Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Community > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-25-2011, 04:25 PM   #1
Agent Buckshot Moose
Wiki Standards Team
Wiki Team
 
Agent Buckshot Moose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Geokill's closet
Class/Position: Sniper/Demoman
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: :e0: Co-leader
Posts Rated Helpful 6 Times
Bulletproof Ropes and Freezing Fog

ff_monkey: Allow projectiles to go through the ropes on the bridge (not the pillars that hold the ropes).

ff_dropdown: Reduce the fog somewhat so that you can actually see what's coming out of the battlements...

y/n?
Agent Buckshot Moose is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-25-2011, 08:11 PM   #2
WiFiDi
Beta Tester
 
WiFiDi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Class/Position: Soldier
Gametype: Capture the Flag is there any other
Posts Rated Helpful 26 Times
i like this idea. the ropes anyways.
__________________
WiFi's Stream
Support FF:
Failure is always an option.
It's a happy massacre?! (yes, yes it is!)
To make most awesome thing in universe combine Bears and Nicholas Cage!
and remember kids, we didn't start the flame-war!

Last edited by WiFiDi; 10-25-2011 at 08:11 PM.
WiFiDi is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-26-2011, 01:05 AM   #3
Iggy
Heartless Threadkiller
Beta Tester
Forum Moderator
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Class/Position: D-Solly / O-Medic
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: [AE] AssEaters
Posts Rated Helpful 42 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent Buckshot Moose View Post
ff_monkey: Allow projectiles to go through the ropes on the bridge (not the pillars that hold the ropes).

ff_dropdown: Reduce the fog somewhat so that you can actually see what's coming out of the battlements...

y/n?
You might want to check your video settings on the last one, I have no problem seeing the enemy battlements while standing on mine.

As for the first idea, I like it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by zSilver_Fox
See kids? Only Iggy and FT are good enough to post when high.
Publishers Website My book on BN.com My book on Amazon.com

Friend me on Facebook
Follow me on Twitter
Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-26-2011, 02:35 AM   #4
Agent Buckshot Moose
Wiki Standards Team
Wiki Team
 
Agent Buckshot Moose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Geokill's closet
Class/Position: Sniper/Demoman
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: :e0: Co-leader
Posts Rated Helpful 6 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iggy View Post
You might want to check your video settings on the last one, I have no problem seeing the enemy battlements while standing on mine.

As for the first idea, I like it.
Well you can see what's coming out once they're near the edge. But if people are further back inside I can't see them. Video settings are all maxed out and the game runs with ~200-300 FPS. It's a rather annoying issue I have with dropdown. Maybe it was made that way on purpose.
Agent Buckshot Moose is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-26-2011, 02:14 PM   #5
Drakonal
007
Beta Tester
 
Drakonal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Class/Position: Spy/Engy
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 6 Times
Could be wrong but i think the map settings are specific to that fog, so if your playing sniper you have to expose yourself a bit to shoot anyone.
Drakonal is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-26-2011, 02:20 PM   #6
Agent Buckshot Moose
Wiki Standards Team
Wiki Team
 
Agent Buckshot Moose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Geokill's closet
Class/Position: Sniper/Demoman
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: :e0: Co-leader
Posts Rated Helpful 6 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drakonal View Post
Could be wrong but i think the map settings are specific to that fog, so if your playing sniper you have to expose yourself a bit to shoot anyone.
They are specific to that map. And sniping is indeed where that frustration comes from. I think the main problem is that on lower graphics settings the fog apparently does not show up. I know this happens in similar cases on other maps. I remember people complaining about spy invisibility being useless on lower settings back when spies were still semi-visible while cloaked. This gives a rather large advantage to people with crappy systems!

When sniping on Dropdown I have to sometimes spam shots at random places to see if the damage indicator says if someone is there.
Agent Buckshot Moose is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-21-2012, 05:29 AM   #7
Sh4x
Retired FF Staff
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent Buckshot Moose View Post
Well you can see what's coming out once they're near the edge. But if people are further back inside I can't see them. Video settings are all maxed out and the game runs with ~200-300 FPS. It's a rather annoying issue I have with dropdown. Maybe it was made that way on purpose.
Was made that way at the time as to help with FPS.
Sh4x is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-22-2012, 12:51 AM   #8
Dexter
internet user
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dexter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 42 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sh4x View Post
Was made that way at the time as to help with FPS.
hey man how's it going?
__________________
9:17 PM - DEXTER: can you teach me how to play o
9:17 PM - squeek.: you jump a lot
9:18 PM - squeek.: and do sweet moves

8:55 PM - FDA: fart in you fridge and blame it on wild animals
Dexter is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.