Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Off Topic > Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-14-2009, 02:37 AM   #1
Circuitous
Useless
Retired FF Staff
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Class/Position: D Soldier, O Scout
Gametype: AvD
Posts Rated Helpful 9 Times
Send a message via AIM to Circuitous Send a message via MSN to Circuitous Send a message via Yahoo to Circuitous Send a message via Skype™ to Circuitous
Some sort of official Windows 7 thread

If you're using it, how do you like it?

If you're not using it, and have some sort of reason other than because you don't care or don't want to, what is it?

So far, it's pretty okay. 'Course, I skipped Vista, so I'm sure most of this stuff just ain't that special.

New nVidia drivers available through Windows Update is slick.
__________________
Look at all those dead links.
Circuitous is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-14-2009, 03:05 AM   #2
Innoc
Hitman 2 1 Actual
 
Innoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: "Oscar Mike"
Gametype: FPS or RTS (just say NO to MMO)
Affiliations: Your Mom
Posts Rated Helpful 8 Times
Send a message via ICQ to Innoc Send a message via AIM to Innoc Send a message via MSN to Innoc Send a message via Yahoo to Innoc
At Home...not using it as I really have not had time and I don't have a knockdown box available right now on which I would/can test. I have used Vista for about a year with few problems other than Steam. Window 7 will probably be something I wait a month or so after it goes on sale before I get it.

At Work...I've just now started testing on Server 2008. The only Vista box in the building is a development box in my office and that did not exist prior to my joining the company in November. I don't believe that Vista will ever see light of day in a production build however Windows 7 might...but it's going to be a while before that happens.
Innoc is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-14-2009, 05:30 AM   #3
Anshinritsumai
_o
 
Anshinritsumai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: 127.0.0.1
Class/Position: Medic & Engy
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: DM, OC, -[CfH]-
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Been using Win7 for a few days now and I've seen better performance and reliability with it over Vista, even on this shitty computer.

The amount of times a program (or even Explorer for that matter) stops responding, has been zero; where as in Vista the amount of non-responding programs has been tremendous for me. I'm not sure entirely how well it's been running compared to XP, but I would say that it's slightly more reliable performance wise than XP.

This computer, under Vista, made Starcraft lag, mind you that was a drop down to only 10fps. When running on Win7, it went back up to a steady 30+ at all times like it should on any system.

I'm considering upgrading my Vista drive (C:\) to Win7 until Win7 goes retail...

Last edited by Anshinritsumai; 01-26-2009 at 01:45 AM.
Anshinritsumai is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-14-2009, 05:35 AM   #4
Credge
FF Loremaster
Beta Tester
 
Credge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 4 Times
Could someone tell me what kind of apps Windows 7 is able to run so far? I mean, anything that Vista and XP can run it will? I'm not talking about games, I'm more interested in things like Tversity and Protools. Things like that.
Credge is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-14-2009, 07:05 AM   #5
Anshinritsumai
_o
 
Anshinritsumai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: 127.0.0.1
Class/Position: Medic & Engy
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: DM, OC, -[CfH]-
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
If it's Vista compatible, it'll run... and if it doesn't run all you have to do is right-click the .exe, go to the compatibility tab, and choose the option to run the program in compatibility mode for Vista. If it's XP compatible but not Vista, just do the same and set it to compatibility for XP.

And if that doesn't work, then your shit out of luck until whoever made whatever it is your trying to run, puts out an update or new version.
Anshinritsumai is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-14-2009, 07:18 AM   #6
Credge
FF Loremaster
Beta Tester
 
Credge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 4 Times
Glad to hear the beta already has compatibility mode.
Credge is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-14-2009, 10:14 AM   #7
Circuitous
Useless
Retired FF Staff
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Class/Position: D Soldier, O Scout
Gametype: AvD
Posts Rated Helpful 9 Times
Send a message via AIM to Circuitous Send a message via MSN to Circuitous Send a message via Yahoo to Circuitous Send a message via Skype™ to Circuitous
WMP10 can play .flv files stock, apparently. Hurray, all my saved porn works!

Why does the Windows Experience Index rate from 1.0 to 7.9? That seems bizarre.
__________________
Look at all those dead links.
Circuitous is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-14-2009, 12:37 PM   #8
Credge
FF Loremaster
Beta Tester
 
Credge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 4 Times
To make the averages look better when they switch to a factor of 10?
Credge is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-14-2009, 07:12 PM   #9
KubeDawg
Nade Whore
Server Owner
Beta Tester
 
KubeDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Class/Position: Scout/Soldier
Gametype: CTF/TDM
Affiliations: blunt. Moto
Posts Rated Helpful 128 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Circuitous View Post
WMP10 can play .flv files stock, apparently. Hurray, all my saved porn works!
:O NICE

I attempted to download it, but it wouldn't take for some reason. I've got the key and everything, but I click 'download' and it does nothing. Guess I'll get it as a torrent.
__________________
Moto's Funhouse | Dallas, TX - 74.91.114.247:27015

ff_plunder - Complete
KubeDawg is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-14-2009, 07:22 PM   #10
Hawk Eye
Who the fuck is this guy?
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
Hawk Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Class/Position: O Preferred
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: [AE] Asseaters
Posts Rated Helpful 2 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Circuitous View Post
WMP10 can play .flv files stock, apparently. Hurray, all my saved porn works!

Why does the Windows Experience Index rate from 1.0 to 7.9? That seems bizarre.
Well if it went to 8, then it wouldn't be Windows 7, would it?
Hawk Eye is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-14-2009, 08:13 PM   #11
Circuitous
Useless
Retired FF Staff
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Class/Position: D Soldier, O Scout
Gametype: AvD
Posts Rated Helpful 9 Times
Send a message via AIM to Circuitous Send a message via MSN to Circuitous Send a message via Yahoo to Circuitous Send a message via Skype™ to Circuitous
Apparently when initial testing started, it was 1.0 to 5.0. The idea is that standards remain the same, but the ceiling increases - so a 3.0 now will forever be a 3.0.

Speaking of which, my computer is a 3.0. The lowest score being my hard drive.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KubeDawg View Post
:O NICE

I attempted to download it, but it wouldn't take for some reason. I've got the key and everything, but I click 'download' and it does nothing. Guess I'll get it as a torrent.
Running Firefox? It downloads via an ActiveX control. Download via IE, or (if you have the appropriate plugin) use an IE Tab in Firefox.
__________________
Look at all those dead links.
Circuitous is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-14-2009, 09:43 PM   #12
KubeDawg
Nade Whore
Server Owner
Beta Tester
 
KubeDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Class/Position: Scout/Soldier
Gametype: CTF/TDM
Affiliations: blunt. Moto
Posts Rated Helpful 128 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Circuitous View Post
Apparently when initial testing started, it was 1.0 to 5.0. The idea is that standards remain the same, but the ceiling increases - so a 3.0 now will forever be a 3.0.

Speaking of which, my computer is a 3.0. The lowest score being my hard drive.



Running Firefox? It downloads via an ActiveX control. Download via IE, or (if you have the appropriate plugin) use an IE Tab in Firefox.
ahh that was it. ty
__________________
Moto's Funhouse | Dallas, TX - 74.91.114.247:27015

ff_plunder - Complete
KubeDawg is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-15-2009, 12:27 AM   #13
Damascus
Comic Artist
D&A Member
 
Damascus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
According to benchmarks, Windows 7 is faster or about the same as XP.

HOWEVER:

According to the EULA of Windows 7, it states that benchmarks should not be done.

Damascus is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-15-2009, 02:00 AM   #14
Anshinritsumai
_o
 
Anshinritsumai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: 127.0.0.1
Class/Position: Medic & Engy
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: DM, OC, -[CfH]-
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Apparently they don't want people to judge 'em too soon this time around.
Anshinritsumai is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-15-2009, 02:16 AM   #15
Pixel
if(0>1){printf("broked");}
Beta Tester
 
Pixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Amerika
Class/Position: O
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
Don't like the gui

besides that its pretty nice
Pixel is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-15-2009, 02:49 AM   #16
Paft
Beta Tester
 
Paft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK - http://forums.fortress-forever.com
Class/Position: [O] Med
Gametype: CTF/Skills
Posts Rated Helpful 67 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pixel View Post
Don't like the gui

besides that its pretty nice
I'm not liking "Aero v2" either. Bored of it now. Too much shine. I could as far to say it's so good looking it's ugly. My eyes can't rest on something because I can see in the corner of my eye several sexy bitches winking at me. Needs toning down Linux style.
Paft is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-15-2009, 02:54 AM   #17
DarkeN_HellspawN
FORUM ADM!N
 
DarkeN_HellspawN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The Sun
Class/Position: O/D D/O - For life or death
Gametype: 2fort Spectating Llama GD Ex. TALOS Sniper
Affiliations: FF God, The Yellow Brotherhood
Posts Rated Helpful 13 Times
Vista in a corporate environmet.......

We have 6000 total employees worldwide and not one Vista client out of the 5000 client desktops we have total. Corporate initiative is to skip Vista all together and go to the next version. We are even a Microsoft Platinum partner and the local MS reps onsite wanted us to wait for the next OS as well. MS knows that Vista is dead in the water but they are going to still and try to hack it to anyone who will but it. Plus Dell charges a $150.00 additional fee to downgrade to XP if it is even possible due to driver compatibility.

dh
__________________
If you come across a great Yellow entity offering a yellow pill, take it. Its sunshine will grow in you stomach like a bowl of Sea Monkeys - The Great Yellow Book Page 8765 Ch. 194 -Section 3
DarkeN_HellspawN is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-15-2009, 04:36 AM   #18
Damascus
Comic Artist
D&A Member
 
Damascus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
It plays Left 4 Dead smoother than my XP. I'm sold.


It's only a beta, too D:
Damascus is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-16-2009, 03:36 AM   #19
Circuitous
Useless
Retired FF Staff
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Class/Position: D Soldier, O Scout
Gametype: AvD
Posts Rated Helpful 9 Times
Send a message via AIM to Circuitous Send a message via MSN to Circuitous Send a message via Yahoo to Circuitous Send a message via Skype™ to Circuitous
Fallout 3 runs like hell. I'm enjoying it so far. Need to get Steam setup, though!

Aero v2 is fine but I'm having issues with the bars being transparent despite my windows not being so. IT'S AWKWARD. Need to just block them out.
__________________
Look at all those dead links.
Circuitous is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-16-2009, 06:20 AM   #20
Phatman
n00bsauce
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tucson, AZ
Class/Position: Soldier/Pyro/ThatOneJerk
Gametype: Anything that involves killing
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Send a message via AIM to Phatman Send a message via MSN to Phatman
Had it running for a few days on a Dell 2.66ghz with 512 ram rather decently. However, because of the low amount of ram at the time, I couldn't really do anything. Now the dell is my main desktop so I might put the gateway my mom has and was loaning me up with 7 for a bit, but then again, school started up again so I really don't have time or a reason to mess with it. *shrug* However, thus far I like what I see. The taskbar took some time getting used to, but I like how it works
Phatman is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.