Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Off Topic > Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2008, 03:38 AM   #1
StrickNine
 
StrickNine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Question about laptop hard drives

So a friend of mine wanted me to take a look at his laptop. I don't really have any experience with laptops, but I took a look at it anyway. I'm fairly sure his hard drive is dead, and am looking to get a new one.

I want to be sure to buy the right type of hard drive. I checked neweggs' website, and you can list laptop hard drives by interface: ata-6, sata 3.0gbs/s and serial ata 150. How do I know wich one I need?





Sorry about the shitty pictures, all I have is a camera phone

On the hard drive, it says ata/ide. This came out of a Dell Inspiron 2600.

Any help would be much appreciated
StrickNine is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-18-2008, 02:22 PM   #2
Paft
Beta Tester
 
Paft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK - http://forums.fortress-forever.com
Class/Position: [O] Med
Gametype: CTF/Skills
Posts Rated Helpful 67 Times
It's an old laptop so it'll be the older ATA-6 hard drives. There are two types of hard drvies IDE and SATA. SATA (serial ATA) being the newer kind.
Paft is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-18-2008, 10:45 PM   #3
StrickNine
 
StrickNine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
this is what confused me. On the hard drive it says ata/ide. wtf?
StrickNine is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-18-2008, 10:46 PM   #4
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
Annoying people since 1986
 
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Belgium a.k.a. absurdistan
Class/Position: O fatty, pyro - D engy, pyro
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: This space for rent.
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Send a message via MSN to פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
that's an ide drive looking at the connectors. Alltough ATA looks similar in laptops, I could tell you for sure if I was holding the damn thing.
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-22-2008, 03:23 AM   #5
zSilver_Fox
IRL Combat Medic
 
zSilver_Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ethanol Land
Class/Position: D Medic
Gametype: Conca Jumping
Affiliations: ^iv
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
That's ATA-6.
__________________
I have a nasopharyngeal and webcam...

First infraction! Flaming!
zSilver_Fox is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-22-2008, 04:47 PM   #6
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
Annoying people since 1986
 
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Belgium a.k.a. absurdistan
Class/Position: O fatty, pyro - D engy, pyro
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: This space for rent.
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Send a message via MSN to פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
Quote:
Originally Posted by zSilver_Fox
That's ATA-6.
Really?

I need to get my eyes checked...
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-23-2008, 05:35 PM   #7
zSilver_Fox
IRL Combat Medic
 
zSilver_Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ethanol Land
Class/Position: D Medic
Gametype: Conca Jumping
Affiliations: ^iv
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
ATA-6 = PATA = IDE .


At least I think.

EDIT: No, I'm wrong. Not sure what that is, but it looks like a 22 pin interface... just buy a new laptop, or look up that hard drive's model number.
__________________
I have a nasopharyngeal and webcam...

First infraction! Flaming!
zSilver_Fox is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-23-2008, 05:36 PM   #8
Innoc
Hitman 2 1 Actual
 
Innoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: "Oscar Mike"
Gametype: FPS or RTS (just say NO to MMO)
Affiliations: Your Mom
Posts Rated Helpful 8 Times
Send a message via ICQ to Innoc Send a message via AIM to Innoc Send a message via MSN to Innoc Send a message via Yahoo to Innoc
Quote:
Originally Posted by zSilver_Fox
ATA-6 = PATA = IDE .


At least I think.
You're right. There's should be a ton of drives still available that match that spec.
__________________
Mooga on Obama: He can cut taxes. Actually do something useful. Punch Nancy Pelosi in the face. Just to name a few.

You eventually run out of other people's money to spend.
Innoc is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-23-2008, 05:38 PM   #9
zSilver_Fox
IRL Combat Medic
 
zSilver_Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ethanol Land
Class/Position: D Medic
Gametype: Conca Jumping
Affiliations: ^iv
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Perhaps I'm seeing things wrong at newegg. But I is not sure. It's definately not SATA though... his only hope is ATA-6.
__________________
I have a nasopharyngeal and webcam...

First infraction! Flaming!
zSilver_Fox is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-23-2008, 09:56 PM   #10
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
Annoying people since 1986
 
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Belgium a.k.a. absurdistan
Class/Position: O fatty, pyro - D engy, pyro
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: This space for rent.
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Send a message via MSN to פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
Quote:
Originally Posted by zSilver_Fox
ATA-6 = PATA = IDE
Quote:
Originally Posted by innoc
You're right.
Really? I did not know that! Well, a guy learns everyday.

That's what you get for working at a computer store that only sells and repairs new(er) stuff!

At least I knew it was IDE and the more I look at it the more I'm convinced it's IDE
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-23-2008, 10:09 PM   #11
Sh4x
Retired FF Staff
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
btw the pins you see on the picture arent the pins of the hard drive... it's an adaptor that's plugged into the hard drive. Just remove it, buy a normal IDE laptop drive and replug the adaptor and youre set.
Sh4x is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-23-2008, 11:40 PM   #12
Innoc
Hitman 2 1 Actual
 
Innoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: "Oscar Mike"
Gametype: FPS or RTS (just say NO to MMO)
Affiliations: Your Mom
Posts Rated Helpful 8 Times
Send a message via ICQ to Innoc Send a message via AIM to Innoc Send a message via MSN to Innoc Send a message via Yahoo to Innoc
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sh4x
btw the pins you see on the picture arent the pins of the hard drive... it's an adaptor that's plugged into the hard drive. Just remove it, buy a normal IDE laptop drive and replug the adaptor and youre set.
There is, BTW, no separate power cable for those drives. The power comes in through the same connector grouping as the IDE cable. If you need to plug one of the drives into a standard IDE/PATA cable for some reason you will need one of these.
__________________
Mooga on Obama: He can cut taxes. Actually do something useful. Punch Nancy Pelosi in the face. Just to name a few.

You eventually run out of other people's money to spend.
Innoc is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-24-2008, 01:03 AM   #13
Mooga
Colorless FTW
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
Mooga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: A Small Box
Affiliations: SRCDS.com
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Check the pins.
I once had a laptop and the HDD has a pin-extender. Make sure that you take that off if it has one.
__________________
~ Mooga ...w00t?
SRCDS.com | Twitter
Mooga is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-27-2008, 08:41 PM   #14
StrickNine
 
StrickNine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
thanks for all the help. I picked up an ide hard drive. The original did have something on the pins, I think what mooga was talking about. Just transfered that to the new one, and all is well.

Thanks all!
StrickNine is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-27-2008, 09:42 PM   #15
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
Annoying people since 1986
 
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Belgium a.k.a. absurdistan
Class/Position: O fatty, pyro - D engy, pyro
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: This space for rent.
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Send a message via MSN to פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
Quote:
Originally Posted by StrickNine
thanks for all the help. I picked up an ide hard drive. The original did have something on the pins, I think what mooga was talking about. Just transfered that to the new one, and all is well.

Thanks all!
Good, very good. Glad to have helped in a strange kind of way.
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-27-2008, 09:44 PM   #16
Paft
Beta Tester
 
Paft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK - http://forums.fortress-forever.com
Class/Position: [O] Med
Gametype: CTF/Skills
Posts Rated Helpful 67 Times
I did give you the answer to your question.. Maybe I didn't make that clear.
Paft is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-28-2008, 03:27 AM   #17
StrickNine
 
StrickNine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
you said it was a ata-6 in your post. To me it looks just like an ide after you take the thing off that is on the pins. I actually searched up the model number on ebay and got the same one, so I was not actually for sure if what I had bought was an ide or ata-6 (like i said, it looks like an ide to me).

Regardless, the problem is fixed, and no I did not misunderstand what you had said.

Once again, thanks.
StrickNine is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-28-2008, 06:31 AM   #18
zSilver_Fox
IRL Combat Medic
 
zSilver_Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ethanol Land
Class/Position: D Medic
Gametype: Conca Jumping
Affiliations: ^iv
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
ATA-6 IS IDE...
__________________
I have a nasopharyngeal and webcam...

First infraction! Flaming!
zSilver_Fox is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-28-2008, 10:39 PM   #19
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
Annoying people since 1986
 
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Belgium a.k.a. absurdistan
Class/Position: O fatty, pyro - D engy, pyro
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: This space for rent.
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Send a message via MSN to פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
Quote:
Originally Posted by zSilver_Fox
ATA-6 IS IDE...
I've learned that now.

Again

and again
and again
and again
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-06-2008, 10:05 PM   #20
zSilver_Fox
IRL Combat Medic
 
zSilver_Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ethanol Land
Class/Position: D Medic
Gametype: Conca Jumping
Affiliations: ^iv
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
But I wasn't talking to you.
__________________
I have a nasopharyngeal and webcam...

First infraction! Flaming!
zSilver_Fox is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.