Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Off Topic > Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-27-2008, 05:53 PM   #41
mixer
Interzone technican
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
not mentioned yet: http://www.faststone.org free image viewer
mixer is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-29-2008, 08:35 PM   #42
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
Annoying people since 1986
 
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Belgium a.k.a. absurdistan
Class/Position: O fatty, pyro - D engy, pyro
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: This space for rent.
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Send a message via MSN to פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
Quote:
Originally Posted by StinkyTaco
Here is some of my favorites :

BBClean- Explorer windows shell replacement, makes windows like Black box/ Fluxbox in linux....Lets me have a volume control in my context menu's and lots of cool looking desktop widgets to choose from.
http://www.lostinthebox.com/viewtopic.php?t=2286

there are a bunch more Black box windows mods out there, I know of 8... you can find out more about them here:
http://www.bb4win.org/news.php

they make your desktop look like this:
http://browse.deviantart.com/customi...hemes/fluxbox/

They style files are cross platform, and compatible with blackbox, or fluxbox in linux.
OMG, that's so sexy! *downloading*

(does it support video files being played on the desktop like DreamScene™ ?)

*edit* HOLY FUCK this speeds up my pc!

Last edited by פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ; 09-29-2008 at 08:44 PM.
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-30-2008, 10:11 AM   #43
squeek.
Stuff Do-er
Lua Team
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
squeek.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northern California
Class/Position: Rallygun Shooter
Gametype: Conc tag (you just wait)
Affiliations: Mustache Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 348 Times
Send a message via AIM to squeek.
Quote:
Originally Posted by StinkyTaco
Here is some of my favorites :

BBClean- Explorer windows shell replacement, makes windows like Black box/ Fluxbox in linux....Lets me have a volume control in my context menu's and lots of cool looking desktop widgets to choose from.
http://www.lostinthebox.com/viewtopic.php?t=2286
Attempted to use this, but customization was a chore. Gotten used to litestep I guess.
__________________
Support FF:
#FF.Pickup Fortress-Forever pickups

My Non-official Maps
Released FF_DM_Squeek - FF_2Mesa3_Classic - FF_Siege_Classic
Beta FF_Myth - FF_Redlight_Greenlight

Sick of the people on the internet, always moanin'. They just moan.
- Karl Pilkington
squeek. is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-07-2008, 06:08 PM   #44
mervaka
A Very Sound Guy!
Fortress Forever Staff
 
mervaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK
Posts Rated Helpful 15 Times
i dont get on with fluxbox. its too minimalistic. GNOME is bang on for me. KDE is too OTT. XFCE is alright, but again a little lacking.
mervaka is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-07-2008, 10:09 PM   #45
Paft
Beta Tester
 
Paft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK - http://forums.fortress-forever.com
Class/Position: [O] Med
Gametype: CTF/Skills
Posts Rated Helpful 67 Times
Just come across Emerge - alternative desktop shell.

I do like these shell replacements and whatnot. But when it comes to familiarizing myself with the layout and configuring I'm a bit impatient and give up too soon. Plus it's extra work trying to get other desktop enhancements to match.

Edit: VLC has had it's interface updated. Finally full screen controls!

Last edited by Paft; 10-08-2008 at 03:42 AM.
Paft is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-08-2008, 09:57 PM   #46
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
Annoying people since 1986
 
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Belgium a.k.a. absurdistan
Class/Position: O fatty, pyro - D engy, pyro
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: This space for rent.
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Send a message via MSN to פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paft
Just come across Emerge - alternative desktop shell.

I do like these shell replacements and whatnot. But when it comes to familiarizing myself with the layout and configuring I'm a bit impatient and give up too soon. Plus it's extra work trying to get other desktop enhancements to match.

Edit: VLC has had it's interface updated. Finally full screen controls!
I love you
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-08-2008, 11:50 PM   #47
squeek.
Stuff Do-er
Lua Team
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
squeek.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northern California
Class/Position: Rallygun Shooter
Gametype: Conc tag (you just wait)
Affiliations: Mustache Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 348 Times
Send a message via AIM to squeek.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paft
Edit: VLC has had it's interface updated. Finally full screen controls!
Finally!
__________________
Support FF:
#FF.Pickup Fortress-Forever pickups

My Non-official Maps
Released FF_DM_Squeek - FF_2Mesa3_Classic - FF_Siege_Classic
Beta FF_Myth - FF_Redlight_Greenlight

Sick of the people on the internet, always moanin'. They just moan.
- Karl Pilkington
squeek. is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-09-2008, 12:22 AM   #48
Paft
Beta Tester
 
Paft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK - http://forums.fortress-forever.com
Class/Position: [O] Med
Gametype: CTF/Skills
Posts Rated Helpful 67 Times
Hmmzorz babble

That's what kept me from using VLC. I have forever used MPC and more recently MPC HC. I am not a video/codecs boffin so I don't know how they compare on the technical side of things in terms of quality and so on. So can't deride which is right for me.

I think If I didn't know about MPC HC I'd certainly be using VLC as my global video player as of now. Got it installed anyway if I ever run into problems with MPC.
Paft is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-09-2008, 07:40 AM   #49
Dospac
Retired FF Staff
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Send a message via ICQ to Dospac Send a message via AIM to Dospac Send a message via MSN to Dospac Send a message via Yahoo to Dospac
Didn't see this yet, this is a must have for p2p users running Windoze.

www.half-open.com

Raises the half open connection limit to something manageable so the net doesn't die on your machine when you're running a few torrents for example.
Dospac is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-10-2008, 08:38 AM   #50
Paft
Beta Tester
 
Paft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK - http://forums.fortress-forever.com
Class/Position: [O] Med
Gametype: CTF/Skills
Posts Rated Helpful 67 Times
I have always been meaning to look into why I cannot browse when torrenting. I expected the solution to be a lot more complicated than this. Thanks.
Paft is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-10-2008, 05:32 PM   #51
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
Annoying people since 1986
 
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Belgium a.k.a. absurdistan
Class/Position: O fatty, pyro - D engy, pyro
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: This space for rent.
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Send a message via MSN to פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
emerge is fucking great but where can I find some cool widgets and how can I change to look of the titlebars?

Google has failed me!
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-10-2008, 10:06 PM   #52
Circuitous
Useless
Retired FF Staff
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Class/Position: D Soldier, O Scout
Gametype: AvD
Posts Rated Helpful 9 Times
Send a message via AIM to Circuitous Send a message via MSN to Circuitous Send a message via Yahoo to Circuitous Send a message via Skype™ to Circuitous
I'm actually quite enjoying this BlackBox/Samurize business.
__________________
Look at all those dead links.
Circuitous is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-10-2008, 10:54 PM   #53
Paft
Beta Tester
 
Paft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK - http://forums.fortress-forever.com
Class/Position: [O] Med
Gametype: CTF/Skills
Posts Rated Helpful 67 Times
I can't see anything either. I played around with it for 5 mins that time. The potential is there for wonderful things :], it's just default looks like shit and I can't be arsed setting it up all.

Me too Circ. Well, sam anyway. Looks good that.
Mine:
http://www.fortress-forever.com/foru...2&postcount=51
--------------------------

ClipX

"ClipX is a tiny clipboard history manager. It is sweet, it is free, use it."
Paft is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-10-2008, 11:10 PM   #54
theqwert125
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
WinDirStat

Finds out where exactly you used up all that hard drive space.

Last edited by theqwert125; 10-16-2008 at 12:16 AM.
theqwert125 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-11-2008, 03:22 AM   #55
Circuitous
Useless
Retired FF Staff
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Class/Position: D Soldier, O Scout
Gametype: AvD
Posts Rated Helpful 9 Times
Send a message via AIM to Circuitous Send a message via MSN to Circuitous Send a message via Yahoo to Circuitous Send a message via Skype™ to Circuitous
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paft
I can't see anything either. I played around with it for 5 mins that time. The potential is there for wonderful things :], it's just default looks like shit and I can't be arsed setting it up all.

Me too Circ. Well, sam anyway. Looks good that.
Mine:
http://www.fortress-forever.com/foru...2&postcount=51
--------------------------

ClipX

"ClipX is a tiny clipboard history manager. It is sweet, it is free, use it."
It was pretty fun making my own Samurize config actually.

I haven't really looked at Emerge yet.
__________________
Look at all those dead links.
Circuitous is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-11-2008, 02:38 PM   #56
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
Annoying people since 1986
 
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Belgium a.k.a. absurdistan
Class/Position: O fatty, pyro - D engy, pyro
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: This space for rent.
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Send a message via MSN to פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paft
Me too Circ. Well, sam anyway. Looks good that.
Mine:http://www.fortress-forever.com/foru...2&postcount=51
Hmm I love the icons in screen 2, any idea were I might get 'em?
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-11-2008, 02:44 PM   #57
Paft
Beta Tester
 
Paft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK - http://forums.fortress-forever.com
Class/Position: [O] Med
Gametype: CTF/Skills
Posts Rated Helpful 67 Times
http://chrfb.deviantart.com/art/quot...t-PNG-59941546



That's enough messing with the Desktop from me, feeling like a looser.

Last edited by Paft; 10-11-2008 at 06:18 PM.
Paft is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-11-2008, 09:05 PM   #58
Circuitous
Useless
Retired FF Staff
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Class/Position: D Soldier, O Scout
Gametype: AvD
Posts Rated Helpful 9 Times
Send a message via AIM to Circuitous Send a message via MSN to Circuitous Send a message via Yahoo to Circuitous Send a message via Skype™ to Circuitous
Weird question, but are there any desktop managers or shell extensions for windows that, rather than giving you multiple desktops, instead gives you one GIANT desktop that you can scroll around?

I know that with a few of the Linux window managers you can get four desktops arranged in a square, but you have to swap fully between them rather than scrolling through.
__________________
Look at all those dead links.
Circuitous is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-13-2008, 10:28 PM   #59
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
Annoying people since 1986
 
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Belgium a.k.a. absurdistan
Class/Position: O fatty, pyro - D engy, pyro
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: This space for rent.
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Send a message via MSN to פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
Anyone has a good (preferably free) program to change the GUI in vista?

I'm stomped.
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-14-2008, 10:42 PM   #60
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
Annoying people since 1986
 
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Belgium a.k.a. absurdistan
Class/Position: O fatty, pyro - D engy, pyro
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: This space for rent.
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Send a message via MSN to פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
YAY DOUPLE PROAST!

I found a free, nifty, little copy manager called 'teracopy' it's fast and very user friendly! > http://www.codesector.com/teracopy.php
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.