Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Off Topic > Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2008, 08:47 AM   #1
s0undch4s3r
The guy you love to hate.
 
s0undch4s3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Under your bed
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
POST YOUR 3DMark05 Benchmarks and system specs.

The cost of building a good rig these days is surprisingly cheap.
RAM is very cheap.



System:

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ (Socket AM2) OCed @ 3315 MHz

MOBO: Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 ...should have bought the ASUS Crosshair.
That will be soon when Bush gives me my TAX refund.
PCIE 2.0 FTW...my link width is x8 for the SLI. major suckage.


MEMORY: Supertalent PC2-6400 (2x 2gig)
Type: DDR2
Size: 4096 MBytes
DRAM Frequency 414.4 Mhz
Should have bought Crucial Tracers...much better memory.

Graphics Cards: nVidia SLI Enabled (2 GPU's) EVGA 8800GT superclocked 650/1620/950(1900)

If I had to do it over again it would be an ASUS Crossfire, Intel dual core, 2X ATI 3870 machine with Crucial Tracer RAM.
Those friggin Intel dual cores can OC well over 4 GHz on air cooling.


-----------------------------------------------------------------
Source SDK Stress TEST at 1680 X 1050


My FPS at some points went well above 300. fps_max 1000 will break the 300 fps capping point.

-------------------------------------------------------------------
my 3DMark06 score.
NEW SCORE:

OLD SCORE

Last edited by s0undch4s3r; 04-03-2008 at 01:45 PM.
s0undch4s3r is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-01-2008, 10:16 AM   #2
Paft
Beta Tester
 
Paft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK - http://forums.fortress-forever.com
Class/Position: [O] Med
Gametype: CTF/Skills
Posts Rated Helpful 67 Times
Pfff "cheap". Nothing is cheap.
Paft is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-01-2008, 11:49 AM   #3
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
Annoying people since 1986
 
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Belgium a.k.a. absurdistan
Class/Position: O fatty, pyro - D engy, pyro
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: This space for rent.
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Send a message via MSN to פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
I'll post once I get my 8800GT, but it seems to be stuck somwhere in china...
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-01-2008, 01:21 PM   #4
s0undch4s3r
The guy you love to hate.
 
s0undch4s3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Under your bed
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Here's the link to download 3dmark05.

Try it out...see what kinda score you get.

http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=874
s0undch4s3r is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-01-2008, 02:15 PM   #5
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
Annoying people since 1986
 
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Belgium a.k.a. absurdistan
Class/Position: O fatty, pyro - D engy, pyro
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: This space for rent.
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Send a message via MSN to פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
I got the 06 methinks, but I'll have to go trough piles of CD-ROMS.
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-01-2008, 07:31 PM   #6
s0undch4s3r
The guy you love to hate.
 
s0undch4s3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Under your bed
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
I got the 06 methinks, but I'll have to go trough piles of CD-ROMS.
Sure..we could do 06...scores will be lower than 3DMark05.

Last edited by s0undch4s3r; 04-02-2008 at 03:34 PM.
s0undch4s3r is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-01-2008, 07:32 PM   #7
uBeR
Not ****** Yet
D&A Member
 
uBeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
We have this in the tech forum.
__________________
OCCUPATION 101.

One would think a simple task would be, well, simple. Maybe not for simpletons.
uBeR is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-01-2008, 10:48 PM   #8
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
Annoying people since 1986
 
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Belgium a.k.a. absurdistan
Class/Position: O fatty, pyro - D engy, pyro
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: This space for rent.
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Send a message via MSN to פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
Quote:
Originally Posted by s0undch4s3r
Sure..we could do 06...scores will be lower.
Just wait for 3 days, then I'm back on broadband so I can download 05.
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-02-2008, 01:35 PM   #9
s0undch4s3r
The guy you love to hate.
 
s0undch4s3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Under your bed
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Come on PEEPS....post your marks.
doesn't matter if your score is lower or higher than mine.
It's all good.

I'd like to see what a Pentium II can do on 3DMark05...lol
Anybody got one?

Last edited by s0undch4s3r; 04-02-2008 at 03:41 PM.
s0undch4s3r is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-02-2008, 03:59 PM   #10
Zatoichi
 
Zatoichi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Upstate New York
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
id liek too but im running vista..05 no worky for vista. but on 06 i got right around 12000
im going to get a crack for it so i can raise the res a bit and see if my score improves.
Zatoichi is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-02-2008, 07:31 PM   #11
s0undch4s3r
The guy you love to hate.
 
s0undch4s3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Under your bed
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zatoichi
id liek too but im running vista..05 no worky for vista. but on 06 i got right around 12000
im going to get a crack for it so i can raise the res a bit and see if my score improves.
you have the intel duo core right?
s0undch4s3r is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-02-2008, 11:14 PM   #12
Zatoichi
 
Zatoichi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Upstate New York
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
yeah im using an 6320 with 4mb L2 over clocked to 2.83ghz on a 1600mhz fsb 1.393V
at the time of the test i only had 2 gb of crucial ballistix 44412 standard clock, but my other 2 jsut came back from RMA.
8800gtx stock clocked for now..i have to uninstall ntune cause it resets everything after a restart,,even if i save it as a profile and set it to load on startup
2 75gb raptors raid 0
sb live audigy2 gamer.

i may try to go higher wit hthe cpu cause i idle anywhere from 78-85 deg F and at 100% load i stay under 100.
im using an arctic cooler 7 cooler and 4 NMB 120MM server fans in a modded dell poweredge 2300 case

oh i just saw your 06 score..odd that we score about the same, but i run the source stress test at 1600X1200 and i get around 185FPS average everything set the same except i have antialiasing set to 4x

Last edited by Zatoichi; 04-02-2008 at 11:26 PM.
Zatoichi is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-03-2008, 12:17 AM   #13
Mooga
Colorless FTW
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
Mooga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: A Small Box
Affiliations: SRCDS.com
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
I'm going to run it on my POS laptop!
w00t!
__________________
~ Mooga ...w00t?
SRCDS.com | Twitter
Mooga is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-03-2008, 01:31 AM   #14
Mooga
Colorless FTW
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
Mooga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: A Small Box
Affiliations: SRCDS.com
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
My computer can'y run any of the tests, LOL!
It's not suported
__________________
~ Mooga ...w00t?
SRCDS.com | Twitter
Mooga is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-03-2008, 07:55 AM   #15
s0undch4s3r
The guy you love to hate.
 
s0undch4s3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Under your bed
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zatoichi
yeah im using an 6320 with 4mb L2 over clocked to 2.83ghz on a 1600mhz fsb 1.393V
at the time of the test i only had 2 gb of crucial ballistix 44412 standard clock, but my other 2 jsut came back from RMA.
8800gtx stock clocked for now..i have to uninstall ntune cause it resets everything after a restart,,even if i save it as a profile and set it to load on startup
2 75gb raptors raid 0
sb live audigy2 gamer.

i may try to go higher wit hthe cpu cause i idle anywhere from 78-85 deg F and at 100% load i stay under 100.
im using an arctic cooler 7 cooler and 4 NMB 120MM server fans in a modded dell poweredge 2300 case

oh i just saw your 06 score..odd that we score about the same, but i run the source stress test at 1600X1200 and i get around 185FPS average everything set the same except i have antialiasing set to 4x
sounds like a nice system you got. that 8800GTX is a sweet powerhouse card. A bit too expensive for me.
What is your CPU score on 3DMark06?

Are the 4 NMB 120MM server fans loud?

both my 8800GT's stay cool at 47 C at idle. I have a Soldering Fan blowing into the case next to the Hard Drives. I keep the case side off since the Soldering fan blows enough air throughout the case to keep everything quite cool. It is a bit noisy but does the job very well.
s0undch4s3r is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-03-2008, 06:10 PM   #16
Zatoichi
 
Zatoichi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Upstate New York
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
ill have to run it again, cause i forgot to save it(and i wanna try to hit 3ghz) but here is a link to the fans http://www.cwc-group.com/nmb4712cofan.html
im not sure how many decibels they are each but id say 4 of them are just below normal conversation level. maybe 65db

EDIT** my bad those are the work station ones..similar specs though.
Zatoichi is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-03-2008, 11:36 PM   #17
Zatoichi
 
Zatoichi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Upstate New York
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
@2722 mhz i scored 2384 on the cpu section. ill have to try 3ghz another day, just been too busy.
Zatoichi is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-04-2008, 11:31 AM   #18
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
Annoying people since 1986
 
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Belgium a.k.a. absurdistan
Class/Position: O fatty, pyro - D engy, pyro
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: This space for rent.
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Send a message via MSN to פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mooga
My computer can'y run any of the tests, LOL!
It's not suported
LOL

Funny Fail.
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-05-2008, 12:44 AM   #19
Dospac
Retired FF Staff
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Send a message via ICQ to Dospac Send a message via AIM to Dospac Send a message via MSN to Dospac Send a message via Yahoo to Dospac
15730 in 3dm06
345fps in Source SDK Stress Test w/your settings and res. Your result was quite low..

Don't feel like installing 3dm05 to see what I get there.


Asus P5E | Q6600 @ 3GHz | ZEROtherm Nirvana | 4GB OCZ DDR2@800MHz
Sapphire 3870x2 | Samsung 226BW | Vista x64 Ult
150GB Raptor | 500GB Seagate.11 | 20X DVD-RW
Antec P182 Black | Cooler Master 850w | X-Fi Pro
Dospac is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-07-2008, 09:56 AM   #20
s0undch4s3r
The guy you love to hate.
 
s0undch4s3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Under your bed
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dospac
15730 in 3dm06
345fps in Source SDK Stress Test w/your settings and res. Your result was quite low..

Don't feel like installing 3dm05 to see what I get there.


Asus P5E | Q6600 @ 3GHz | ZEROtherm Nirvana | 4GB OCZ DDR2@800MHz
Sapphire 3870x2 | Samsung 226BW | Vista x64 Ult
150GB Raptor | 500GB Seagate.11 | 20X DVD-RW
Antec P182 Black | Cooler Master 850w | X-Fi Pro

very nice!! Those Intels and 3870's are the pwnt!!

friend of mine has about the same setup as you...he OC's and gets around 21,000+ in 3dmark06.

good stuff.
s0undch4s3r is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.