Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Community > Tips and Tutorials

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2008, 06:44 PM   #1
Paft
Beta Tester
 
Paft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK - http://forums.fortress-forever.com
Class/Position: [O] Med
Gametype: CTF/Skills
Posts Rated Helpful 67 Times
[TFC] Some scripts are sluggish and dodgy online

...but fine offline on LAN. Why is this?

1) Quick switch and fire script.
Online it does as it should only it fires the current wep once before the switch.

2) Just playing around and experimenting I wrote a slow kind of "realistic type of sniper scope zoom". Online it's all choppy so it's worthless. Works fine on LAN.

?
Paft is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-22-2008, 07:57 PM   #2
Player
D&A Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Europe
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
a copy of your scripts please!
Player is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-22-2008, 08:06 PM   #3
Paft
Beta Tester
 
Paft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK - http://forums.fortress-forever.com
Class/Position: [O] Med
Gametype: CTF/Skills
Posts Rated Helpful 67 Times
It isn't the scripts themselves because they work as they should on LAN. It's something beyond my knowledge causing the shitness only when online.
Paft is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-22-2008, 08:50 PM   #4
Dr.Satan
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dr.Satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Class/Position: Med / Solly
Gametype: PAYLOAD
Affiliations: DET-
Posts Rated Helpful 19 Times
post your script...also it could just be lag. But looking at the script we will be able to tell you better.
__________________
(Released) conc_school | hellion_classic | ksour_PAYLOAD | mulch_faf
(Beta) alchimy_b1
(Lua) base_payload_2015
(Models) props_trainyard
Support FF:
Dr.Satan is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-22-2008, 09:05 PM   #5
Paft
Beta Tester
 
Paft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK - http://forums.fortress-forever.com
Class/Position: [O] Med
Gametype: CTF/Skills
Posts Rated Helpful 67 Times
Isn't the scripts but I know you want to be sure so:

Code:
//Quick SNG and fire       
alias +qfire "use tf_weapon_superng;wait;wait; +attack"
alias -qfire "-attack;lastinv"
bind "MOUSE2" "+qfire"
Code:
//Sniper Zoom
alias r1 "fov 20; wait"
alias r2 "fov 30; wait"
alias r3 "fov 45; wait"
alias r4 "fov 70; wait"
alias r5 "fov 90; wait"
alias r6 "fov 0; wait"
alias zoomin "r5; r4; r3; r2; r1"
alias zoomout "r2; r3; r4; r5; r6"
alias +snipe "zoomin"
alias -snipe "zoomout"
bind MOUSE2 "+snipe"
Oh yeah, I only play on servers in my own region so ping is around 40-70. I know scripts delay more the higher the lag, but this isn't the same.

Last edited by Paft; 03-23-2008 at 01:39 AM.
Paft is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-23-2008, 09:39 AM   #6
Dr.Satan
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dr.Satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Class/Position: Med / Solly
Gametype: PAYLOAD
Affiliations: DET-
Posts Rated Helpful 19 Times
well first off why are you using "use tf_weapon_superng;wait;wait; +attack"

just use this:

Code:
//Quick SNG and fire       
alias +qfire "slot4;wait;wait; +attack"
alias -qfire "-attack;lastinv"
bind "MOUSE2" "+qfire"
That could be your problem right there since your trying to use a command that doesn't exist any longer (or isn't needed at least).

Also what class are you playing as?

And the sniper script works for you? Cause I'm positive that fov is locked to be between 90 and 120 and if it's working then that's not good lol.
__________________
(Released) conc_school | hellion_classic | ksour_PAYLOAD | mulch_faf
(Beta) alchimy_b1
(Lua) base_payload_2015
(Models) props_trainyard
Support FF:
Dr.Satan is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-23-2008, 09:45 AM   #7
Paft
Beta Tester
 
Paft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK - http://forums.fortress-forever.com
Class/Position: [O] Med
Gametype: CTF/Skills
Posts Rated Helpful 67 Times
Team Fortress Classic

Scripts are for TFC.

Yeah, fov is locked 90-120 but this isn't for FF :}
Paft is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-23-2008, 10:24 AM   #8
Dr.Satan
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dr.Satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Class/Position: Med / Solly
Gametype: PAYLOAD
Affiliations: DET-
Posts Rated Helpful 19 Times
oh...well that's a completely different story lol sorry.
__________________
(Released) conc_school | hellion_classic | ksour_PAYLOAD | mulch_faf
(Beta) alchimy_b1
(Lua) base_payload_2015
(Models) props_trainyard
Support FF:
Dr.Satan is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-23-2008, 10:43 AM   #9
Player
D&A Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Europe
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
CHECK OUT THIS MASTERPIECE!

alias +pointyprojectilegun "tf_weapon_superng; (wait; )* +attack"
alias -pointyprojectilegun "-attack; lastinv"
bind "MOUSE2" "+pointyprojectilegun"

*optional

You do not need any waits for your quick switch script; however, if you do not like illusions, throw in one wait. You do not need 'use', either.

Do you really need the scroll effect for your sniper script? :P

Anyway, scripty poops like that are largely dependant on fps as well (the higher the better), and with your well-known hardware problems, I must ask this question:

What is your frames per second?
Player is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-23-2008, 10:57 AM   #10
Paft
Beta Tester
 
Paft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK - http://forums.fortress-forever.com
Class/Position: [O] Med
Gametype: CTF/Skills
Posts Rated Helpful 67 Times
Thank you but as I expected the current weapon still fires once before the switch ONLINE. This has always happened for as long as I've played I think. well, on this machine anyway. Can't remember after that. First time I've asked about it.

Do I really need the Snip zoom? Probably not but I can't even give it a go.

Ha "scripty poops".

Max FPS 60.

So do these work fine for you online exactly like they do and should offline? I deleted all my .cfgs to ensure nothing is doing naughty things but no change.
Paft is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-23-2008, 11:40 AM   #11
Player
D&A Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Europe
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
I have a quick switch script similar to yours (slot4 replaces tf_weapon_superng); I have included 'dropitems', too.

The only time I have the ILLUSIONSHOT is if I remove all 'wait' commands.

It has worked fine for me online and offline for years (with 99 fps)

I don't have the scroll effect for my sniper zoom script, though:

alias +zoom50 "fov 50"
alias -zoom50 "fov 110"
bind shift "+zoom50"

I tested your scripts online, and I had no issues with them.

Is there any reason for having fps_max set to 60?
Player is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-23-2008, 11:45 AM   #12
Paft
Beta Tester
 
Paft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK - http://forums.fortress-forever.com
Class/Position: [O] Med
Gametype: CTF/Skills
Posts Rated Helpful 67 Times
Mmm I have all the luck don't I.

I meant my fps at it's highest is 60.

I'm getting some hardware upgrades soon which BETTER improve my comp performance or I'll slap myself silly. But that still doesn't really explain this. Or maybe it does. Dunno.. :/
Paft is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-23-2008, 11:53 AM   #13
Doompiggy
Banned
 
Doompiggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Internet
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Your scripts work fine for me online. Sure it's not your hardware? Cause I just got a new mouse and my zoom script is a bit sluggish on LAN or internet game.
Doompiggy is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-23-2008, 01:32 PM   #14
Paft
Beta Tester
 
Paft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK - http://forums.fortress-forever.com
Class/Position: [O] Med
Gametype: CTF/Skills
Posts Rated Helpful 67 Times
I've had problems with my computer from day 1. TFC is barely playable as it is. Getting a couple of upgrades in a few weeks, hopefully then this issue will f off. And I should be able to run FF which will be nice! Not counting on it though.

Thanks for the responses, I'll let you know.

Last edited by Paft; 03-23-2008 at 01:41 PM.
Paft is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.