Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Off Topic > Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-2009, 03:58 PM   #61
Paft
Beta Tester
 
Paft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK - http://forums.fortress-forever.com
Class/Position: [O] Med
Gametype: CTF/Skills
Posts Rated Helpful 67 Times
Haha
Paft is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-25-2009, 09:34 PM   #62
KubeDawg
Nade Whore
Server Owner
Beta Tester
 
KubeDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Class/Position: Scout/Soldier
Gametype: CTF/TDM
Affiliations: blunt. Moto
Posts Rated Helpful 128 Times
Fuckin A. Win7 is awesome so far. So far, just a little laggy, but I need a good HW upgrade anyway. I think with an E8400 Processor and 2 more gigs of ram, this baby will fly.
__________________
Moto's Funhouse | Dallas, TX - 74.91.114.247:27015

ff_plunder - Complete
KubeDawg is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-30-2009, 07:25 AM   #63
Demasu
Official FF Medic
 
Demasu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Just got done installing this in VMware, and it claims to not be able to get to the internet through my router.

Haha, never mind. I had to set VMware to bridge my connection, and then it worked.
__________________
Some ER Trauma Doctor: Which way did he point the gun? Was it towards the front of your face or the back of your face?

...and you wonder why I love doctors.
Demasu is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-30-2009, 09:42 PM   #64
Anshinritsumai
_o
 
Anshinritsumai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: 127.0.0.1
Class/Position: Medic & Engy
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: DM, OC, -[CfH]-
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Circuitous View Post
When that happened to me on my Win7, I was as giddy as a Japanese Schoolgirl... it was like the most awesome thing I've ever seen a MS product do...
__________________
Anshinritsumai is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-30-2009, 10:47 PM   #65
Circuitous
Useless
Retired FF Staff
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Class/Position: D Soldier, O Scout
Gametype: AvD
Posts Rated Helpful 9 Times
Send a message via AIM to Circuitous Send a message via MSN to Circuitous Send a message via Yahoo to Circuitous Send a message via Skype™ to Circuitous
Goddamn useful. It's unreal.
__________________
Look at all those dead links.
Circuitous is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-31-2009, 02:25 AM   #66
Innoc
Hitman 2 1 Actual
 
Innoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: "Oscar Mike"
Gametype: FPS or RTS (just say NO to MMO)
Affiliations: Your Mom
Posts Rated Helpful 8 Times
Send a message via ICQ to Innoc Send a message via AIM to Innoc Send a message via MSN to Innoc Send a message via Yahoo to Innoc
Quote:
Originally Posted by Circuitous View Post
Circuitous: Holy SHIT.
Circuitous: Okay, dude
Circuitous: you know how when shit crashes on XP
Circuitous: and it asks if you wanna send an error report?
[AE] 0112 Ihmhi *SJB: Yeah?
Circuitous: Well
Circuitous: I did it here on Windows 7
Circuitous: and it sent the report
Circuitous: and dude?
Circuitous: It bounced back a window that explained the problem I was having (MSI installers crashing after an IE update)
Circuitous: and told me how to fucking fix it
Circuitous: and it fucking worked.
Circuitous: My mind?
Circuitous: It is blown.
[AE] 0112 Ihmhi *SJB: Holy shit.
That's a nice change from the commonly useless error reports. It's funny that even with Server 2008 you get the non-specific errors. BTW, I still have yet to look at 7. Is it still using the stupid BCD? It's made imaging a PITA.
Innoc is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-31-2009, 04:28 AM   #67
Demasu
Official FF Medic
 
Demasu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Every time I start up solitaire it crashes on me. Can't click anything, and sending it a Crtl+alt+delete doesn't do anything. I really need to find ghost so I can get this up on something that's not a virtual machine.
__________________
Some ER Trauma Doctor: Which way did he point the gun? Was it towards the front of your face or the back of your face?

...and you wonder why I love doctors.
Demasu is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-31-2009, 04:37 AM   #68
Anshinritsumai
_o
 
Anshinritsumai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: 127.0.0.1
Class/Position: Medic & Engy
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: DM, OC, -[CfH]-
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Yea... you're gonna have to get it running on a drive rather than in a VM... everyone I've seen that has any major problems running it so far, are running it in VM. Most of the problems i've had are minor, and not worth mentioning or were already mentioned in this thread.
__________________
Anshinritsumai is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-31-2009, 06:08 AM   #69
Demasu
Official FF Medic
 
Demasu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
I figured that was the problem. Only game I've been able to run without a full lock-up of the system is Quake. So I just need to find Norton Ghost so I can implement the hardware changes I want, and then I can install it on a physical system.
__________________
Some ER Trauma Doctor: Which way did he point the gun? Was it towards the front of your face or the back of your face?

...and you wonder why I love doctors.
Demasu is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-31-2009, 06:29 AM   #70
KubeDawg
Nade Whore
Server Owner
Beta Tester
 
KubeDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Class/Position: Scout/Soldier
Gametype: CTF/TDM
Affiliations: blunt. Moto
Posts Rated Helpful 128 Times
Solitare is actually fun to play now. Holy crap.
__________________
Moto's Funhouse | Dallas, TX - 74.91.114.247:27015

ff_plunder - Complete
KubeDawg is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-31-2009, 06:45 PM   #71
Circuitous
Useless
Retired FF Staff
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Class/Position: D Soldier, O Scout
Gametype: AvD
Posts Rated Helpful 9 Times
Send a message via AIM to Circuitous Send a message via MSN to Circuitous Send a message via Yahoo to Circuitous Send a message via Skype™ to Circuitous
Quote:
Originally Posted by Innoc View Post
That's a nice change from the commonly useless error reports. It's funny that even with Server 2008 you get the non-specific errors. BTW, I still have yet to look at 7. Is it still using the stupid BCD? It's made imaging a PITA.
Sorry, BCD?

Nevermind, Wikipedia filled me in. Windows 7 apparently uses a new version of it? I don't know, never used Vista, not even sure what the problem is.
__________________
Look at all those dead links.
Circuitous is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-02-2009, 05:34 AM   #72
Innoc
Hitman 2 1 Actual
 
Innoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: "Oscar Mike"
Gametype: FPS or RTS (just say NO to MMO)
Affiliations: Your Mom
Posts Rated Helpful 8 Times
Send a message via ICQ to Innoc Send a message via AIM to Innoc Send a message via MSN to Innoc Send a message via Yahoo to Innoc
Quote:
Originally Posted by Circuitous View Post
Sorry, BCD?

Nevermind, Wikipedia filled me in. Windows 7 apparently uses a new version of it? I don't know, never used Vista, not even sure what the problem is.
The BCD in Vista and Server 2008 will not survive reimaging with Ghost. It can be rebuilt/repaired with the RE version of Windows PE but the scripting has been incomplete and broken in RE since Vista was still in Beta...top that with the poor documentation of PE in general and it makes repeatedly re-imaging "inelegant" at best.
Innoc is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-15-2009, 07:25 PM   #73
Demasu
Official FF Medic
 
Demasu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
This piece of shit is pissing me off. It doesn't want to recognize my network card. If you look at this(PDF), on page two on the right, it shows an ethernet connector at J, but on my physical computer that doesn't exist. I haven't changed the motherboard, but apparently I did change the network card to replace the RJ-11 connector with one with a RJ-45 connector, and apparently it's as old as sin, as evidenced by the driver date. So it's the only ethernet connector I have on my computer, and Windows 7 won't see it. Any idea on how to fix it, without going and buying a new card?
__________________
Some ER Trauma Doctor: Which way did he point the gun? Was it towards the front of your face or the back of your face?

...and you wonder why I love doctors.
Demasu is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-15-2009, 08:01 PM   #74
Pixel
if(0>1){printf("broked");}
Beta Tester
 
Pixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Amerika
Class/Position: O
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
you're confusing...

Are there vista drivers for it? Try installing those.
Pixel is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-15-2009, 09:51 PM   #75
Demasu
Official FF Medic
 
Demasu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pixel View Post
you're confusing...

Are there vista drivers for it? Try installing those.
There are no drivers for it. I googled it, and I only got dead links. So I went and got a new card for 10 bucks and it works now. Strange OS.
__________________
Some ER Trauma Doctor: Which way did he point the gun? Was it towards the front of your face or the back of your face?

...and you wonder why I love doctors.
Demasu is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-15-2009, 11:19 PM   #76
Pixel
if(0>1){printf("broked");}
Beta Tester
 
Pixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Amerika
Class/Position: O
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Demasu View Post
There are no drivers for it. I googled it, and I only got dead links. So I went and got a new card for 10 bucks and it works now. Strange OS.
how old is the card?
Pixel is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-15-2009, 11:42 PM   #77
Demasu
Official FF Medic
 
Demasu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pixel View Post
how old is the card?
No idea. But the date on the driver was old, so I imagine if that date is correct, then the card is at least that old.
__________________
Some ER Trauma Doctor: Which way did he point the gun? Was it towards the front of your face or the back of your face?

...and you wonder why I love doctors.
Demasu is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-16-2009, 03:57 PM   #78
mervaka
A Very Sound Guy!
Fortress Forever Staff
 
mervaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK
Posts Rated Helpful 15 Times
reverted to XP after i found i couldn't get ASIO working..
mervaka is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-16-2009, 05:11 PM   #79
Demasu
Official FF Medic
 
Demasu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
I definitely had fun yesterday copying over my valve folder so I wouldn't have to re-download everything. Well, as it turns out, Steam doesn't like that too well, and I have every game that is 'official'(below the list of games like Half-Life, in the mod section) saying "download paused."



Fun right? Took something like 2 hours.
__________________
Some ER Trauma Doctor: Which way did he point the gun? Was it towards the front of your face or the back of your face?

...and you wonder why I love doctors.
Demasu is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-16-2009, 06:52 PM   #80
Owoc
natural selection player
 
Owoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: subset of RRR
Class/Position: alien (fade), marine (comm)
Gametype: classic ns
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
First of all, try "verify integrity of game cache". Might just work.

Otherwise, it should work if you only copy the .gcf files, though this only covers goldsource/source games.

For other games, try starting up steam without the game in question installed, start downloading it but stop at like 2%, then copy over the files (overwriting anything), and have steam verify integrity of game cache. Worked just fine for some people switching their UT3 installation to steam.
Owoc is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.