Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Editing > Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-20-2013, 11:00 PM   #1
[TALOS]Smoke
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Killeen, Tx, USA
Class/Position: Demo Defense
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Affiliations: [TALOS]
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
need help with a map

I've got a couple things that I'm trying to figure out and seem to be stuck. The map I'm building calls for a key in place of the flag, so I was wondering if there is someone who can set up the model and also make the lines in the lua.
Second I need a door and button to be set up so that it can only be used by the player that has the key.
And last thing, I need a respawn turret that is only activated by a button.
I'm driving myself crazy trying to figure out how to do anything that's is really in depth regarding the lua.
I'd appreciate any help greatly
[TALOS]Smoke is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 06-20-2013, 11:28 PM   #2
KubeDawg
Nade Whore
Server Owner
Beta Tester
 
KubeDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Class/Position: Scout/Soldier
Gametype: CTF/TDM
Affiliations: blunt. Moto
Posts Rated Helpful 128 Times
Maybe decompile the rock map and grab the key model from it?
__________________
Moto's Funhouse | Dallas, TX - 74.91.114.247:27015

ff_plunder - Complete
KubeDawg is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 06-21-2013, 02:46 AM   #3
[TALOS]Smoke
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Killeen, Tx, USA
Class/Position: Demo Defense
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Affiliations: [TALOS]
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
I thought about doing that, but then I realized that the key/flag isn't really an actual prop, it's a script so it occured to me that I might be able to check the lua for the scripting but the version of rock2 that I keep finding doesn't have a lua.
[TALOS]Smoke is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 06-21-2013, 07:53 PM   #4
ddm999
worst ff player eu
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: South Yorks., England
Class/Position: o - no, d - scout
Gametype: IvDZ
Posts Rated Helpful 18 Times
http://forums.fortress-forever.com/s...ad.php?t=20496
is rock2's download, and it comes with lua.

Use this:

Code:
IncludeScript("base_ctf")

red_flag = baseflag:new({			 team = Team.kRed,
						 model = "models/keycard/keycard.mdl",
						 modelskin = 1,
						 name = "Red Flag",
						 hudicon = "hud_flag_red_new.vtf",
						 hudx = 5,
						 hudy = 150,
						 hudwidth = 70,
						 hudheight = 70,
						 hudalign = 1,
						 hudstatusicondropped = "hud_flag_dropped_red.vtf",
						 hudstatusiconhome = "hud_flag_home_red.vtf",
						 hudstatusiconcarried = "hud_flag_carried_red.vtf",
						 hudstatusiconx = 60,
						 hudstatusicony = 5,
						 hudstatusiconw = 15,
						 hudstatusiconh = 15,
						 hudstatusiconalign = 3,
						 objectiveicon = true,
						 touchflags = {AllowFlags.kOnlyPlayers,AllowFlags.kBlue,AllowFlags.kYellow,AllowFlags.kGreen}
						 })

blue_flag = baseflag:new({			 team = Team.kBlue,
						 model = "models/keycard/keycard.mdl",
						 modelskin = 0,
						 name = "Blue Flag",
						 hudicon = "hud_flag_blue_new.vtf",
						 hudx = 5,
						 hudy = 80,
						 hudwidth = 70,
						 hudheight = 70,
						 hudalign = 1, 
						 hudstatusicondropped = "hud_flag_dropped_blue.vtf",
						 hudstatusiconhome = "hud_flag_home_blue.vtf",
						 hudstatusiconcarried = "hud_flag_carried_blue.vtf",
						 hudstatusiconx = 60,
						 hudstatusicony = 5,
						 hudstatusiconw = 15,
						 hudstatusiconh = 15,
						 hudstatusiconalign = 2,
						 objectiveicon = true,
						 touchflags = {AllowFlags.kOnlyPlayers,AllowFlags.kRed,AllowFlags.kYellow,AllowFlags.kGreen}
						 })

redflag = red_flag
blueflag = blue_flag
It replaces the flag with the key, and also un-underscores it too if you don't use them.

The key model must come with FF L:
__________________
gg ff not ded
ff very much alive
ddm999 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 06-22-2013, 02:05 AM   #5
[TALOS]Smoke
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Killeen, Tx, USA
Class/Position: Demo Defense
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Affiliations: [TALOS]
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
I put that script in the lua and the flag is't showing up still, I can't seem to find the model in the model viewer, or in sdk so there's no way for me to put in the path in the lua.
I'm still trying to work on getting the turret to work when you push the button, I'm thinking about scrapping the button/turret system all together in favor of maybe a button and gas or something the like.
It's getting frustrating, there is a lot of trial and error and I don't want to resort to talking the easy way out, but I really have to move on to getting the rest of the little details worked out and then I'll come back to them. Hopefully in the meantime someone might have some advice for me.
[TALOS]Smoke is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 06-26-2013, 04:48 AM   #6
[TALOS]Smoke
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Killeen, Tx, USA
Class/Position: Demo Defense
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Affiliations: [TALOS]
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
So I scrapped the turrets in favor of a gas system, It's all done and working properly. So that's one less thing to worry about now, I still have to figure out how to do the other things so still hoping someone has some input that might help.
[TALOS]Smoke is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.