Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Help & Technical > FF Technical Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2007, 10:36 PM   #1
wolfeh
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Audio timers

The audio timers seem to be out of synch with visual/the actual click itself (the one that idicates that a grenade has been primed) Is there a way to fix this (or work around it, preferably without muting it)
Cheers!
wolfeh is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-13-2007, 11:02 PM   #2
Circuitous
Useless
Retired FF Staff
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Class/Position: D Soldier, O Scout
Gametype: AvD
Posts Rated Helpful 9 Times
Send a message via AIM to Circuitous Send a message via MSN to Circuitous Send a message via Yahoo to Circuitous Send a message via Skype™ to Circuitous
That's the whole idea, really... the visual timer is lagless, the audio ones aren't.

The audio ones work in general, but on a laggy server you gotta go with the visual.
__________________
Look at all those dead links.
Circuitous is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-13-2007, 11:28 PM   #3
MrBeefy
Retired FF Staff
 
MrBeefy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: detroit
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
you can also make your own to do what you like, and then add them to:
Quote:
..\Steam\SteamApps\SourceMods\FortressForever\soun d\timers

for them to appear in your dropdown list.
MrBeefy is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-04-2013, 07:23 AM   #4
raum
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
raum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Gametype: CTF
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Circuitous View Post
That's the whole idea, really... the visual timer is lagless, the audio ones aren't.

The audio ones work in general, but on a laggy server you gotta go with the visual.
guys, is this still like this?

if so, is there a workaround to have lagless audio timers?
raum is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-04-2013, 07:42 AM   #5
Elmo
Gets tickled by FF
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Elmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK
Class/Position: Med Solly HW
Gametype: Any/CTF
Posts Rated Helpful 41 Times
well at the time this was written the visual timers were actually off by 0.2 of a second.. when I played without sound I noticed that and fixed it!

But yeah I think the audio and visual timers are still different. I'll look into it and make a task for myself - I do look at the task list now and again.
__________________
Support FF:
Done: ff_monkey
Done: ff_bases
Done: ff_warpath
Forever Doing: ff_medieval (beta#99999999)
Elmo is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-04-2013, 08:45 AM   #6
raum
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
raum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Gametype: CTF
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
i dont get it. ff allows ppl to do alot of stuff that tfc doesnt (such as pressing and holding to space key to bhop, etc), but wont let you have lagless audio timers? why? ff always had tried to offer more than tfc, but this doesnt really make sense

i now wonder how i managed to cj all the time i've pld ff
raum is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-04-2013, 03:58 PM   #7
squeek.
Stuff Do-er
Lua Team
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
squeek.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northern California
Class/Position: Rallygun Shooter
Gametype: Conc tag (you just wait)
Affiliations: Mustache Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 350 Times
Send a message via AIM to squeek.
The audio and visual timers are lagless (purely clientside) as far as I'm aware. The click is not. If the audio/visual tiemrs are out of synch, that's a bug (or an improperly timed nade timer). But I'm pretty sure they both get triggered purely client-side. Elmo would know more.

EDIT: Just checked. The audio and visual timers are played client-side with zero communication with the server.
__________________
#FF.Pickup Fortress-Forever pickups

My Non-official Maps
Released FF_DM_Squeek - FF_2Mesa3_Classic - FF_Siege_Classic
Beta FF_Myth - FF_Redlight_Greenlight

Sick of the people on the internet, always moanin'. They just moan.
- Karl Pilkington

Last edited by squeek.; 02-04-2013 at 04:10 PM.
squeek. is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-04-2013, 07:57 PM   #8
raum
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
raum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Gametype: CTF
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by squeek. View Post
The audio and visual timers are lagless (purely clientside) as far as I'm aware. The click is not. If the audio/visual tiemrs are out of synch, that's a bug (or an improperly timed nade timer). But I'm pretty sure they both get triggered purely client-side. Elmo would know more.

EDIT: Just checked. The audio and visual timers are played client-side with zero communication with the server.

ty for confirming.

i dont really think it was "an improperly timed nade timer", because i wasnt able to cj properly for once during the whole 15 mins/offy. i should give it another go before uninstalling/reinstalling the game because i was on 150 ping
raum is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-04-2013, 08:16 PM   #9
Elmo
Gets tickled by FF
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Elmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK
Class/Position: Med Solly HW
Gametype: Any/CTF
Posts Rated Helpful 41 Times
if you get the same conditions can you check to be certain that the visual timer is 'always correct/useful' as you seemed to state. Lag issues are generically a bit hard to test without good amounts of lag.

Not looked into it this evening - still wrapping something up locally before pushing it to beta. Don't want to start on anything else just at the moment.
__________________
Support FF:
Done: ff_monkey
Done: ff_bases
Done: ff_warpath
Forever Doing: ff_medieval (beta#99999999)
Elmo is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-05-2013, 08:40 AM   #10
Elmo
Gets tickled by FF
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Elmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK
Class/Position: Med Solly HW
Gametype: Any/CTF
Posts Rated Helpful 41 Times
I was tired last night n didn't read squeeks post properly... is there still anything specifically you want me to look into around this?
__________________
Support FF:
Done: ff_monkey
Done: ff_bases
Done: ff_warpath
Forever Doing: ff_medieval (beta#99999999)

Last edited by Elmo; 02-05-2013 at 08:40 AM.
Elmo is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-06-2013, 09:12 PM   #11
raum
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
raum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Gametype: CTF
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elmo View Post
I was tired last night n didn't read squeeks post properly... is there still anything specifically you want me to look into around this?
nope..

tho it'd be fairly nice if it conc timing was the same with TFC (as far as i see, ff concs explode much later than tfc). that way there wouldnt be a confusion for those who play both gamez.. but other than that, nope..

Last edited by raum; 02-06-2013 at 09:12 PM.
raum is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-07-2013, 05:43 AM   #12
Elmo
Gets tickled by FF
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Elmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK
Class/Position: Med Solly HW
Gametype: Any/CTF
Posts Rated Helpful 41 Times
When do tfc ones explode cause theyre are set to a very precise value of 3.82 seconds. Can't imagine it was any other reason than it mimicked the tfc explosion...
__________________
Support FF:
Done: ff_monkey
Done: ff_bases
Done: ff_warpath
Forever Doing: ff_medieval (beta#99999999)
Elmo is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-07-2013, 07:48 PM   #13
squeek.
Stuff Do-er
Lua Team
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
squeek.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northern California
Class/Position: Rallygun Shooter
Gametype: Conc tag (you just wait)
Affiliations: Mustache Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 350 Times
Send a message via AIM to squeek.
I think he means you have to jump earlier in TFC, which is certianly true. In FF you get max height if you jump at the exact moment the conc explodes, in TFC that's not the case (you need to jump earlier).

I'm not sure why that is (meaning what makes it that way in TFC).
__________________
#FF.Pickup Fortress-Forever pickups

My Non-official Maps
Released FF_DM_Squeek - FF_2Mesa3_Classic - FF_Siege_Classic
Beta FF_Myth - FF_Redlight_Greenlight

Sick of the people on the internet, always moanin'. They just moan.
- Karl Pilkington
squeek. is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-08-2013, 10:15 AM   #14
raum
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
raum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Gametype: CTF
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
cant really figure which conc is more accurate, but thats not the confusion or even important anyway. ppl who are used to ff timing are comfortable with ff timings, and ppl who are used to tfc are comfortable with it. it doesnt really matter which timing is the "true" one

i have tried to play ff again after a while, and timings are quite different; which made alotof confusion for me. and since we cannot make changes with tfc(or can we?), maybe we can adopt ff's timings to tfc, so that ppl who play both games dont get fucked up while switching games. would that fuck every ff players game up? (i hope not)

or maybe we can create a custom nade priming sound where it gives you exact tfc timings instead of changing the whole thing for sake of ff-only players, is that possible? and that can be downloaded as an alternate to default ones..

btw ive been talking only about the audio timers, since i dont think anyone uses visual ones while there are a lot going on in screen :P
(im sure visual timers are useful for new players)

Last edited by raum; 02-08-2013 at 10:21 AM.
raum is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-08-2013, 06:48 PM   #15
KubeDawg
Nade Whore
Server Owner
Beta Tester
 
KubeDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Class/Position: Scout/Soldier
Gametype: CTF/TDM
Affiliations: blunt. Moto
Posts Rated Helpful 128 Times
I absolutely hated the timer in TFC. Coming from a background of playing hundreds of concmaps in TFC over the years, I hated that you couldn't prime a 2nd conc immediately after the first and the timer itself felt off. When FF was released, I was like OH THANK GOD they've addressed this and fell in love with concing in FF because it was so precise/accurate compared to TFC.

FF concs > TFC concs any day and I wish they worked the same in TFC as they do in FF. I would probably play TFC more often if that were the case.
__________________
Moto's Funhouse | Dallas, TX - 74.91.114.247:27015

ff_plunder - Complete
KubeDawg is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-09-2013, 05:50 PM   #16
raum
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
raum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Gametype: CTF
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
well, i think you're missing the point. which is;

Quote:
Originally Posted by raum View Post
it doesnt really matter which timing is the "true" one
the point is to be able to conc in both games. you get used to the timings on which game you play.

Quote:
Originally Posted by raum View Post
ppl who are used to ff timing are comfortable with ff timings, and ppl who are used to tfc are comfortable with it.
raum is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-09-2013, 08:45 PM   #17
KubeDawg
Nade Whore
Server Owner
Beta Tester
 
KubeDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Class/Position: Scout/Soldier
Gametype: CTF/TDM
Affiliations: blunt. Moto
Posts Rated Helpful 128 Times
I guess I'm used to both, but I hate TFC's. So I do get your point, but those who play both seem to have an easier time with FF's concs than TFC's. Also, when you duck while concing in TFC, the movement/air strafing works differently, including using a HH conc while jump/ducked at the same time where the HH conc basically becomes useless.
__________________
Moto's Funhouse | Dallas, TX - 74.91.114.247:27015

ff_plunder - Complete
KubeDawg is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-24-2013, 05:43 PM   #18
raum
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
raum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Gametype: CTF
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by raum View Post
or maybe we can create a custom nade priming sound where it gives you exact tfc timings and that can be downloaded as an alternate to default ones..
is this possible, dear sirs?

Last edited by raum; 02-24-2013 at 05:44 PM.
raum is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.