Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Editing > Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-06-2013, 09:17 PM   #1
squeek.
Stuff Do-er
Lua Team
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
squeek.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northern California
Class/Position: Rallygun Shooter
Gametype: Conc tag (you just wait)
Affiliations: Mustache Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 348 Times
Send a message via AIM to squeek.
[Tutorial] Porting TFC maps to FF

Requested by aleXtric, figured I'd make it publicly available. EDIT: Tested and updated accordingly.
  • Decompile the TFC .bsp into a .map file using BSP2Map or WinBSPC.
  • Open the .map file in Hammer 3.4
  • Create a game configuration for Hammer 3.4 (can be called anything, don't have to set any options), and add any .wad file to the Textures tab. You can get a usable .wad file here if you don't have TFC installed, otherwise the TFC .wads are in your tfc folder [steamapps/common/half-life/tfc]. Here are some example configuration settings
  • Save as a .rmf file.
  • Open the .rmf in current version of Hammer (Source SDK).
  • Save it as a .vmf file.

For BSP2Map: Unfortunately, all of the decompiled brushes will be unusable. You get the "shell" of each brush; for example, a cube turns into 6 one-unit thick 'walls' of the original cube.

For WinBSPC: This actually seems to create solid brushes, but I'd still suggest recreating the geometry so that you can be sure it works and can optimize it in terms of number of brushes/visibility/func_detailing/etc.

Another note about BSP2Map vs WinBSPC: sometimes entities/brushes will not show up in a decompiled map. It might be wise to decompile using both BSP2Map and WinBSPC and compare the results.

Once in the Source SDK version of Hammer, what I do is select all immediately and put everything in a visgroup. That way I can turn it off/on at will (and it's always there for comparison). So then, you need to recreate all the brushes and entities and everything. Basically, you get a reference for making the map. The actual making of it doesn't become too much easier.

You can download the .vmf of ff_2mesa3_classic and ff_siege_classic to see some examples of ported maps.

For converting TFC textures to the Source engine, see Xwad (I've never used it)
__________________
Support FF:
#FF.Pickup Fortress-Forever pickups

My Non-official Maps
Released FF_DM_Squeek - FF_2Mesa3_Classic - FF_Siege_Classic
Beta FF_Myth - FF_Redlight_Greenlight

Sick of the people on the internet, always moanin'. They just moan.
- Karl Pilkington

Last edited by squeek.; 09-09-2013 at 07:59 AM. Reason: Updated with more detailed info + WinBSPC + Xwad
squeek. is offline   Reply With Quote


2 members found this post helpful.
Old 09-07-2013, 07:06 AM   #2
Lenn
Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
oh..

made this 2 years ago, thnx squeek haha!

ff_2mesa3_beta10000.jpg

ff_2mesa3_beta10001.jpg

ff_2mesa3_beta10002.jpg

ff_2mesa3_beta10003.jpg

ff_2mesa3_beta10004.jpg

Last edited by Lenn; 09-07-2013 at 07:13 AM.
Lenn is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-07-2013, 07:13 AM   #3
R00Kie
Kawaii! ルーキー
Lua Team
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
R00Kie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Nowhere, Kansas
Class/Position: Random
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: BiG, Kawaii!, MustacheBrigade, GoodFellas
Posts Rated Helpful 82 Times
Great information and very useful for porting. Now I understand why you made the classic themed remakes.
__________________
Released: [ Island ] [ Rookie ] [ Limbo ] [ Sonic ] [ Tomb ] [ Skydive2 ] [ Bunkerwars ]
Beta: [ Argon ] [ Reflection ] [ Urbantag ]
Lua: [ game_rules ]
R00Kie is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-07-2013, 03:25 PM   #4
ddm999
worst ff player eu
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: South Yorks., England
Class/Position: o - no, d - scout
Gametype: IvDZ
Posts Rated Helpful 18 Times
Supposedly you can use WinBSPC instead which doesn't hollow out brushes, but it's less accurate and can mess up more complicated maps.

:P

Someone try using both on a map and compare them.

I'd love to port TFC maps.
That is, if I had any.
Or TFC in the first place.

:L
__________________
gg ff not ded
ff very much alive
ddm999 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-07-2013, 05:54 PM   #5
aleXtric
#FF.Pickup Dictator
Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Detroit
Gametype: ADL
Affiliations: KiNGz .
Posts Rated Helpful 100 Times
http://www.tfcrefugees.com/resources/

http://mrclan.com/tfcmaps/

MAPS, start porting
__________________
!add
#FF.Pickup - Quakenet

http://www.ffpickup.com/?p=irc
aleXtric is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-07-2013, 06:31 PM   #6
KubeDawg
Nade Whore
Server Owner
Beta Tester
 
KubeDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Class/Position: Scout/Soldier
Gametype: CTF/TDM
Affiliations: blunt. Moto
Posts Rated Helpful 128 Times
The important ones that need remakes:

Vidars
Badlands
Crossover2
Mooncheese
Osaka
The Keep (minus the huge midmap)
__________________
Moto's Funhouse | Dallas, TX - 74.91.114.247:27015

ff_plunder - Complete
KubeDawg is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-08-2013, 11:15 AM   #7
ddm999
worst ff player eu
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: South Yorks., England
Class/Position: o - no, d - scout
Gametype: IvDZ
Posts Rated Helpful 18 Times
Uh, you do realise I need the TFC textures to open a TFC map, right?

Yeah, I downloaded about 10 TFC maps, downloaded Hammer 3.4 and both WinBSPC and BSP2Map, and converted a map to a .map, then tried to open it, and it just says 'hey no textures for this game dummy go set them up'.

So, yeah, I guess I do need TFC to port TFC maps. WHO WOULD HAVE KNOWN...

edit: also you need quake 3 to use bsp2map
__________________
gg ff not ded
ff very much alive

Last edited by ddm999; 09-08-2013 at 11:17 AM.
ddm999 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-08-2013, 04:06 PM   #8
NeonLight
NeoNL
Wiki Team
Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Boston, Mass
Class/Position: Soldier, Medic
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: +M|M+ -RS
Posts Rated Helpful 157 Times
$5.
NeonLight is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-08-2013, 06:42 PM   #9
squeek.
Stuff Do-er
Lua Team
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
squeek.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northern California
Class/Position: Rallygun Shooter
Gametype: Conc tag (you just wait)
Affiliations: Mustache Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 348 Times
Send a message via AIM to squeek.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddm999 View Post
Uh, you do realise I need the TFC textures to open a TFC map, right?
No, I did not. As I said, it's been at least a couple years since I last did this.

Quote:
Yeah, I downloaded about 10 TFC maps, downloaded Hammer 3.4 and both WinBSPC and BSP2Map, and converted a map to a .map, then tried to open it, and it just says 'hey no textures for this game dummy go set them up'.

So, yeah, I guess I do need TFC to port TFC maps. WHO WOULD HAVE KNOWN...
You can use any .wad file to get past that error. Any of these will work: http://www.cstrike-planet.com/wads

Quote:
edit: also you need quake 3 to use bsp2map
What? How in the world did you come to that conclusion? That's definitely not true. However, winbspc seems to give better geometry, so it might be better to use that. I'm going to update the OP.
__________________
Support FF:
#FF.Pickup Fortress-Forever pickups

My Non-official Maps
Released FF_DM_Squeek - FF_2Mesa3_Classic - FF_Siege_Classic
Beta FF_Myth - FF_Redlight_Greenlight

Sick of the people on the internet, always moanin'. They just moan.
- Karl Pilkington
squeek. is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-08-2013, 08:41 PM   #10
ddm999
worst ff player eu
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: South Yorks., England
Class/Position: o - no, d - scout
Gametype: IvDZ
Posts Rated Helpful 18 Times
Well, I got to that conclusion by it asking me to put the directory to q3 and where q3's bsp program in when I started it up. :P

Also, I don't have $5.

And where do I even put the WAD?

Do I have to make a new folder and set all the mod locations to it?
__________________
gg ff not ded
ff very much alive

Last edited by ddm999; 09-08-2013 at 08:44 PM.
ddm999 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-09-2013, 07:52 AM   #11
squeek.
Stuff Do-er
Lua Team
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
squeek.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northern California
Class/Position: Rallygun Shooter
Gametype: Conc tag (you just wait)
Affiliations: Mustache Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 348 Times
Send a message via AIM to squeek.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddm999 View Post
Well, I got to that conclusion by it asking me to put the directory to q3 and where q3's bsp program in when I started it up. :P

Also, I don't have $5.

And where do I even put the WAD?

Do I have to make a new folder and set all the mod locations to it?
You sure you got the right BSP2Map? Just drag the .bsp onto the BSPTwoMAP.exe and it'll convert it.

Here's my Hammer 3.4 settings (Tools -> Options):


You're not doing anything with Hammer 3.4 but opening the .map and immediately saving as .rmf. That's it. Then you never touch 3.4 again.
__________________
Support FF:
#FF.Pickup Fortress-Forever pickups

My Non-official Maps
Released FF_DM_Squeek - FF_2Mesa3_Classic - FF_Siege_Classic
Beta FF_Myth - FF_Redlight_Greenlight

Sick of the people on the internet, always moanin'. They just moan.
- Karl Pilkington

Last edited by squeek.; 09-09-2013 at 07:55 AM.
squeek. is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-09-2013, 02:56 PM   #12
ddm999
worst ff player eu
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: South Yorks., England
Class/Position: o - no, d - scout
Gametype: IvDZ
Posts Rated Helpful 18 Times
Didn't notice the textures tab. :P

Also, it turns out one of the mirrors goes to Q3's BSP2Map instead of GoldSrc's BSPTwoMap :P

So, fixed that now too.

Also, I opened up Vidars and was immediately confused as to what it actually looks like. It probably is best to have seen the map in TFC before making it in FF. :P
__________________
gg ff not ded
ff very much alive

Last edited by ddm999; 09-09-2013 at 03:09 PM.
ddm999 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 06-03-2014, 07:09 PM   #13
AirTrek
Freedom of Movement
 
AirTrek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Gametype: Attack and Defend
Posts Rated Helpful 20 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lenn View Post
Release it!
AirTrek is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 06-04-2014, 12:28 AM   #14
Ricey
UI Designer
Front-End Developer
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Ricey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Winter Park, FL
Class/Position: D Eng
Gametype: CTF 9v9
Affiliations: .gr , smr
Posts Rated Helpful 44 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by AirTrek View Post
Release it!
it was released and it was horrible.
__________________
Support FF:
Maps : Haste |Scrummage |Mulch_Trench
Voltage | Exchange Classic | Fortsake
ricecakes: I demand SGs get a buff
squeek.: buy it a gym membership


'I have an eye for design' - Kube 2014
Ricey is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 06-04-2014, 01:19 AM   #15
the_cake
Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts Rated Helpful 144 Times
Wasn't bad, just unfinished/unoptimized. Also playing whack-a-scout with rockets at that ladder was pretty hilarious.
the_cake is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 06-04-2014, 01:36 AM   #16
KubeDawg
Nade Whore
Server Owner
Beta Tester
 
KubeDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Class/Position: Scout/Soldier
Gametype: CTF/TDM
Affiliations: blunt. Moto
Posts Rated Helpful 128 Times
Quote:
For WinBSPC: This actually seems to create solid brushes, but I'd still suggest recreating the geometry so that you can be sure it works and can optimize it in terms of number of brushes/visibility/func_detailing/etc.
I completely missed this the first time I read this thread. Very much useful information, ty squeek. I've been porting maps using the other program and yelling at having to delete those stupid hollowed out brushes & recreate each solid brush for the entire map.
__________________
Moto's Funhouse | Dallas, TX - 74.91.114.247:27015

ff_plunder - Complete
KubeDawg is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.