Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Editing > Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-07-2015, 08:25 AM   #1
Fat-Suzy
Server Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: New Zealand
Class/Position: Engineer / Heavy.
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Affiliations: {TALOS}
Posts Rated Helpful 74 Times
player sizes?

Anyone know where i can get information on player sizes for mapping, by that i mean things like:

Player Height Standing
Player Height Crouching
Player Eye Level
Max Jump Height
Max Jump + Crouch Height
Max Step Height
Player Width

Etc etc, Im also looking for similar information for tfc and qwtf... Would be really useful for porting maps to scale.
Fat-Suzy is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-08-2015, 01:29 AM   #2
squeek.
Stuff Do-er
Lua Team
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
squeek.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northern California
Class/Position: Rallygun Shooter
Gametype: Conc tag (you just wait)
Affiliations: Mustache Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 336 Times
Send a message via AIM to squeek.
This should be mostly accurate I believe: https://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/Dimensions

The jump heights might be different, though.

Player heights were the same in TFC (though sometimes it doesn't feel like it), not positive about QWTF.

If you want to port a map from TFC with the scale intact, you can follow this guide: http://forums.fortress-forever.com/s...ad.php?t=24249
__________________
Support FF:
#FF.Pickup Fortress-Forever pickups

My Non-official Maps
Released FF_DM_Squeek - FF_2Mesa3_Classic - FF_Siege_Classic
Beta FF_Myth - FF_Redlight_Greenlight

Sick of the people on the internet, always moanin'. They just moan.
- Karl Pilkington
squeek. is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-09-2015, 12:54 AM   #3
Fat-Suzy
Server Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: New Zealand
Class/Position: Engineer / Heavy.
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Affiliations: {TALOS}
Posts Rated Helpful 74 Times
Thanks man.. If anyone else is interested quake players are 56 units high whilst half-life / Ff players are 72. If my math is correct scaling a quake map by a factor of 1.285 ( I used 1.3) will make the proportions right for Ff. but be warned only do the scaling just before each compile and keep a regular size working copy as scaling by odd numbers throws all the brushes off grid.
Fat-Suzy is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-09-2015, 09:52 PM   #4
FDA_Approved
Beta Tester
 
FDA_Approved's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 287 Times
Yeah you would make everything so much easier for yourself if you just rounded up or down and kept everything on grid the whole time. Hammer can be a nightmare when you start to do goofy stuff. I'd suggest rounding up or down, and just scaling it to what seems comfortable. It doesn't have to be perfectly to scale. Take phantom for example, very comfortable, not a 1:1 port.
__________________
Currently equipped: Rad Scarf of liberating happiness.

Last edited by FDA_Approved; 07-09-2015 at 09:53 PM.
FDA_Approved is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-09-2015, 10:08 PM   #5
squeek.
Stuff Do-er
Lua Team
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
squeek.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northern California
Class/Position: Rallygun Shooter
Gametype: Conc tag (you just wait)
Affiliations: Mustache Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 336 Times
Send a message via AIM to squeek.
Quote:
Originally Posted by FDA_Approved View Post
Take phantom for example, very comfortable, not a 1:1 port.
I actually have a 1:1 port of phantom sitting on my computer. I forget why I made it and also why I never released it... I should do that.
__________________
Support FF:
#FF.Pickup Fortress-Forever pickups

My Non-official Maps
Released FF_DM_Squeek - FF_2Mesa3_Classic - FF_Siege_Classic
Beta FF_Myth - FF_Redlight_Greenlight

Sick of the people on the internet, always moanin'. They just moan.
- Karl Pilkington

Last edited by squeek.; 07-09-2015 at 10:09 PM.
squeek. is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-09-2015, 10:51 PM   #6
FDA_Approved
Beta Tester
 
FDA_Approved's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 287 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by squeek. View Post
I actually have a 1:1 port of phantom sitting on my computer. I forget why I made it and also why I never released it... I should do that.
Probably getting ready to port it to minecraft.
__________________
Currently equipped: Rad Scarf of liberating happiness.
FDA_Approved is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-07-2015, 06:47 AM   #7
GiGaBiTe
 
GiGaBiTe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Send a message via AIM to GiGaBiTe
Quote:
Originally Posted by squeek. View Post
This should be mostly accurate I believe: https://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/Dimensions
They aren't.

All Quake lineage engines are 1 unit = 1 inch, you can even see it in the compile tool debug output.

Whoever made those measurements were confused about the player height being scaled to match the world instead of the other way around.
GiGaBiTe is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-08-2015, 07:11 PM   #8
squeek.
Stuff Do-er
Lua Team
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
squeek.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northern California
Class/Position: Rallygun Shooter
Gametype: Conc tag (you just wait)
Affiliations: Mustache Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 336 Times
Send a message via AIM to squeek.
Quote:
Originally Posted by GiGaBiTe View Post
They aren't.

All Quake lineage engines are 1 unit = 1 inch, you can even see it in the compile tool debug output.

Whoever made those measurements were confused about the player height being scaled to match the world instead of the other way around.
HL2 seems to have complicated that. From here:

Quote:
The 1 unit : 1 inch (or 12 unit = 1 foot) scale applies only to Human Character models (for reasons only known to Valve :/), not to Map geometry. For evidence see the Dev/ textures for doors, etc, in Hammer. The Hammer grid-snap increments also lend themselves to thinking of dimensions in terms of feet rather than inches, as they are simple multiples (or fractions) of 16 units. --Beeswax 12:19, 31 Jan 2008 (PST)
__________________
Support FF:
#FF.Pickup Fortress-Forever pickups

My Non-official Maps
Released FF_DM_Squeek - FF_2Mesa3_Classic - FF_Siege_Classic
Beta FF_Myth - FF_Redlight_Greenlight

Sick of the people on the internet, always moanin'. They just moan.
- Karl Pilkington
squeek. is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-10-2015, 04:01 AM   #9
GiGaBiTe
 
GiGaBiTe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Send a message via AIM to GiGaBiTe
Just because the hammer grid has a major division every 16 inches doesn't change the scale.

If you make a 1"x1"x1" model and put 16 of them in a row, they'll line up perfectly with the hammer grid.

You have to look at the history of Hammer to understand why they used a base 2 grid to describe the world. Worldcraft as it was originally called, was originally a Quake map editor. Half-Life and later Source were more bolted on hacks cobbled together into Hammer.

It's easier to work with base 2 numbers in memory over some arbitrary definition like 12, 24, 36, etc. You end up having to allocate more memory to do such things, and in 1996 memory was expensive and computers were much slower so you had to do everything possible to speed things up. The base inch unit hasn't changed, it's just the grid isn't going to align to feet, yards or miles.

Hammer could be recoded to allow changing how the grid is defined, but you'd also have to change the terrible compile tools because I doubt they'd tolerate it. The current compile tools barely work as is and only make an approximation of the level you design because the precision is so bad.
GiGaBiTe is offline   Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.