ends of the pointfile. You'll probably see a little circle there. Move it back into the map, where it's supposed to be.
__________________
Support FF:
Crazycarl is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-25-2008, 06:06 PM   #12
GambiT
Fortress Forever Staff
 
GambiT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baton Rouge
Class/Position: Spy
Affiliations: -=DoM=-
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
as he said or go to select all and look at the area of the poinfile in the 3d view
__________________
-------------------------------FF_Rock2(WIP)------------------------------
---------------------------FF_RedGiant(Released)-------------------------
--------------------------FF_Fragzone_G(Released)------------------------
--------------------------FF_Civibash_G(Released)------------------------
-------------------FF_Conc_G1(WIP)--------------------
-------------------FF_Hollow_G(WIP)---------------------
GambiT is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-25-2008, 06:14 PM   #13
Dr.Satan
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dr.Satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Class/Position: Med / Solly
Gametype: PAYLOAD
Affiliations: DET-
Posts Rated Helpful 19 Times
Ok your probably right carl, I remember that it references a trigger_ff_script (no name just that) but thats probably it...I'll check now, headed home in about 2min.

If not I'll post my logs.

and yeah I haven't been running vvis just b/c of that.
__________________
(Released) conc_school | hellion_classic | ksour_PAYLOAD | mulch_faf
(Beta) alchimy_b1
(Lua) base_payload_2015
(Models) props_trainyard
Support FF:
Dr.Satan is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-25-2008, 06:17 PM   #14
Jester
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Jester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Class/Position: O: Scout
Affiliations: {NFO} - New Family Order
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Make sure none of your outside walls are func_details or displacements. Since neither of those block vis, they will create leaks if used for outside walls.
Jester is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-25-2008, 07:39 PM   #15
Dr.Satan
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dr.Satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Class/Position: Med / Solly
Gametype: PAYLOAD
Affiliations: DET-
Posts Rated Helpful 19 Times
yeah that was it, thanks guys!

That was the only other leak I had...shouldn't be long now!
__________________
(Released) conc_school | hellion_classic | ksour_PAYLOAD | mulch_faf
(Beta) alchimy_b1
(Lua) base_payload_2015
(Models) props_trainyard
Support FF:
Dr.Satan is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-25-2008, 07:43 PM   #16
KubeDawg
Nade Whore
Server Owner
Beta Tester
 
KubeDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Class/Position: Scout/Soldier
Gametype: CTF/TDM
Affiliations: blunt. Moto
Posts Rated Helpful 128 Times
*pees pants* OMG can't wait!
__________________
Moto's Funhouse | Dallas, TX - 74.91.114.247:27015

ff_plunder - Complete
KubeDawg is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-09-2008, 09:25 AM   #17
zE
Pew pew ze beams
 
zE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Gametype: Gathers
Affiliations: pew pew
Posts Rated Helpful 11 Times
materialPath: c:\games\steam\steamapps\SourceMods\FortressForeve r\materials
Loading C:\Documents and Settings\Moi\Desktop\MAPS\rui.vmf
fixing up env_cubemap materials on brush sides...
0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...100...1... 2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10Processing areas...done (0)
Building Faces...done (0)
Chop Details...done (0)
Find Visible Detail Sides...done (0)
Merging details...done (0)
FixTjuncs...
PruneNodes...
WriteBSP...
NODRAW on terrain surface!
NODRAW on terrain surface!
NODRAW on terrain surface!
NODRAW on terrain surface!
NODRAW on terrain surface!
NODRAW on terrain surface!
NODRAW on terrain surface!
NODRAW on terrain surface!
NODRAW on terrain surface!
NODRAW on terrain surface!
NODRAW on terrain surface!
NODRAW on terrain surface!
NODRAW on terrain surface!
NODRAW on terrain surface!
NODRAW on terrain surface!
NODRAW on terrain surface!
NODRAW on terrain surface!
NODRAW on terrain surface!
NODRAW on terrain surface!
NODRAW on terrain surface!
NODRAW on terrain surface!
NODRAW on terrain surface!
NODRAW on terrain surface!
NODRAW on terrain surface!
NODRAW on terrain surface!
NODRAW on terrain surface!
NODRAW on terrain surface!
done (0)
writing C:\Documents and Settings\Moi\Desktop\MAPS\rui.prt...done (0)
Creating default cubemaps for env_cubemap using skybox materials:
skybox/ff_sky_clearblue*.vmt
Run buildcubemaps in the engine to get the correct cube maps.

No such variable "$hdrbasetexture" for material "skybox/ff_sky_clearbluert"
Can't load skybox file skybox/ff_sky_clearblue to build the default cubemap!
Finding displacement neighbors...
Finding lightmap sample positions...
Displacement Alpha : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
Building Physics collision data...
done (1) (231569 bytes)
Placing detail props : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
Compacting texture/material tables...
Reduced 1571 texinfos to 550
Reduced 89 texdatas to 72 (2973 bytes to 2385)
Writing C:\Documents and Settings\Moi\Desktop\MAPS\rui.bsp
4 seconds elapsed



2 threads
reading c:\documents and settings\moi\desktop\maps\rui.bsp
reading c:\documents and settings\moi\desktop\maps\rui.prt
2296 portalclusters
7987 numportals
0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...100...1... 2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9.

This last part is taking some insane time no idea why..

Last edited by zE; 05-09-2008 at 09:34 AM.
zE is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-10-2008, 04:17 AM   #18
squeek.
Stuff Do-er
Lua Team
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
squeek.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northern California
Class/Position: Rallygun Shooter
Gametype: Conc tag (you just wait)
Affiliations: Mustache Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 352 Times
Send a message via AIM to squeek.
Quote:
Originally Posted by =AS= zE
This last part is taking some insane time no idea why..
Time to start reading.

http://developer.valvesoftware.com/w..._Compile_Times
__________________
#FF.Pickup Fortress-Forever pickups

My Non-official Maps
Released FF_DM_Squeek - FF_2Mesa3_Classic - FF_Siege_Classic
Beta FF_Myth - FF_Redlight_Greenlight

Sick of the people on the internet, always moanin'. They just moan.
- Karl Pilkington
squeek. is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-10-2008, 06:09 AM   #19
zE
Pew pew ze beams
 
zE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Gametype: Gathers
Affiliations: pew pew
Posts Rated Helpful 11 Times
wow.. really hate that optimization stuff i think i gonna stick for the betas lolz
zE is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-10-2008, 05:56 PM   #20
squeek.
Stuff Do-er
Lua Team
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
squeek.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northern California
Class/Position: Rallygun Shooter
Gametype: Conc tag (you just wait)
Affiliations: Mustache Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 352 Times
Send a message via AIM to squeek.
Quote:
Originally Posted by =AS= zE
wow.. really hate that optimization stuff i think i gonna stick for the betas lolz
You're going to have to do it sometime. There is no escaping optimization.

And, you shouldn't have NODRAW on a displacement surface.
__________________
#FF.Pickup Fortress-Forever pickups

My Non-official Maps
Released FF_DM_Squeek - FF_2Mesa3_Classic - FF_Siege_Classic
Beta FF_Myth - FF_Redlight_Greenlight

Sick of the people on the internet, always moanin'. They just moan.
- Karl Pilkington
squeek. is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.