Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Help & Technical > FF Technical Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2015, 08:26 AM   #1
Sickness
 
Sickness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Armpit of hell (Arizona)
Class/Position: Suicide Engie
Gametype: FPS teams
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
HL2.exe has stopped working??

ok im running win7 ultimate 64 bit, 42 in monitor running 1080p 1600 by 900 through hdmi and running steam as well as hl2 in admin mode, anything im missing besides my patience? (that left a few hours ago) i have uninstalled hl2, forever fortress as well as steam, same damn error i guess this is still in beta either that or it has never been properly beta tested. please help would like to play this, love tfc, tf2 is ok but the classic has always been better. I have tried the fixes and custom start up code posted here, have tried running in admin mode but still am unable to get the game to actually start, It mever gets past the initial loading screen. Please help anyone. Anything is appreciated thank you in advance.


Last edited by Sickness; 04-07-2015 at 08:27 AM.
Sickness is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-08-2015, 12:37 PM   #2
AirTrek
Freedom of Movement
 
AirTrek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Gametype: Attack and Defend
Posts Rated Helpful 20 Times
Have you installed all of your Windows updates? Seems like a generic answer, but when I got a new computer and my Windows wasn't updated, I'd crash every time I'd start up the game. That went away when I installed all the updates.
__________________
˙·٠●My customs●٠·˙

AirTrek is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-08-2015, 02:12 PM   #3
Iggy
Heartless Threadkiller
Beta Tester
Forum Moderator
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Class/Position: D-Solly / O-Medic
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: [AE] AssEaters
Posts Rated Helpful 41 Times
I only get that when I quit the game... and at that point, it doesn't matter.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by zSilver_Fox
See kids? Only Iggy and FT are good enough to post when high.
Publishers Website My book on BN.com My book on Amazon.com

Friend me on Facebook
Follow me on Twitter
Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-10-2015, 07:47 PM   #4
Gemini Saga
 
Gemini Saga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
Class/Position: Soldier - D
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
I have this error sometimes too. It is annoying.

Windows 8.1 64 bits, 8GB RAM, Core i5 4430.
Gemini Saga is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-10-2015, 08:46 PM   #5
Headz
 
Headz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: England
Posts Rated Helpful 81 Times
I had this problem I posted a fix, the fix applied to me anyway.

Quote:
FIXED
found a corrupt d3dx9_[insert_numbers].dll files

running dxwebsetup.exe did not help until I deleted the .dll's first in C:\Windows\SysWOW64 then the setup replaced them, and all was fixed, leaving this here incase someone else has this problem.

http://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/downl...ils.aspx?id=35
__________________
Compile error:
Leaf portal saw into Cluster Phuck
Headz is offline   Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
Old 04-11-2015, 02:00 AM   #6
WiFiDi
Beta Tester
 
WiFiDi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Class/Position: Soldier
Gametype: Capture the Flag is there any other
Posts Rated Helpful 26 Times
alot of people seem to be havin this issue. and crashing when trying to join server. (over on steam forums)
__________________
WiFi's Stream
Support FF:
Failure is always an option.
It's a happy massacre?! (yes, yes it is!)
To make most awesome thing in universe combine Bears and Nicholas Cage!
and remember kids, we didn't start the flame-war!
WiFiDi is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-12-2015, 05:49 AM   #7
Sickness
 
Sickness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Armpit of hell (Arizona)
Class/Position: Suicide Engie
Gametype: FPS teams
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
trouble is on the steam forums, there is little to no help just too many people with the same issue
Sickness is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-12-2015, 05:53 AM   #8
Sickness
 
Sickness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Armpit of hell (Arizona)
Class/Position: Suicide Engie
Gametype: FPS teams
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by AirTrek View Post
Have you installed all of your Windows updates? Seems like a generic answer, but when I got a new computer and my Windows wasn't updated, I'd crash every time I'd start up the game. That went away when I installed all the updates.
Yes, this is my baby i built her, i check for updates every day including gfx card bios updatesif the devs read this i can post my dxdiag if it would help im interesting in playing this game but have spent 3 hours trying to play a game the will not even open, kinda pointless and very beta'ish def not release quality yet too many issues
Sickness is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.