Fortress Forever  

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Community > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-16-2013, 04:57 AM   #1
squeek.
Stuff Do-er
Lua Team
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
squeek.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northern California
Class/Position: Rallygun Shooter
Gametype: Conc tag (you just wait)
Affiliations: Mustache Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 194 Times
Send a message via AIM to squeek.
Steam's New Content System and FF

If you try to launch Fortress Forever, you might be prompted to update Source SDK Base 2006 to Steam's new content system. Doing so will move some base Source engine files around (but not mess with your Fortress Forever at all). If you are not prompted, then you'll need to force your Source SDK Base 2006 to update in order to be able to connect to servers:
Quote:
In Steam, go to Library, select Tools from the dropdown, find Source SDK Base 2006, right click it and go to Properties. In the properties window, go to the Local Files tab and click "Verify Integrity of Tool Cache"

That should update you to the new Steampipe file system and then you should be able to connect to servers.
For server owners, you now need to use SteamCMD to install the Source Dedicated Server files (appid 205). For a tutorial, see How to install a SRCDS. If you don't manually manage your server, you will need your server provider to update your game server to the new content system.

For mappers, you might not be able to compile maps until you copy steam.dll from steamapps\common\Source SDK Base to steamapps\<username>\sourcesdk\bin\ep1\bin. Thanks to Uly for finding this fix.
__________________
Support FF:
#FF.Pickup Fortress-Forever pickups

My Non-official Maps
Released FF_DM_Squeek - FF_2Mesa3_Classic - FF_Siege_Classic
Beta FF_Myth - FF_Redlight_Greenlight

Sick of the people on the internet, always moanin'. They just moan.
- Karl Pilkington

Last edited by squeek.; 10-27-2013 at 07:25 PM. Reason: Updated with more information
squeek. is offline   Reply With Quote


2 members found this post helpful.
Old 10-16-2013, 06:42 AM   #2
KubeDawg
Nade Whore
D&A Member
Server Owner
Beta Tester
 
KubeDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Class/Position: Scout/Soldier
Gametype: CTF/TDM
Affiliations: {Milds}
Posts Rated Helpful 80 Times
If I rent a server, will the app ID still be the same? 205 - Source Dedicated Server and 215 is SDK Base 2006. I just want to be sure before I let NFo know to update.
__________________
Moto's Sexytime Funhouse | Dallas, TX - 72.5.102.26:27015

ff_plunder_b4
KubeDawg is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-16-2013, 06:56 AM   #3
squeek.
Stuff Do-er
Lua Team
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
squeek.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northern California
Class/Position: Rallygun Shooter
Gametype: Conc tag (you just wait)
Affiliations: Mustache Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 194 Times
Send a message via AIM to squeek.
HLDSUpdateTool didn't use app id's, so I'm not really sure what the "old" app id was. The old hlds install would use the parameter -game episode1 to pull the correct files. 215 is what you download to play Fortress Forever (the client files, essentially; if you download 215 using steamcmd, you get exactly what you have in your steamapps\common\Source SDK Base folder after converting your Source SDK Base 2006 to the steampipe content system). 205 is the dedicated server files, specifically (with hlds.exe; 215 only gives you a hl2.exe). You could always install both 205 and 215 to the same folder just to be safe, but in my testing it worked with only 205 installed.
__________________
Support FF:
#FF.Pickup Fortress-Forever pickups

My Non-official Maps
Released FF_DM_Squeek - FF_2Mesa3_Classic - FF_Siege_Classic
Beta FF_Myth - FF_Redlight_Greenlight

Sick of the people on the internet, always moanin'. They just moan.
- Karl Pilkington
squeek. is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-16-2013, 07:26 AM   #4
KubeDawg
Nade Whore
D&A Member
Server Owner
Beta Tester
 
KubeDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Class/Position: Scout/Soldier
Gametype: CTF/TDM
Affiliations: {Milds}
Posts Rated Helpful 80 Times
Ok, thanks.
__________________
Moto's Sexytime Funhouse | Dallas, TX - 72.5.102.26:27015

ff_plunder_b4
KubeDawg is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-16-2013, 10:33 PM   #5
KubeDawg
Nade Whore
D&A Member
Server Owner
Beta Tester
 
KubeDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Class/Position: Scout/Soldier
Gametype: CTF/TDM
Affiliations: {Milds}
Posts Rated Helpful 80 Times
Unable to compile anything in hammer since new update:

** Executing...
** Command: "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\kubedog@msn.com\sourcesdk\bi n\ep1\bin\vbsp.exe"
** Parameters: -game "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\sourcemods\FortressForever" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\sourcemods\FortressForever\m aps\deadzone_a2"

Can't load c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\kubedog@msn.com\sourcesdk\bi n\ep1\bin\filesystem_steam.dll.Can't load c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\kubedog@msn.com\sourcesdk\bi n\ep1\bin\filesystem_steam.dll.

** Executing...
** Command: "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\kubedog@msn.com\sourcesdk\bi n\ep1\bin\vvis.exe"
** Parameters: -game "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\sourcemods\FortressForever" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\sourcemods\FortressForever\m aps\deadzone_a2"

Valve Software - vvis.exe (Nov 8 2007)
Can't load c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\kubedog@msn.com\sourcesdk\bi n\ep1\bin\filesystem_steam.dll.Can't load c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\kubedog@msn.com\sourcesdk\bi n\ep1\bin\filesystem_steam.dll.

** Executing...
** Command: "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\kubedog@msn.com\sourcesdk\bi n\ep1\bin\vrad.exe"
** Parameters: -game "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\sourcemods\FortressForever" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\sourcemods\FortressForever\m aps\deadzone_a2"

Can't load c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\kubedog@msn.com\sourcesdk\bi n\ep1\bin\filesystem_steam.dll.Can't load c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\kubedog@msn.com\sourcesdk\bi n\ep1\bin\filesystem_steam.dll.

** Executing...
** Command: Copy File
** Parameters: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\sourcemods\FortressForever\m aps\deadzone_a2.bsp" "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\sourcemods\FortressForever\m aps\deadzone_a2.bsp"

** Executing...
** Command: "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\kubedog@msn.com\sourcesdk\hl 2.exe"
** Parameters: -game "c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\sourcemods\FortressForever" +map "deadzone_a2"

Any ideas how to fix?
__________________
Moto's Sexytime Funhouse | Dallas, TX - 72.5.102.26:27015

ff_plunder_b4

Last edited by KubeDawg; 10-16-2013 at 10:34 PM.
KubeDawg is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-16-2013, 10:34 PM   #6
NeoNL
Intarnet iz SRS BIZNUS
D&A Member
Wiki Team
Beta Tester
 
NeoNL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Boston, Mass
Class/Position: HWG, Medic
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: +M|M+ -RS K^
Posts Rated Helpful 60 Times
Send a message via Skype™ to NeoNL
FDA and I cant even load SDK so.. You might be on your own for that lol. I'm guessing you have to redirect some package or something.
NeoNL is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-16-2013, 10:37 PM   #7
KubeDawg
Nade Whore
D&A Member
Server Owner
Beta Tester
 
KubeDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Class/Position: Scout/Soldier
Gametype: CTF/TDM
Affiliations: {Milds}
Posts Rated Helpful 80 Times
To load SDK, I had to do this:



But I am unable to compile anymore.
__________________
Moto's Sexytime Funhouse | Dallas, TX - 72.5.102.26:27015

ff_plunder_b4
KubeDawg is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-16-2013, 11:01 PM   #8
squeek.
Stuff Do-er
Lua Team
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
squeek.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northern California
Class/Position: Rallygun Shooter
Gametype: Conc tag (you just wait)
Affiliations: Mustache Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 194 Times
Send a message via AIM to squeek.
Quote:
Originally Posted by KubeDawg View Post
Unable to compile anything in hammer since new update:
I'm getting the same error. It might be because with the new content system, hammer and everything is meant to be in the /bin/ folder of the steamapps/common/<game>/ folder. I'll try some stuff when I have time, but I guess for now compiling just won't work.

What I'm going to try is copying over everything from steamapps/<username>/sourcesdk/bin/ep1/bin/ to steamapps/common/Source SDK Base/bin/ and change all the paths in the Hammer config to point there. If you want to try it, be careful not to lose track of what you've copied/moved/etc, though.
__________________
Support FF:
#FF.Pickup Fortress-Forever pickups

My Non-official Maps
Released FF_DM_Squeek - FF_2Mesa3_Classic - FF_Siege_Classic
Beta FF_Myth - FF_Redlight_Greenlight

Sick of the people on the internet, always moanin'. They just moan.
- Karl Pilkington
squeek. is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-16-2013, 11:20 PM   #9
squeek.
Stuff Do-er
Lua Team
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
squeek.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northern California
Class/Position: Rallygun Shooter
Gametype: Conc tag (you just wait)
Affiliations: Mustache Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 194 Times
Send a message via AIM to squeek.
Didn't work. This is broked bigtime. Apparently Steam is trying to move away from the Source SDK launcher completely, and instead wants to use .bat files in common/<game>/bin.

See: https://developer.valvesoftware.com/...K_Installation

I'll try some more stuff later.
__________________
Support FF:
#FF.Pickup Fortress-Forever pickups

My Non-official Maps
Released FF_DM_Squeek - FF_2Mesa3_Classic - FF_Siege_Classic
Beta FF_Myth - FF_Redlight_Greenlight

Sick of the people on the internet, always moanin'. They just moan.
- Karl Pilkington
squeek. is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-16-2013, 11:27 PM   #10
Bully
Beta Tester
 
Bully's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Yorkshire, England
Class/Position: Bass
Gametype: Bass
Affiliations: ^
Posts Rated Helpful 23 Times
Send a message via MSN to Bully
I joined a server earlier with no problems. I just tried and now im getting this
__________________
Bully is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-17-2013, 12:03 AM   #11
Headz
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts Rated Helpful 23 Times
I can almost compile "cant find gameinfo.txt" but it is there, had to input all the paths again.

It wasn't broken so why did they fk about with it, more efficient? don't see any difference.

/slaps gayb
__________________
Compile error:
Leaf portal saw into Cluster Phuck
Headz is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-17-2013, 12:48 AM   #12
Iggy
Heartless Threadkiller
D&A Member
Beta Tester
Forum Moderator
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Class/Position: D-Solly / O-Medic
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: [AE] AssEaters
Posts Rated Helpful 17 Times
Sounds like how they broke TFC and HL1 a month or so ago. Let's hope they fix this soon.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by zSilver_Fox
See kids? Only Iggy and FT are good enough to post when high.
Publishers Website My book on BN.com My book on Amazon.com

Friend me on Facebook
Follow me on Twitter
Visit my website: http://www.crazyhonky.com/
Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-17-2013, 01:00 AM   #13
Chickenprotector
Flamer of Worlds
D&A Member
 
Chickenprotector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Your anus
Class/Position: Pyro (O, grabbing the flag or clearing a path for my team)
Gametype: Organized Capture the Flag
Affiliations: [SoV] - State of Victory
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bully View Post
I joined a server earlier with no problems. I just tried and now im getting this
Check the thread for the temp fix.
__________________
Stupidity at its finest usually involves a bottle of bewz, a pack of idiots, and a gaming device.

Last edited by Chickenprotector; 10-17-2013 at 01:01 AM.
Chickenprotector is offline   Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
Old 10-17-2013, 01:17 AM   #14
Iggy
Heartless Threadkiller
D&A Member
Beta Tester
Forum Moderator
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Class/Position: D-Solly / O-Medic
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: [AE] AssEaters
Posts Rated Helpful 17 Times
Does anyone know if this only affects those of us that already have the game, and not the new people that DL it right from Steam?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by zSilver_Fox
See kids? Only Iggy and FT are good enough to post when high.
Publishers Website My book on BN.com My book on Amazon.com

Friend me on Facebook
Follow me on Twitter
Visit my website: http://www.crazyhonky.com/
Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-17-2013, 01:19 AM   #15
NeoNL
Intarnet iz SRS BIZNUS
D&A Member
Wiki Team
Beta Tester
 
NeoNL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Boston, Mass
Class/Position: HWG, Medic
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: +M|M+ -RS K^
Posts Rated Helpful 60 Times
Send a message via Skype™ to NeoNL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iggy View Post
Does anyone know if this only affects those of us that already have the game, and not the new people that DL it right from Steam?
You can't download from steam yet. We still only have a page that redirects. Paper work has to be done prior.
NeoNL is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-17-2013, 01:22 AM   #16
FDA_Approved
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
FDA_Approved's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 128 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iggy View Post
Does anyone know if this only affects those of us that already have the game, and not the new people that DL it right from Steam?
It affects anyone who allowed their sdk 2006 to be updated to the new file format. It's not broken and neither were tfc or hl1. It just means that we have to wait for server providers to reinstall FF with steamCMD.
__________________
Currently equipped: Ban Hammer, +5 fgt smashing.

Last edited by FDA_Approved; 10-17-2013 at 01:22 AM.
FDA_Approved is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-17-2013, 01:34 AM   #17
Chickenprotector
Flamer of Worlds
D&A Member
 
Chickenprotector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Your anus
Class/Position: Pyro (O, grabbing the flag or clearing a path for my team)
Gametype: Organized Capture the Flag
Affiliations: [SoV] - State of Victory
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
Pretty much what FDA said. If the server runs the old version of FF (prior to the Steam Pipe) you need to use the temp fix and/or roll back your installation. If you've got 2007 installed, it's as simple as deleting the 2006 SDK once.

All the servers will be updated by tomorrow. Maybe Friday at the latest.
__________________
Stupidity at its finest usually involves a bottle of bewz, a pack of idiots, and a gaming device.
Chickenprotector is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-17-2013, 05:16 AM   #18
Dexter
Lua Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dexter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts Rated Helpful 31 Times
none of the servers have updated still, so i put one up called lovenest in case anyone tries to play in the meantime

let me know if u want rcon for it to do w/e
__________________
9:17 PM - DEXTER: can you teach me how to play o
9:17 PM - squeek.: you jump a lot
9:18 PM - squeek.: and do sweet moves

Last edited by Dexter; 10-17-2013 at 05:17 AM.
Dexter is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-17-2013, 06:26 AM   #19
KubeDawg
Nade Whore
D&A Member
Server Owner
Beta Tester
 
KubeDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Class/Position: Scout/Soldier
Gametype: CTF/TDM
Affiliations: {Milds}
Posts Rated Helpful 80 Times
Thanks. Could you enable rtv/nominations please? I notified NFO servers about the change yesterday shortly after it was released and they said they hoped to have it done by the end of the day today. Most FF servers use NFO for hosting. That didn't happen tonight so I'm waiting patiently for them to finish rolling out the update.

The official FF server seems to be working, but it lacks the basic rtv functionality.
__________________
Moto's Sexytime Funhouse | Dallas, TX - 72.5.102.26:27015

ff_plunder_b4
KubeDawg is offline   Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
Old 10-17-2013, 05:33 PM   #20
Dexter
Lua Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dexter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts Rated Helpful 31 Times
can you PM me how to do it? it's just a basic server atm
__________________
9:17 PM - DEXTER: can you teach me how to play o
9:17 PM - squeek.: you jump a lot
9:18 PM - squeek.: and do sweet moves
Dexter is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.