Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Off Topic > Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-03-2010, 10:30 PM   #1
Mooga
Colorless FTW
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
Mooga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: A Small Box
Affiliations: SRCDS.com
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Built Mooga('s Friend) a NEW PC!

Hey, So I'm helping a buddy build a new PC and I'm very very rusty with i7s and memory channels and such.

He would like an i7 with at least 6GB of ram. I personally like nvidia, but would be open to going ATI if it's better off. The PC is for gaming. No Sound card required.

Budget for JUST the system (no OS or Screen): ~$1,000 (USD) Up to 1,200 is ok if required.
__________________
~ Mooga ...w00t?
SRCDS.com | Twitter
Mooga is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-04-2010, 07:07 AM   #2
cjeshjoir™
1-800-UNAGIPOWA
 
cjeshjoir™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: California, USA
Gametype: AvD, Spirit of TFC
Affiliations: ™.AvD
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Send a message via AIM to cjeshjoir™ Send a message via Skype™ to cjeshjoir™
Do they plan on Crossfire or SLI?

Also you in the USA?

EDIT: Heres a list for $942 at time of posting.

http://secure.newegg.com/WishList/Pu...umber=11934251

have personally used the ram, case, and hd on builds
__________________

" In my opinion the testing team isn't really made for or of public players, it's made for competative players... " ¹ -Scuzzy (post# 462713)

Last edited by cjeshjoir™; 07-04-2010 at 07:26 AM.
cjeshjoir™ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-04-2010, 10:22 AM   #3
mervaka
A Very Sound Guy!
Fortress Forever Staff
 
mervaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK
Posts Rated Helpful 15 Times
is 6GB ram superfluous or standard these days?
mervaka is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-04-2010, 03:22 PM   #4
Innoc
Hitman 2 1 Actual
 
Innoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: "Oscar Mike"
Gametype: FPS or RTS (just say NO to MMO)
Affiliations: Your Mom
Posts Rated Helpful 8 Times
Send a message via ICQ to Innoc Send a message via AIM to Innoc Send a message via MSN to Innoc Send a message via Yahoo to Innoc
Quote:
Originally Posted by mervaka View Post
is 6GB ram superfluous or standard these days?
6 allows the triple channel mode to be available for Intel platforms. Is it well worth it? (shrug)
__________________
Mooga on Obama: He can cut taxes. Actually do something useful. Punch Nancy Pelosi in the face. Just to name a few.

You eventually run out of other people's money to spend.
Innoc is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-04-2010, 05:00 PM   #5
Bridget
Banned
 
Bridget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Class/Position: Soldier
Gametype: AVD
Affiliations: TALOS
Posts Rated Helpful 5 Times
I don't understand people's obsession with buying shitloads of memory. This is especially confusing when only a fraction of the memory they install will be used. Have they not heard of quality over quantity? Have they not heard of diminishing returns? I have 2 gigs of good quality ram, and it has yet to be used in its entirety from any program or game. Unless you plan on animating for Pixar or cutting scenes for a Hollywood-style movie, it's wasted money that could be better channeled to obtaining a better video card which will actually provide you with an actual noticeable difference.

Likewise, what's with this obsession with quad-core processors? Not many of the video games or applications out there right now are utilizing more than two cores. So, essentially, you would have wasted your money, which could have instead been channeled into a product that would have given you an actual noticeable difference among all general programs instead of the occasional application or game that has support for your future-proof processor. I understand future-proofing your rig, but I don't think waiting around for everyone to implement support for a relatively redundant technology is time well spent. Again, if you're working for Pixar or George Lucas, then sure, but otherwise buy an i5 not an i7.

Last, don't buy an ATI video card with an Intel processor. Intel and Nvidia are the bread and butter. Putting an ATI video card in a rig running an Intel processor is like injecting a healthy individual with cancer. If you want ATI, then you might as well fail through and through and one-hundred percentage by building an AMD rig. You must achieve consistency here, man.
Bridget is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-04-2010, 10:32 PM   #6
Z4toichi
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
No, not many applications, or games take advantage of multiple cores, but the new architecture that is used in the new processors, which are mostly quad or hex core, blows away core 2 duo and older I7's in single core tests. Is 6GB of ram necessary? Probably not, but I am running 6GB of corsair dominator ddr3 1600 and I am very happy with the performance. I can leave shit open all over place, and I am running windows 7 ultimate 64bit and I use about half of my 6GB before games and apps. I know 7 will run just fine with 2GB, but the ram was on sale, and what does it hurt?
Z4toichi is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-05-2010, 06:28 PM   #7
Mooga
Colorless FTW
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
Mooga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: A Small Box
Affiliations: SRCDS.com
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjeshjoir View Post
Do they plan on Crossfire or SLI?

Also you in the USA?

EDIT: Heres a list for $942 at time of posting.

http://secure.newegg.com/WishList/Pu...umber=11934251

have personally used the ram, case, and hd on builds
I worry about that MoBo. It seems quite cheap.
I would like to give him the option to do SLI.
Also, the video card is slightly on the older side, DX11 would be a nice touch.
__________________
~ Mooga ...w00t?
SRCDS.com | Twitter
Mooga is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-06-2010, 01:29 PM   #8
Innoc
Hitman 2 1 Actual
 
Innoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: "Oscar Mike"
Gametype: FPS or RTS (just say NO to MMO)
Affiliations: Your Mom
Posts Rated Helpful 8 Times
Send a message via ICQ to Innoc Send a message via AIM to Innoc Send a message via MSN to Innoc Send a message via Yahoo to Innoc
Shitloads of memory does make sense. The trend for Applications is for more memory usage over time not less. As applications advance they continue to bloat and increase the amount of resources they use.

Recent example. A single session of Firefox with 8 tabs (Zillow, homefinder, county assessor's office, google maps, mls sub pages, etc) was showing just over 700 MB of consumed ram. A couple of years ago it would have been far less likely that a single session like that would be so big. Over time that will continue.

You don't design and build a system for the present snapshot in time. You try to anticipate future demand. 6 GB is not bad. I wish my laptop weren't maxed at 3 GB as I could definitely use more!
__________________
Mooga on Obama: He can cut taxes. Actually do something useful. Punch Nancy Pelosi in the face. Just to name a few.

You eventually run out of other people's money to spend.
Innoc is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-06-2010, 08:20 PM   #9
Lost
Fear teh crowbar.
Retired FF Staff
 
Lost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Oklahoma
Gametype: CTF ftw, yeh
Posts Rated Helpful 6 Times
Send a message via Yahoo to Lost
Build for tomorrow, today!

Because if you don't, you'll feel like a dumbass!
__________________
Do what you want cuz a pirate is free!

You are a pirate!
Lost is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-06-2010, 10:34 PM   #10
cjeshjoir™
1-800-UNAGIPOWA
 
cjeshjoir™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: California, USA
Gametype: AvD, Spirit of TFC
Affiliations: ™.AvD
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Send a message via AIM to cjeshjoir™ Send a message via Skype™ to cjeshjoir™
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mooga View Post
I worry about that MoBo. It seems quite cheap.
I would like to give him the option to do SLI.
Also, the video card is slightly on the older side, DX11 would be a nice touch.
Then youre not gonna be able to afford it.
__________________

" In my opinion the testing team isn't really made for or of public players, it's made for competative players... " ¹ -Scuzzy (post# 462713)
cjeshjoir™ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-06-2010, 11:08 PM   #11
Bridget
Banned
 
Bridget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Class/Position: Soldier
Gametype: AVD
Affiliations: TALOS
Posts Rated Helpful 5 Times
SLI, another redundant technology
Bridget is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-06-2010, 11:26 PM   #12
Dexter
internet user
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dexter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 42 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bridget View Post
SLI, another redundant technology
Bridget, another broke nerd
__________________
9:17 PM - DEXTER: can you teach me how to play o
9:17 PM - squeek.: you jump a lot
9:18 PM - squeek.: and do sweet moves

8:55 PM - FDA: fart in you fridge and blame it on wild animals
Dexter is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-07-2010, 12:40 AM   #13
Bridget
Banned
 
Bridget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Class/Position: Soldier
Gametype: AVD
Affiliations: TALOS
Posts Rated Helpful 5 Times
Yep
Bridget is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-09-2010, 03:36 PM   #14
Mooga
Colorless FTW
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
Mooga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: A Small Box
Affiliations: SRCDS.com
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjeshjoir View Post
Then youre not gonna be able to afford it.
That's fine, let me see what it looks like.

2 Years back now I build my Core2Quad for just over 1K. It looks like it will cost a bit more for an i7... I would rather show him over budget then give him a weak computer. He's currently playing on total shit.
__________________
~ Mooga ...w00t?
SRCDS.com | Twitter
Mooga is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-22-2010, 04:25 AM   #15
Mooga
Colorless FTW
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
Mooga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: A Small Box
Affiliations: SRCDS.com
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
How does this look?
__________________
~ Mooga ...w00t?
SRCDS.com | Twitter
Mooga is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-29-2010, 07:45 PM   #16
Dexter
internet user
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dexter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 42 Times
avoid caviar green hard drives, that greenpower shit totally messes up performance even in the middle of large operations, its super annoying. does he really need the aftermarket cooler and paste? you could save money with the oem cpu stuff. if the cpu in that package deal is oem box.

I'd personally go for some pc1600 ram over pc1066 for the price difference. but i guess that combo thing is an ok price
__________________
9:17 PM - DEXTER: can you teach me how to play o
9:17 PM - squeek.: you jump a lot
9:18 PM - squeek.: and do sweet moves

8:55 PM - FDA: fart in you fridge and blame it on wild animals

Last edited by Dexter; 07-29-2010 at 07:48 PM.
Dexter is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-29-2010, 08:28 PM   #17
Bridget
Banned
 
Bridget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Class/Position: Soldier
Gametype: AVD
Affiliations: TALOS
Posts Rated Helpful 5 Times
Carted about the same build on Newegg for $100* less.
Bridget is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.