Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Community > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2009, 04:47 PM   #1
Mikael_hs
Beta Tester
 
Mikael_hs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Affiliations: Wazzazzaza
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
New comp for FF - help me out

Ok so I'm gonna get a new comp cause my olds really shit...
I don't really play games much apart from FF so it only needs to be good for that.

Got any suggestions on what parts to buy (will assemble myself)?
Thinking I might just keep my old harddrives since that doesn't really affect things anyways. Also it seems duocore would be enough since FF can't use more than 1 core anyways (?).

THANKS.
Mikael_hs is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-10-2009, 05:13 PM   #2
Ricey
UI Designer
Front-End Developer
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Ricey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Winter Park, FL
Class/Position: D Eng
Gametype: CTF 9v9
Affiliations: .gr , smr
Posts Rated Helpful 46 Times
If you have the money, spend it on building the best machine possible within that limit. Don't just be like, well I only play FF so.. Be a man, build a beast. QuadCore SLI Machine.
__________________
Support FF:
Maps : Haste |Scrummage |Mulch_Trench
Voltage | Exchange Classic | Fortsake
ricecakes: I demand SGs get a buff
squeek.: buy it a gym membership


'I have an eye for design' - Kube 2014
Ricey is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-10-2009, 05:14 PM   #3
spaceleper
**League Cheater**
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MANCHESTER, ENGLAND
Class/Position: bent over ur mums coffee table
Gametype: i only play on sv_cheats 1 servers thx
Affiliations: MYG0T
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Alright mate, no worries, glad I could help.

You need to ask them for a SEGA MEGADRIVE. this is the best money can buy, yes u can use ur old hd in it. go to the shop and buy a pound of butter and shove it in the cartridge slot, this will give u 300fps. any deviation of the above will result in u living a sad lonely life and dying alone with cats.
__________________
Space Got Spanked
spaceleper is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-10-2009, 05:52 PM   #4
Mooga
Colorless FTW
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
Mooga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: A Small Box
Affiliations: SRCDS.com
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
I would highly recomend posting in the tech area. Start a thread and give us your budget and a few of us will bitch and moan until you have a good computer for the price.

As for single core:
1) For the most part, single core systems are obsolete.
2) In fact, you need to spend MORE on a single core processor since they don't even make the motherboards for them any more. (Minor exception on the 3.2GHz P4)

Also Note:
You can build a low-end gaming computer cheap. Without a screen or OS, you can build something half-decent for about $350. Post a thread and let us know. Also note what you need besides just the physical computer (screen, OS, keyboard, mouse, speakers, mic, chainsaw, ect.)

What type of HDD do you have? IDE is about obsolete... Plus, SATA drives are cheap.
__________________
~ Mooga ...w00t?
SRCDS.com | Twitter

Last edited by Mooga; 09-10-2009 at 06:02 PM.
Mooga is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-10-2009, 06:25 PM   #5
hlstriker
QUAD ROCKET
Server Owner
Fortress Forever Staff
 
hlstriker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Class/Position: Soldier
Gametype: Rocket Jumping
Affiliations: -g1 ]qS[ -eC- :e0: [ESAD]
Posts Rated Helpful 11 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikael_hs View Post
Thinking I might just keep my old harddrives since that doesn't really affect things anyways.
You would be surprised. Getting a hard drive with better speeds/cache can significantly increase the loading, copying, pasting, etc times. If money isn't an issue I would recommend getting the cheapest SSD you can find just to install your OS and games on, then use a SATA drive for your other programs and files.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mooga View Post
IDE is about obsolete...
So is the acronym IDE.
hlstriker is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-11-2009, 10:25 AM   #6
Mikael_hs
Beta Tester
 
Mikael_hs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Affiliations: Wazzazzaza
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
I g2 check my hd and see what they are, but I think theyre sata-discs. Each one is at 120gig. I might get proper ones later on, but for now I thnk they'll do. Not too hard to just get new ones in a couple of months anyway (not made of money atm).

I'm just gonna pass my newly bought monitor to a friend (same price pretty much) and get a 120hz lcd instead, this 60hz bullshit is more than I can handle.
I don't need anything apart from phsycal comp + chassi and maybe a keyboard. Got mouse, got monitor etc.
Mikael_hs is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-11-2009, 01:31 PM   #7
wakka
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Class/Position: top
Gametype: pwning caroline in bed
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Mikael I would imagine your current Hard-drives are IDE, and if you are buying a new computer it would most definitely require SATA drives. I think the best way to build a PC is to look at pre-builds on sites that fit your budget then work out how much the seperate components cost. I know in the UK sites like ebuyer offer well priced pc's that are not even worthwhile building by yourself for the money you would save.

I have 9800GT with Q8200 and it handles FF easily.
wakka is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-11-2009, 03:46 PM   #8
spaceleper
**League Cheater**
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MANCHESTER, ENGLAND
Class/Position: bent over ur mums coffee table
Gametype: i only play on sv_cheats 1 servers thx
Affiliations: MYG0T
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
mikeal the pc in ur mothers room is much better than urs, why don't u just speak to her about swapping, she's a very accomodating women! trust me
__________________
Space Got Spanked
spaceleper is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-11-2009, 05:37 PM   #9
hlstriker
QUAD ROCKET
Server Owner
Fortress Forever Staff
 
hlstriker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Class/Position: Soldier
Gametype: Rocket Jumping
Affiliations: -g1 ]qS[ -eC- :e0: [ESAD]
Posts Rated Helpful 11 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikael_hs View Post
... and get a 120hz lcd instead, this 60hz bullshit is more than I can handle.
From what I know there are only 2 120hz LCDs on the market and I heard they both suck and cost about ~$300. The only reason to buy one of those would be to use nvidia 3d vision. I personally looked into this before due to wanting the extra hz myself, but from the reviews out there they aren't worth it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wakka View Post
I know in the UK sites like ebuyer offer well priced pc's that are not even worthwhile building by yourself for the money you would save.
America/Canada has Newegg. Although some of my Canadian friends told me shipping from Newegg is super high so they prefer to shop at NCIX depending on the price of the actual part.

Mikael_hs, give us your budget and I'm sure people will help you find stuff.
hlstriker is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-11-2009, 08:32 PM   #10
Mikael_hs
Beta Tester
 
Mikael_hs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Affiliations: Wazzazzaza
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Well ive heard from many who actually have the samsung that its great. Guess I'll find out ^^
However the other one has pretty crappy reviews yes.

My budget is max 500 euro. I don't need a monitor and I don't need a mouse nor any cd drivers really; maybe a keyboard. Don't need speakers.

Should I get 3.0ghz (or more) duocore?

Last edited by Mikael_hs; 09-11-2009 at 08:40 PM.
Mikael_hs is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-11-2009, 09:32 PM   #11
spaceleper
**League Cheater**
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MANCHESTER, ENGLAND
Class/Position: bent over ur mums coffee table
Gametype: i only play on sv_cheats 1 servers thx
Affiliations: MYG0T
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
make sure you get a model with a flux capicitor
__________________
Space Got Spanked
spaceleper is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-12-2009, 01:08 AM   #12
Kiljen
Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Class/Position: scout/soldier
Gametype: ctf, AvD
Affiliations: .gr
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
We could probably help a little more if we knew more about what you already have. There are programs you can run on your computer to tell you what you have.

I like to use a program called Everest, or a more comprehensive one called System Information for Windows (SIW).

If you can generate a report in either program, and post it. People could probably help you a lot more.

http://majorgeeks.com/download4181.html (Everest)
http://www.gtopala.com/siw-download.html (SIW)
Kiljen is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-12-2009, 03:03 AM   #13
[AE] 82694
Retired FF Staff
 
[AE] 82694's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by spaceleper View Post
Alright mate, no worries, glad I could help.

You need to ask them for a SEGA MEGADRIVE. this is the best money can buy, yes u can use ur old hd in it. go to the shop and buy a pound of butter and shove it in the cartridge slot, this will give u 300fps. any deviation of the above will result in u living a sad lonely life and dying alone with cats.

Quote:
Originally Posted by spaceleper View Post
mikeal the pc in ur mothers room is much better than urs, why don't u just speak to her about swapping, she's a very accomodating women! trust me

Quote:
Originally Posted by spaceleper View Post
make sure you get a model with a flux capicitor
Ok if you have nothing to contribute don't post. Not one of your posts in this thread was helpful. One more BS post and it's infraction time.
__________________
I Love GenghisTron . I miss you sooooo Much. LOL.

Last edited by [AE] 82694; 09-12-2009 at 03:05 AM.
[AE] 82694 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-12-2009, 05:38 AM   #14
Mooga
Colorless FTW
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
Mooga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: A Small Box
Affiliations: SRCDS.com
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikael_hs View Post
Should I get 3.0ghz (or more) duocore?
If you are going to spend for a 3.0ghz+ dual core, I would just spend the few extra bucks and get a quad core.
__________________
~ Mooga ...w00t?
SRCDS.com | Twitter
Mooga is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-12-2009, 11:45 AM   #15
Mikael_hs
Beta Tester
 
Mikael_hs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Affiliations: Wazzazzaza
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Kiljen, I already have a monitor and I guess I don't really need new cd/dvd-drives either. Since most seem to think new harddrives are essential im gonna go buy one of them as well, theyre not very expensive anyways. Maybe i'd need a new xp (or vista bleh), since I only have 1 core now??? Different version for more cores?

Mooga, OK quadcore maybe then. ;P



I've done some research and these are all packages that cost about the same (give or take 50). Which one is the best u think? Does anything need changed?

1. http://www.komplett.se/k/ki.aspx?sku=323787 (prepackaged, build it yourself; CPU-Fan is included, and cooling paste is preassembled under the cpu-cooler)


2. http://data.fuskbugg.se/skalman01/--5k.jpg


3. A guy showed me this "package", saying "this is the shit for your budget":

https://www.inet.se/?page=product&st...233&a=6901233& - chassi

https://www.inet.se/datorkomponenter...r-xms2/5304234 - 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 PC6400 Corsair XMS2

https://www.inet.se/datorkomponenter...z--am3/5308630 - AMD Phenom2 X4 905E 2,5Ghz, AM3

https://www.inet.se/datorkomponenter...70-ud3/1900939 - Gigabyte GA-MA770-UD3 (motherboard)

Corsair CX 400W 80+ - power supply (might not need)

https://www.inet.se/datorkomponenter...-512mb/5407989 - Gigabyte Radeon HD4850 512MB

https://www.inet.se/datorkomponenter...ata-ii/4303036 - 500GB Western Digital Caviar SE SATA II

Price on deal 1 is 538 Euro
Price on deal 2 is 482 Euro
Price on deal 3 is 544 Euro

What y'all think?
Mikael_hs is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-12-2009, 06:55 PM   #16
hlstriker
QUAD ROCKET
Server Owner
Fortress Forever Staff
 
hlstriker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Class/Position: Soldier
Gametype: Rocket Jumping
Affiliations: -g1 ]qS[ -eC- :e0: [ESAD]
Posts Rated Helpful 11 Times
None of those looked very good for the price. I live in the US though and used a currency converter for 500 euros to US dollars ($729.70). Over here you can get waaaay better stuff for that price. I'm sure you can get better stuff there for the price too.

Also, you really should name off all the parts you already have. This way you can use some old parts and spend more money to get better new parts.

Monitor - Don't need
Mouse - Don't need
CD Drive - Don't need
Keyboard - Probably don't need
Speakers - Don't need
OS - If you are buying wait on Windows 7

Case - Can you use your current case?
HDD - Give us the model number.
RAM - Give us the model number.
PSU - Give us the model number.

CPU - ?
Mobo - ?
GPU - ?

Thermal Compound - Just listing so you don't forget to buy it.
80mm fans - Prob don't need.

Last edited by hlstriker; 09-12-2009 at 06:56 PM.
hlstriker is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-12-2009, 08:36 PM   #17
Mikael_hs
Beta Tester
 
Mikael_hs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Affiliations: Wazzazzaza
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
In sweden I won't get better for less money unfortunately. Socialistic bs but what can u do. We have + 22% in tax on all electronics (getting taxed twice basically).

I already have:
Mouse
Monitor (coming home in a few days)
Cd/dwd-drive (but new one is cheap so what the heck)
power supply BUT I might sell it along with comp to a friend.
WINXP

---

After some more scrutinizing I might buy this shit:

Cooler Master Elite 333 black Chassi
Gigabyte Radeon HD4870 512mgbyte
Corsair TWIN2X PC6400 DDR2 4GB KIT CL5
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 3.16GHz 1333MHz
500GB Western Digital Caviar SE SATA II
WHAT MODERBOARD???

Im past my budget now but what the heck...


I could also get this fairly nice deal on a 2nd hand comp:

Quad core 8200 @ 2,33Mhz

4GB Corsair xms3 memory (DDR3) 4x1gb

Scyth Ninja cpu cooler

Corsair HX620 Nätdel

2 st raided 80GB seagate SATA2 hdds

Saphire Radeon HD4850, 512 mb memory

Asus P5E3 Deluxe wifi-ap@n Moderboard with wireless lancard builtin, crossfirex support

The price for that is atm only 220 euro, but might rise a lil bit since theres 2 more days on the auction.

Sooooo what to do, what to do...

Last edited by Mikael_hs; 09-12-2009 at 08:41 PM.
Mikael_hs is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-13-2009, 02:23 PM   #18
Mooga
Colorless FTW
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
Mooga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: A Small Box
Affiliations: SRCDS.com
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
You are better off getting a new SATA DVD drive anyways...
__________________
~ Mooga ...w00t?
SRCDS.com | Twitter
Mooga is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-13-2009, 08:38 PM   #19
Mikael_hs
Beta Tester
 
Mikael_hs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Affiliations: Wazzazzaza
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Thanks for all the help guys; I'm settling for this lil deal:

Gigabyte Radeon HD4870 512MB
Cooler Master Elite 333
Corsair TWIN2X PC6400 DDR2 4GB KIT CL5
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83GHz 1333MHz
500GB Western Digital Caviar SE SATA II
Gigabyte GA-EP43-UD3L

+ Some cooling mb I dunno.
Will prolly buy new cd/dvd later on but atm im pretty much broke with this
Mikael_hs is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-14-2009, 03:30 AM   #20
Ricey
UI Designer
Front-End Developer
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Ricey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Winter Park, FL
Class/Position: D Eng
Gametype: CTF 9v9
Affiliations: .gr , smr
Posts Rated Helpful 46 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikael_hs View Post
Thanks for all the help guys; I'm settling for this lil deal:

Gigabyte Radeon HD4870 512MB
Cooler Master Elite 333
Corsair TWIN2X PC6400 DDR2 4GB KIT CL5
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83GHz 1333MHz
500GB Western Digital Caviar SE SATA II
Gigabyte GA-EP43-UD3L

+ Some cooling mb I dunno.
Will prolly buy new cd/dvd later on but atm im pretty much broke with this
ONLY 500GB?!?! Come on, this isnt 2004! *Has 6TB*
__________________
Support FF:
Maps : Haste |Scrummage |Mulch_Trench
Voltage | Exchange Classic | Fortsake
ricecakes: I demand SGs get a buff
squeek.: buy it a gym membership


'I have an eye for design' - Kube 2014
Ricey is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.