Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Community > Tips and Tutorials

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-28-2007, 08:19 AM   #141
EquilibriuM
G9-
D&A Member
 
EquilibriuM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Class/Position: D Solly,Engy
Gametype: ALL
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Well didnt know really where to post this but since you guys pretty much the best at scripts and configs, i thought i post my Q here.
ok im using the decent fps config someone posted in the forum, but for some reason all models have this white glow to them. Someone told me changing
mat_bumpmap and mat_specular both to 0 or 1 i tried that but no result.
So maybe you guys could help me with this. Actually let me just paste what i got in my autoexec i think that will help alot more instead of me trying to explain. I think the sniper and soldier dont have the glow but all other classes do.


//Decent Looking FPS Config
//----------------------
//Email all questions or concerns to mattdelhey@comcast.net
//Re-name this config to "autoexec.cfg" to enable
clear
echo "***********************"
echo "Decent FPS Configuration v1.0 loaded"
echo "http://hosted.filefront.com/aosonic"
echo "Email any questions or concerns to mattdelhey@comcast.net"
echo "***********************"
// FPS Settings
// ----------------

//Cl_ Commands
rate "25000"
cl_cmdrate "101"
cl_drawmonitors "0"
cl_ejectbrass "0"
cl_forcepreload "0"
cl_interp "0.01"
cl_interpolate "1"
cl_lagcomp_errorcheck "1"
cl_lagcompensation "1"
cl_predictweapons "1"
cl_pred_optimize "2"
cl_phys_props_max "50"
cl_ragdoll_physics_enable "0"
cl_ragdoll_collide "0"
cl_smooth "1"
cl_smoothtime "0.01"
cl_updaterate "101"

//Mat_ commands
mat_bloomscale "0"
mat_bumpmap "0"
mat_clipz "1"
mat_colorcorrection "0"
mat_compressedtextures "1"
mat_debug_postprocessing_effects "0"
mat_debugdepthmode "0"
mat_debugdepthval "128"
mat_debugdepthvalmax "256"
mat_disable_bloom "1"
mat_filterlightmaps "0"
mat_forcehardwaresync "0"
mat_hdr_enabled "0"
mat_parallaxmap "0"
mat_picmip "0"
mat_reducefillrate "1"
mat_specular "0"
mat_vsync "0"
mat_antialias "0"
mat_monitorgamma "1.6"
mat_texture_limit "-1"
mat_fastnobump "1"
mat_fastspecular "1"
mat_forceaniso "0"
mat_trilinear "1"


//R_ Commands
r_fastzreject "1"
r_decals "300"
r_decal_cullsize "0"
r_dopixelvisibility "0"
r_drawbatchdecals "0"
r_drawflecks "0"
r_drawmodeldecals "0"
r_dynamic "0"
r_eyes "0"
r_flex "0"
r_lightaverage "1"
r_lod "0"
r_maxdlights "32"
r_occlusion "1"
r_renderoverlayfragment "0"
r_rootlod "1"
r_shadows "1"
r_shadowmaxrendered "1"
r_shadowrendertotexture "1"
r_teeth "0"
r_waterforceexpensive "0"
r_waterdrawreflection "0"
r_worldlights "2"
r_worldlightmin "0.0002"
r_3dnow "1"
r_mmx "1"
r_sse "1"
r_sse2 "1"
r_3dsky 0
//Rope_
rope_averagelight "0"
rope_collide "0"
rope_shake "0"
rope_smooth "0"
rope_smooth_minwidth "0"
rope_smooth_minalpha "0"
rope_smooth_maxalphawidth "0"
rope_smooth_maxalpha "0"
rope_smooth_enlarge "0"
rope_subdiv "0"
rope_wind_dist "0.01"

//Miscellaneous
fps_max "101"
func_break_max_pieces "0"
gl_clear "1"
jpeg_quality "100"
mp_decals "300"
net_showevents "0"
props_break_max_pieces "0"
props_break_max_pieces_perframe "0"
snd_flushasync
texture_budget_background_alpha "999
texture_budget_panel_height "0"
texture_budget_panel_width "0"
voice_enable "1"
voice_scale "1"
voice_modenable "1"
violence_agibs "1"
violence_hgibs "1"
violence_hblood "1"
violence_ablood "1"

Also i made both autoexec and config.cfg read only.
__________________
EquilibriuM is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-28-2007, 08:27 AM   #142
pF
no war but class war
Fortress Forever Staff
 
pF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: big bad berlin
Class/Position: Soldier / Scout
Gametype: ctf
Affiliations: [w~k!]
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
hi soulja - have you tried changing around your dxlevels? add "-dxlevel 70", "80", "81" (which i'm currently using), or "90" to the launch options in the game's properties. That'll change the directx level fortress forever will use. I seem to vaguely remember the white glow in conjunction with dxlevel 70, but it might just be my imagination..
pF is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-28-2007, 11:10 AM   #143
DarK_TaO
Mapper ^^
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: yes (:
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Send a message via ICQ to DarK_TaO Send a message via MSN to DarK_TaO
Sorry, I Can't help you with that, I don't understand FF settings very well ATM. Haven't tryed CMDS 1 by 1.
DarK_TaO is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-28-2007, 07:24 PM   #144
Dr.Satan
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dr.Satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Class/Position: Med / Solly
Gametype: PAYLOAD
Affiliations: DET-
Posts Rated Helpful 19 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by -pF-
I'd be interested in menu scripting.. the radial selection thing for spies and engies is a nice idea, but i prefer the simple [1. - n.] menues of old!
Sorry I hadn't posted this yet, but I was out of town for a few days...here is one I currently use for sabotaging...but I can whip one out for you if you have a specific request...

Code:
//     --------
//---- Sabotage ----
//     --------

alias sab_1 "sentrysabotage"
alias sab_2 "dispensersabotage"

alias sabsg "sab_1; wait; default; wait; speak vox/female/s.g."
alias sabdis "sab_2; wait; default; wait; speak vox/female/dispenser"
alias sabboth "sab_1; wait; sab_2; wait; default; wait; speak vox/female/both"

alias sabmenu "bind 1 sabsg; wait; echo 1) Sabotage SG; wait; bind 2 
sabdis; wait; echo 2) Sabotage Dispenser; wait; bind 3 sabboth; wait; echo 
3) Sabotage Both; wait; bind 0 default; wait; echo 0) Defaults"

bind ctrl "sabmenu"
How it works:

When you hit ctrl it will rebind keys 1, 2, and 3 as follows:

1 = Sabotage SG and rebind keys (back to defaults)
2 = Sabotage Disp. and rebind
3 = Sabotage All / Both and rebind
0 = Rebind to default (fail safe it you accidently hit the wrong key)

You will also want to put this in your autoexec.cfg

Code:
//     -------
//---- Default ----
//     -------
alias d_1 "wait;bind 1 slot1"
alias d_2 "wait;bind 2 slot2"
alias d_3 "wait;bind 3 slot3"
alias d_4 "wait;bind 4 slot4"
alias d_5 "wait;bind 5 slot5"
alias d_6 "wait;bind 6 slot6"
alias default "wait;d_1;wait;d_2;wait;d_3;wait;d_4;wait;d_5;wait;d_6"
Currently this is the closest we can get to the old way of things...and there is the problem that it won't show up on screen what your binds are.

I have it set now to echo them in consol so if you get confused you can hit your console and it will be shown in there (time consuming, but you generally memorize them fairly quickly)

I remember somewhere someone suggesting a messageme mode or say_me mode where you could send yourself chat messages to compensate for the loss of echo and such, but until DrEvil gets a bit and codes it in we're all pretty much SOL.

~hope it helps
__________________
(Released) conc_school | hellion_classic | ksour_PAYLOAD | mulch_faf
(Beta) alchimy_b1
(Lua) base_payload_2015
(Models) props_trainyard
Support FF:
Dr.Satan is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-28-2007, 07:30 PM   #145
Dr.Satan
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dr.Satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Class/Position: Med / Solly
Gametype: PAYLOAD
Affiliations: DET-
Posts Rated Helpful 19 Times
Zero...I'm not really sure which command would be doing it...pretty much going to have to just tinker with it for a bit to see if you can figure it out.

I know most of those commands, but I'm not sure why they would be giving you the white glow...

Also have you tried emailing the creator:

"Email any questions or concerns to mattdelhey@comcast.net"

~ I know that's kind of a half asses answer, and if I get the time I will try to look into it, but it may take me a bit so you might want to try that in the meantime!
__________________
(Released) conc_school | hellion_classic | ksour_PAYLOAD | mulch_faf
(Beta) alchimy_b1
(Lua) base_payload_2015
(Models) props_trainyard
Support FF:
Dr.Satan is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-29-2007, 12:23 AM   #146
EquilibriuM
G9-
D&A Member
 
EquilibriuM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Class/Position: D Solly,Engy
Gametype: ALL
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
yes i e-mailed him he never responded. and i tried tinkering with th settings but no luck :\ thx for trying doc if you do decide to look into it a bit that be nice ill keep checking back
__________________
EquilibriuM is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-29-2007, 12:26 AM   #147
pF
no war but class war
Fortress Forever Staff
 
pF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: big bad berlin
Class/Position: Soldier / Scout
Gametype: ctf
Affiliations: [w~k!]
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
Dr.Satan: Thanks a lot, i'll play around with this as soon as i find the time - again, much appreciated.


Soulja: from my own experience trying to squeeze out more fps, it had to be a combo of specular/bumpmap and possibly dxlevel. i had that strange whitish glow on one occasion as well, so i'm pretty sure you can fix it messing around with these settings. I don't have much time over the next few days, but i'll try messing around with my settings to reproduce it.

Alternatively, i could send you my autoexec.cfg if you're interested (it's based off of the same FPS cfg from the forums here)
pF is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-29-2007, 12:29 AM   #148
EquilibriuM
G9-
D&A Member
 
EquilibriuM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Class/Position: D Solly,Engy
Gametype: ALL
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
ahh thx pf i willl give yours a go my friend uses it to but only what he needed he put in the autoexec to get betetr fps rly so yea paste me it and ill try it im using dx8
__________________
EquilibriuM is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-29-2007, 08:01 AM   #149
pF
no war but class war
Fortress Forever Staff
 
pF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: big bad berlin
Class/Position: Soldier / Scout
Gametype: ctf
Affiliations: [w~k!]
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
Ok here goes. It's kinda messy and to be quite honest, i don't know what half of the commands do..

Code:
//Decent Looking FPS Config
//----------------------
//Email all questions or concerns to mattdelhey@comcast.net
//Re-name this config to "autoexec.cfg" to enable

clear
echo "***********************"
echo "Decent FPS Configuration v1.0 loaded"
echo "http://hosted.filefront.com/aosonic"
echo "Email any questions or concerns to mattdelhey@comcast.net" 
echo "***********************"

// FPS Settings
// ----------------

    
//Cl_ Commands

rate "25000"
cl_cmdrate "101"            // Must be set to 100/101
cl_drawmonitors "0"            // changeable
cl_ejectbrass "0"            // changeable
cl_effectdetail "1"
cl_forcepreload "1"            // Preloads data while loading map
cl_interp "0.01"            // Must be set to .01
cl_interpolate "1"            // Must be set to 1
cl_lagcomp_errorcheck "1"        // changeable
cl_lagcompensation "1"            // changeable
cl_predictweapons "1"            // changeable
cl_pred_optimize "2"            // changeable
cl_phys_props_enable 0		// disables some physics stuff!
cl_phys_props_max "50"            // Must be set to 50+
cl_ragdoll_physics_enable "0"        // changeable
cl_ragdoll_collide "0"            // changeable
cl_smooth "0"                // changeable
cl_smoothtime "0.01"            // changeable
cl_updaterate "101"            // Must be set to 100/101
cl_cmprogresstime "0.5"
cl_showfps "2"

//Mat_ commands

mat_bloomscale "0"            // changeable
mat_bumpmap "1"                // changeable
mat_clipz "1"                // changeable
mat_colorcorrection "0"            // changeable
mat_compressedtextures "1"        // changeable
mat_debug_postprocessing_effects "0"    // Must be set to 0
mat_debugdepthmode "0"            // Must be set to 0
mat_debugdepthval "128"            // Must be set to 128
mat_debugdepthvalmax "256"        // Must be set to 256
mat_disable_bloom "1"            // changeable
mat_filterlightmaps "0"            // changeable
mat_forcehardwaresync "0"        // changeable
mat_hdr_enabled "0"            // changeable
mat_parallaxmap "0"            // changeable
mat_picmip "0"                // Must not be higher than 2
mat_reducefillrate "1"            // changeable
mat_specular "1"            // changeable
mat_vsync "0"                // changeable
mat_antialias "0"
mat_monitorgamma "1.8"
mat_texture_limit "-1"
mat_fastnobump "1"
mat_fastspecular "1"
mat_forceaniso "2"
mat_trilinear "0"
mat_mipmaptextures "0"		// Textures worsen with distance
mat_vsync "1" 


//R_ Commands

r_fastzreject "1"
r_decals "50"                // changeable
r_decal_cullsize "0"            // changeable
r_dopixelvisibility "0"            // changeable
r_drawbatchdecals "0"            // changeable
r_drawflecks "0"            // changeable
r_drawmodeldecals "0"            // changeable
r_dynamic "1"                // changeable
r_eyes "0"                // changeable
r_flex "0"                // changeable
r_lightaverage "1"            // Must be set to 1
r_lod "0"                // Must be set to -1/0/1/2
r_maxdlights "32"            // Must be set to 32
r_occlusion "0"                // changeable
r_renderoverlayfragment "1"        // changeable
r_rootlod "1"                // Must be set to 0/1/2
r_shadows "1"                // changeable
r_shadowmaxrendered "1"            // changeable
r_shadowrendertotexture "0"        // changeable
r_teeth "0"                // changeable
r_waterforceexpensive "0"        // changeable
r_waterdrawreflection "0"        // changeable
r_worldlights "2"            // Must be set to 2
r_worldlightmin "0.0002"        // Must be set to .0002

r_3dnow "1"                // changeable
r_mmx "1"                // changeable
r_sse "1"                // changeable
r_sse2 "1"                // changeable
r_3dsky 0                // changeable

//Rope_

rope_averagelight "0"            // changeable
rope_collide "0"            // changeable
rope_shake "0"                // changeable
rope_smooth "0"                // changeable
rope_smooth_minwidth "0"        // changeable
rope_smooth_minalpha "0"        // changeable
rope_smooth_maxalphawidth "0"        // changeable
rope_smooth_maxalpha "0"        // changeable
rope_smooth_enlarge "0"            // changeable
rope_subdiv "0"                // changeable
rope_wind_dist "0.01"            // changeable


//Miscellaneous

fps_max "101"                // Caps fps
func_break_max_pieces "3"        // changeable
gl_clear "1"                // Must be set to 1
jpeg_quality "100"            // Must be set to 100
mp_decals "50"                // changeable
net_showevents "0"            // Must be set to 0
props_break_max_pieces "0"        // changeable
props_break_max_pieces_perframe "0"    // changeable
snd_flushasync                
texture_budget_background_alpha "999    // changeable
texture_budget_panel_height "0"        // changeable
texture_budget_panel_width "0"        // changeable
violence_agibs "1"            // changeable
violence_hgibs "1"            // changeable
violence_hblood "1"            // changeable
violence_ablood "1"            // changeable
ragdoll_sleepaftertime "0.2f"
fog_enable_water_fog "0" 		// disables water fog
lod_Enable "1"			//


//Sound

dsp_off "1"		// If set to 1, disables audio DSP (Digital Signal Processing) in Half Life 2. This may improve performance, but will reduce the richness of audio effects.
dsp_enhance_stereo "0"		// If set to 1 enhances the stereo effect, making sound richer and more atmospheric for a slight performance hit.
dsp_slow_cpu "1"		// If set to 1, reduces the quality of dsp sound effects, improving performance on systems with slower CPUs.
This is a slighty "boosted" version of the config you're using, so this might result in a drop in fps. I have an Athlon XP 2400+, 1 gig of ram, and a 256mb Geforce 6200, and I average at around 40 - 50 fps, though the open areas of aardvark, for instance, do push it down somewhat.

To "downgrade" this, try playing around with:
  • mat_picmip (texture quality)
  • r_lod (model detail)
  • mat_forceaniso (anisotropic filtering)
  • various r_shadow* settings (shadow settings)
  • mat_specular & mat_bumpmap (both set either to 1 or 0)

Most of them should be changeable in-game via console, so you can take a look around and see how they affect things.

If anybody has comments on the cvars/settings, they'd certainly be appreciated. My insight into what most of them actually do is pretty diffuse.

Oh, and my launch properties of FF in Steam is this:

-console -noforcemspd -noforcemparms -noforcemaccel -heapsize 512000 -dxlevel 81 +exec autoexec.cfg

(adjust heapsize to half of your system ram)


Write back on how it went!
pF is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-06-2008, 05:42 PM   #150
Handym
I got some bread, bitch
 
Handym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Send a message via MSN to Handym Send a message via Skype™ to Handym
I need a script where you attack with your held weapon, then scloak immedeatly after.. I tried Hammocks script, it didn't work.
Handym is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-06-2008, 05:47 PM   #151
Dr.Satan
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dr.Satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Class/Position: Med / Solly
Gametype: PAYLOAD
Affiliations: DET-
Posts Rated Helpful 19 Times
Code:
alias +stab "+attack"
alias -stab "-attack; wait; scloak"
bind g "+stab"
enjoy!
__________________
(Released) conc_school | hellion_classic | ksour_PAYLOAD | mulch_faf
(Beta) alchimy_b1
(Lua) base_payload_2015
(Models) props_trainyard
Support FF:
Dr.Satan is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-07-2008, 12:19 PM   #152
Handym
I got some bread, bitch
 
Handym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Send a message via MSN to Handym Send a message via Skype™ to Handym
This actually works, thanks a lot Satan!
Handym is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-07-2008, 03:23 PM   #153
Dr.Satan
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dr.Satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Class/Position: Med / Solly
Gametype: PAYLOAD
Affiliations: DET-
Posts Rated Helpful 19 Times
np man...I made it for my spy.cfg a while back so it was just a copy and paste job!
__________________
(Released) conc_school | hellion_classic | ksour_PAYLOAD | mulch_faf
(Beta) alchimy_b1
(Lua) base_payload_2015
(Models) props_trainyard
Support FF:
Dr.Satan is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-08-2008, 09:35 PM   #154
Handym
I got some bread, bitch
 
Handym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Send a message via MSN to Handym Send a message via Skype™ to Handym
Yea well, stabbing someone while cloaked, then immedeatly recloaking in the matter of a split second really is awesome.
Handym is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-08-2008, 09:43 PM   #155
Dr.Satan
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dr.Satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Class/Position: Med / Solly
Gametype: PAYLOAD
Affiliations: DET-
Posts Rated Helpful 19 Times
yeah...I actually tend to use it more for the traq...cause when I stab someone with a back stab and it's successful I've found I die more often if I cloak immediately then if I just stand there like nothing happened (cause you steal their skin / disguise).
__________________
(Released) conc_school | hellion_classic | ksour_PAYLOAD | mulch_faf
(Beta) alchimy_b1
(Lua) base_payload_2015
(Models) props_trainyard
Support FF:
Dr.Satan is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 06-06-2008, 12:56 PM   #156
Handym
I got some bread, bitch
 
Handym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Send a message via MSN to Handym Send a message via Skype™ to Handym
BUMP. I wonder if this is possible: A script for the classes with both shotguns..
When bound key is pressed, you fire your super shotgun, then switch to normal shotgun, then switch to super shotgun, then switch to normal, et cetera. Can it be done via scripting?
Handym is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 06-06-2008, 06:31 PM   #157
zE
Pew pew ze beams
 
zE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Gametype: Gathers
Affiliations: pew pew
Posts Rated Helpful 11 Times
Example of classes.cfg

echo SNIPER CFG LOADED

alias sniperg "slot2; bind MOUSE4 ar"
alias ar "slot3; bind MOUSE4 sniperg"
bind "MOUSE4" "sniperg"
bind "MOUSE5" "slot4"

echo ENGINEER CFG LOADED

alias gpipe "slot3; bind MOUSE4 bpipe"
alias bpipe "slot1; bind MOUSE4 gpipe"
bind MOUSE4 gpipe
bind "MOUSE5" "slot2"

and in CFG i use bind "MOUSE4" "rpg"

not sure if its right :P

i use mouse 4 to change between my prefered 2 weapons of each class and mouse 5 to use the less powerfull weapon, for when i run out of reload.

Last edited by zE; 06-06-2008 at 06:39 PM.
zE is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 06-06-2008, 08:12 PM   #158
Jester
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Jester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Class/Position: O: Scout
Affiliations: {NFO} - New Family Order
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
zE why does your engineer have blue pipes and green pipes? HACKER!

Handym please describe what you want more clearly.
Jester is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 06-06-2008, 09:37 PM   #159
zE
Pew pew ze beams
 
zE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Gametype: Gathers
Affiliations: pew pew
Posts Rated Helpful 11 Times
lolz h4x indeed^^ prolly forget to change the name of it, but still works
zE is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 06-07-2008, 10:24 PM   #160
Handym
I got some bread, bitch
 
Handym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Send a message via MSN to Handym Send a message via Skype™ to Handym
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jester
Handym please describe what you want more clearly.
I'll try to. I wanted it so that when bound key is held, you fire your super shotgun, then switch to normal shotgun, fire that, switch to super again, fire that, so you fire one shot from one gun, then quickly switch to the other, and fire that. When you release, it stops and switches back to primary weapon, depending on class.
Handym is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.