Nade Whore
Server Owner
Beta Tester

Class/Position: Scout/Soldier
Gametype: CTF/TDM
Affiliations: blunt. Moto
Posts Rated Helpful 128 Times
Transferring files from virus-ridden HDD

So I've never actually had a virus that completely prevented me from fixing, so I'm new to this.

I have 2 PCs. One is my work PC which has XP Media edition and the other is my Home PC which has Win7 Pro. Home PC uses a SATA drive and the work PC uses IDE.

First off, before I attempt anything, is it safe for me to hook up my Home HDD to my work PC and it not only boot the IDE drive, but prevent transfer of the virus to my work PC?

Also, if I am looking to transfer my stuff to my work PC, what if both drives have the same drive letter? (e.g. C:\)

I don't think SATA uses master/slave, but I'm not sure about the compatibility of the old IDE drive.

Finally, I have a separate external drive, one that has no OS installed used as a backup for my files, but since I cannot boot Windows on my Home PC, I don't know of any other way to get those files transferred to it.

Any advice?
Moto's Funhouse | Dallas, TX - 74.91.114.247:27015

ff_plunder - Complete
KubeDawg is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-23-2011, 06:49 PM   #2
SomeOldGuy
older than dirt

Posts Rated Helpful 9 Times
What virus? Have you tried all the normal cleaning agents (MalwareBytes, SuperAntiSpyware, etc)? Have you reinstalled Windows (that doesn't require wiping everything out, you can install Windows on top of itself and it won't reuse the current Windows settings)?

Drive letters won't have be the same on the same PC... that's a Windows assignment that occurs during the boot process

Why can't you boot windows on home pc?

Without knowing which virus or what's going on with your home PC,
I'd be cautious about attaching the HDD to another machine regardless of version of windows.

IDE and SATA drives can co-exist on same PC... just need the proper connections on mobo available