Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Editing > Mapping > Maps

Old 10-03-2007, 05:11 PM   #1
Lichme

Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
beta map: twistedfort_small

This is my first time working with source maps, thanks to sir_frags and AltPluzF4 for the help.

The map detail kinda sucks, I mainly did this to get used to source mapping. I still need to add sound to the doors, clean up some textures, and figure out how to get foggy water (none of the textures I used seem to work). The map itself is one I ported over from TFC.

http://www.thetwistednetwork.net/dow...t_small_b1.rar

Lichme is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-03-2007, 06:05 PM   #2
sir_frags

The detail does not "suck" like you said. I like the way it looks. The gameplay in the TFC version was great and fabulous. Don't know about FF gameplay yet, but I would definitely think with limited classes that the gameplay would be great too.

Door sounds? You wanting custom sounds then? The doors should have automatic sounds. Check your properties to make sure you got the right things check marked.

Foggy water you can get by adding or adjusting some lines in your water texture vmt. Things like this:

"$fogenable" 1
"$fogcolor" "{56 157 184}"
"$fogstart" 0
"$fogend" 15

Truth is, I cannot help you more than that because I've never actually used modified water. You can play with the numbers above and see if this does anything for you. If not, then go over to Interlopers.net level design section and post help there for modifying your water texture.

*Frags*
sir_frags is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-03-2007, 06:26 PM   #3
Lichme

I meant the level of detail compared to most FF maps out there. For example, most of my map consists of squares and rectangles rather then curves.

The doors make a tiny clink sound when they open, which is fine, but I want some other effects and I just havent found one I like yet.