Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Off Topic > Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2010, 06:50 AM   #1
Mooga
Colorless FTW
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
Mooga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: A Small Box
Affiliations: SRCDS.com
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Win7 Home to Pro

So I have a laptop coming in tomorrow.
It comes with Windows 7 Home Premium. However, I have a student version of Windows 7 Pro I want to upgrade too.

Can I cleanly upgrade from home to pro with a disk? Or is it better to do a fresh install. I normally don't mind a fresh install, but I'm not sure how Asus is with Driver Support... and I don't want to have to deal with Driver Hell only 2 days before I leave with my laptop and move for the summer.

Recommendations?
__________________
~ Mooga ...w00t?
SRCDS.com | Twitter
Mooga is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 06-10-2010, 06:58 AM   #2
Mooga
Colorless FTW
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
Mooga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: A Small Box
Affiliations: SRCDS.com
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
A little research seems to show that I can't upgrade with the disk :-\
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l...8WS.10%29.aspx
__________________
~ Mooga ...w00t?
SRCDS.com | Twitter
Mooga is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 06-10-2010, 07:01 AM   #3
Pixel
if(0>1){printf("broked");}
Beta Tester
 
Pixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Amerika
Class/Position: O
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
The page says you can....

Home Basic ---> Home Premium, Professional, Ultimate
Home Premium ---> Professional, Ultimate

Also, I've done it.

My laptop had vista home basic which was only upgradable to windows 7 home basic, so I temporary installed win7 home (without a key) and then upgraded to pro with anytime upgrade. (Had gotten win7 pro through MSDNA)

Last edited by Pixel; 06-10-2010 at 07:15 AM.
Pixel is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 06-10-2010, 07:23 AM   #4
Mooga
Colorless FTW
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
Mooga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: A Small Box
Affiliations: SRCDS.com
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Thanks Pixel, I'll give it a try then!
__________________
~ Mooga ...w00t?
SRCDS.com | Twitter
Mooga is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 06-10-2010, 07:03 PM   #5
Anshinritsumai
_o
 
Anshinritsumai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: 127.0.0.1
Class/Position: Medic & Engy
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: DM, OC, -[CfH]-
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
You should be able to.

afaik, Windows 7 comes with all the features of Ultimate on the disk, and the key obviously just locks you out of what you can and cannot use. So upgrading it shouldn't even require a format / OS upgrade (in the traditional sense).
__________________
Anshinritsumai is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 06-11-2010, 07:02 AM   #6
Mooga
Colorless FTW
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
Mooga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: A Small Box
Affiliations: SRCDS.com
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Yup! Worked without a hitch!
__________________
~ Mooga ...w00t?
SRCDS.com | Twitter
Mooga is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
driver hell, windows 7


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.