Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Help & Technical > Server Administration

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-28-2014, 11:23 PM   #1
@n!t@
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Connection to server after client's update

Hello guys. After client's update it's impossible to connect to servers because client getting wrong version error (2.46 to 2.46.1). But it's still possible if trying to connect by console. Is it possible to fix on server side somehow?
@n!t@ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 06-29-2014, 03:36 AM   #2
Dexter
internet user
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dexter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 42 Times
hmm interesting corner case, thansk for reporting.. will look into

you had installed 2.46, updated with the auto patcher and then immmediately tried to join server once done?
__________________
9:17 PM - DEXTER: can you teach me how to play o
9:17 PM - squeek.: you jump a lot
9:18 PM - squeek.: and do sweet moves

8:55 PM - FDA: fart in you fridge and blame it on wild animals
Dexter is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 06-29-2014, 06:30 AM   #3
@n!t@
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dexter View Post
hmm interesting corner case, thansk for reporting.. will look into

you had installed 2.46, updated with the auto patcher and then immmediately tried to join server once done?
Yes, of course and some other guys have this problem too:

http://higgs.rghost.ru/private/56610...e70f/image.png
@n!t@ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-02-2014, 06:35 PM   #4
pizzahut
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by @n!t@ View Post
Is it possible to fix on server side somehow?
  • Use SteamCMD to get the latest version of the Source SDK Base 2006 dedicated server (2,3 GB).
  • Make sure you have the latest FF server files. In doubt, get "Fortress Forever 2.46 FULL [SERVER]" (1,1 GB).
  • Update Metamod:Source and SourceMod or remove these mods.

Last edited by pizzahut; 07-02-2014 at 08:10 PM.
pizzahut is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-02-2014, 10:01 PM   #5
@n!t@
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Of course, i have it, but the problem is still here and on some other servers which i see in serverbrowser - too
@n!t@ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-03-2014, 03:34 AM   #6
KubeDawg
Nade Whore
Server Owner
Beta Tester
 
KubeDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Class/Position: Scout/Soldier
Gametype: CTF/TDM
Affiliations: blunt. Moto
Posts Rated Helpful 128 Times
Try this as well:
http://screencast.com/t/E2t7jWLccZl

Both on Source SDK Base 2006 and regular Source SDK. I had to do that to get FF working properly when I downloaded the Steam Pipe update.
__________________
Moto's Funhouse | Dallas, TX - 74.91.114.247:27015

ff_plunder - Complete
KubeDawg is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-04-2014, 01:26 PM   #7
@n!t@
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by KubeDawg View Post
Try this as well:
http://screencast.com/t/E2t7jWLccZl

Both on Source SDK Base 2006 and regular Source SDK. I had to do that to get FF working properly when I downloaded the Steam Pipe update.
It's impossible to use steam on server machine, all i can do is to use steamcmd there
@n!t@ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-06-2014, 12:00 AM   #8
@n!t@
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by pizzahut View Post
  • Use SteamCMD to get the latest version of the Source SDK Base 2006 dedicated server (2,3 GB).
  • Make sure you have the latest FF server files. In doubt, get "Fortress Forever 2.46 FULL [SERVER]" (1,1 GB).
  • Update Metamod:Source and SourceMod or remove these mods.
Clear installation of sdk2006 & ff server - still the same. So, i don't know how to fix it... Any help else?
@n!t@ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-06-2014, 12:07 AM   #9
@n!t@
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by KubeDawg View Post
Try this as well:
http://screencast.com/t/E2t7jWLccZl

Both on Source SDK Base 2006 and regular Source SDK. I had to do that to get FF working properly when I downloaded the Steam Pipe update.
Is it possible to check a difference between sdk2006 by steam and by steamcmd for you and to upload somewhere files which is different? I think, it will be helpful for any servers administrator if it really will fix it.
@n!t@ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-07-2014, 06:21 PM   #10
pizzahut
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Perhaps it's because of sv_master_legacy_mode. This cvar is set to 1 by default which works fine, however in some server configs it might be set to 0 because there used to be a problem with servers not being listed.

So in summary make sure that sv_master_legacy_mode is set to 1.

Last edited by pizzahut; 07-08-2014 at 10:16 AM.
pizzahut is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-08-2014, 12:19 PM   #11
@n!t@
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by pizzahut View Post
Perhaps it's because of sv_master_legacy_mode. This cvar is set to 1 by default which works fine, however in some server configs it might be set to 0 because there used to be a problem with servers not being listed.

So in summary make sure that sv_master_legacy_mode is set to 1.
This is not fixing versions problem, this is just for fixing masterserver's detection
@n!t@ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-08-2014, 02:21 PM   #12
pizzahut
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
I have tried it and depending on the value of this cvar I get the error you mentioned.

Edit:
This suggestion from "The Hidden" forum seems promising, as one of the problems it addresses is:

Quote:
Server supposedly "outdated"
http://forum.hidden-source.com/showt...996#post156996

Last edited by pizzahut; 07-17-2014 at 12:02 PM.
pizzahut is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 08-05-2014, 02:54 PM   #13
@n!t@
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
So, still nothing fixed?
@n!t@ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 08-05-2014, 05:00 PM   #14
pizzahut
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
I was able to join your server today.

Last edited by pizzahut; 08-05-2014 at 10:56 PM.
pizzahut is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 08-05-2014, 07:17 PM   #15
@n!t@
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by pizzahut View Post
I was able to join your server today.
Because it's currently changes sv_master_legacy_mode from 0 to 1 and back again all the time... But this is not way out...
@n!t@ is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.