Old 02-03-2010, 09:06 AM   #1
Bridget
Banned

Class/Position: Soldier
Gametype: AVD
Affiliations: TALOS
Posts Rated Helpful 5 Times
Competitive Advice/Theory/Project

I am working on a player manual right now focusing on the competitive side of Fortress Forever. I'm not that experienced with this, so I am offering it as a community project to anyone willing to help. Post your advice here to beginners coming into the competitive scene. Remember, this is a competitive context. It presumes some knowledge.

Don't say something stupid like "The Soldier has a rocket launcher. It deals explosive damage." rather explain how to best utilize that splash damage or introduce some method of play not seen in the public scene. Something that makes the reader go "Hm, that's cool, I never thought about doing that."

Likewise, don't say something like "Playing defense? Defend the flag. Running offense? Grab the flag." be more in depth and explain the strategy behind it. What is the best way to defend? Run offense? What about as a specific class, etc. I don't want this to turn into my previous attempt.

Write about specific classes or about competitive play theory in general.
Try to be as detailed as possible and as generous as possible. Thanks...

EDIT: By the way, what are the de facto rules for pickups that everyone generally agrees upon?

Last edited by Bridget; 02-03-2010 at 09:17 AM.
Bridget is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-03-2010, 09:20 AM   #2
Hawk Eye
Who the fuck is this guy?
D&A Member
Beta Tester

Class/Position: O Preferred
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: [AE] Asseaters
Posts Rated Helpful 2 Times
What happened to the old thread of this?
Hawk Eye is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-03-2010, 09:23 AM   #3
Bridget
Banned

Class/Position: Soldier
Gametype: AVD
Affiliations: TALOS
Posts Rated Helpful 5 Times