Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Editing > Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-14-2010, 12:56 AM   #21
NeonLight
NeoNL
Wiki Team
Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Boston, Mass
Class/Position: Soldier, Medic
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: +M|M+ -RS
Posts Rated Helpful 157 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricey View Post
yay, I can finish haste now!
Since when did you finish maps
NeonLight is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-14-2010, 08:13 PM   #22
Ricey
UI Designer
Front-End Developer
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Ricey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Winter Park, FL
Class/Position: D Eng
Gametype: CTF 9v9
Affiliations: .gr , smr
Posts Rated Helpful 44 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeoNL View Post
Since when did you finish maps
Shut yo mouth! I finished haste_classic and scrummage_classic!
__________________
Support FF:
Maps : Haste |Scrummage |Mulch_Trench
Voltage | Exchange Classic | Fortsake
ricecakes: I demand SGs get a buff
squeek.: buy it a gym membership


'I have an eye for design' - Kube 2014
Ricey is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-14-2010, 08:32 PM   #23
NeonLight
NeoNL
Wiki Team
Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Boston, Mass
Class/Position: Soldier, Medic
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: +M|M+ -RS
Posts Rated Helpful 157 Times
Plz, those are _classic maps. Anyone can do those. Get srs here.
NeonLight is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-14-2010, 08:45 PM   #24
Pon
Not choking. Yet.
Lua Team
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Pon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Scotland
Class/Position: Demo/Def - Spy/Off
Gametype: Anything but yet more fucking CTF
Affiliations: FF.AvD [FF AvD/ID guild]
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeoNL View Post
Anyone can do those.
Anyone who has his own personal Lua slave...
__________________
Support FF:

YOU GUYS REALLY SHOULD UPDATE YOUR STAFF LIST!
I haven't posted since 2010...

Preferable to death. But only just...

Last edited by Pon; 01-14-2010 at 08:46 PM. Reason: PERSONAL not PERSONALLY!!!
Pon is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-15-2010, 06:32 AM   #25
Dr.Satan
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dr.Satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Class/Position: Med / Solly
Gametype: PAYLOAD
Affiliations: DET-
Posts Rated Helpful 19 Times
right...I couldn't even get pon to finish the hostile lua for me!

Also, this thread is official derailed, but I'm gonna allow it simply b/c it's keeping this thread bold lol
__________________
(Released) conc_school | hellion_classic | ksour_PAYLOAD | mulch_faf
(Beta) alchimy_b1
(Lua) base_payload_2015
(Models) props_trainyard
Support FF:
Dr.Satan is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-15-2010, 08:02 AM   #26
Ricey
UI Designer
Front-End Developer
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Ricey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Winter Park, FL
Class/Position: D Eng
Gametype: CTF 9v9
Affiliations: .gr , smr
Posts Rated Helpful 44 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Satan View Post
right...I couldn't even get pon to finish the hostile lua for me!

Also, this thread is official derailed, but I'm gonna allow it simply b/c it's keeping this thread bold lol
Haha, sucker ;D
__________________
Support FF:
Maps : Haste |Scrummage |Mulch_Trench
Voltage | Exchange Classic | Fortsake
ricecakes: I demand SGs get a buff
squeek.: buy it a gym membership


'I have an eye for design' - Kube 2014
Ricey is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-16-2010, 01:28 AM   #27
Dr.Satan
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dr.Satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Class/Position: Med / Solly
Gametype: PAYLOAD
Affiliations: DET-
Posts Rated Helpful 19 Times
Carl,

Is there a way to and/or are you planning on implementing something that will allow someone to create different skins? I haven't been able to find a way except to create 2 distinct models.
__________________
(Released) conc_school | hellion_classic | ksour_PAYLOAD | mulch_faf
(Beta) alchimy_b1
(Lua) base_payload_2015
(Models) props_trainyard
Support FF:
Dr.Satan is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-16-2010, 03:27 AM   #28
Pon
Not choking. Yet.
Lua Team
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Pon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Scotland
Class/Position: Demo/Def - Spy/Off
Gametype: Anything but yet more fucking CTF
Affiliations: FF.AvD [FF AvD/ID guild]
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Just so my every post in this topic isn't completely off-topic...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Satan View Post
Carl,

Is there a way to and/or are you planning on implementing something that will allow someone to create different skins? I haven't been able to find a way except to create 2 distinct models.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazycarl View Post
New version, beta 0.22, is out. Displacements are supported, as are multiple skins on your props.


I think Carl put the info about how to do it on Propper's Valve Wiki page.
__________________
Support FF:

YOU GUYS REALLY SHOULD UPDATE YOUR STAFF LIST!
I haven't posted since 2010...

Preferable to death. But only just...
Pon is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-16-2010, 06:57 PM   #29
Dr.Satan
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dr.Satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Class/Position: Med / Solly
Gametype: PAYLOAD
Affiliations: DET-
Posts Rated Helpful 19 Times
oh shit!
__________________
(Released) conc_school | hellion_classic | ksour_PAYLOAD | mulch_faf
(Beta) alchimy_b1
(Lua) base_payload_2015
(Models) props_trainyard
Support FF:
Dr.Satan is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-19-2010, 09:59 PM   #30
Crazycarl
D&A Member
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Crazycarl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 31 Times
Lol i snuck it in just for you satan.
Crazycarl is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-20-2010, 05:32 AM   #31
Dr.Satan
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dr.Satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Class/Position: Med / Solly
Gametype: PAYLOAD
Affiliations: DET-
Posts Rated Helpful 19 Times
I seriously love you carl...this fucking this is so amazing!
__________________
(Released) conc_school | hellion_classic | ksour_PAYLOAD | mulch_faf
(Beta) alchimy_b1
(Lua) base_payload_2015
(Models) props_trainyard
Support FF:
Dr.Satan is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-21-2010, 08:32 PM   #32
Ricey
UI Designer
Front-End Developer
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Ricey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Winter Park, FL
Class/Position: D Eng
Gametype: CTF 9v9
Affiliations: .gr , smr
Posts Rated Helpful 44 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Satan View Post
I seriously love you carl...this fucking this is so amazing!
What the FUCK is this Satan, i thought you LOVED me!!!!!
__________________
Support FF:
Maps : Haste |Scrummage |Mulch_Trench
Voltage | Exchange Classic | Fortsake
ricecakes: I demand SGs get a buff
squeek.: buy it a gym membership


'I have an eye for design' - Kube 2014
Ricey is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-22-2010, 07:44 AM   #33
Dr.Satan
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dr.Satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Class/Position: Med / Solly
Gametype: PAYLOAD
Affiliations: DET-
Posts Rated Helpful 19 Times
until you make something better, your out!
__________________
(Released) conc_school | hellion_classic | ksour_PAYLOAD | mulch_faf
(Beta) alchimy_b1
(Lua) base_payload_2015
(Models) props_trainyard
Support FF:
Dr.Satan is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 06-06-2010, 04:11 AM   #34
Crazycarl
D&A Member
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Crazycarl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 31 Times
Bumping the thread because I've updated Propper!

Changes since last release:
  • Fixed bug where using propper_skins resulted in a number of invalid skins.
  • Propper now deals with complex collision models better, and warns you when you should maybe cut down on the number of solid brushes.
  • Vertex welding hopefully gives nicer results.
  • propper_options is the new preferred name of the config entity. Use of it is now required.
  • propper_physics is the new preferred name of the physics entity.
New entities allow you to add functionality to props:
  1. propper_attachments: add attachment points to a model (for cables and particles)
  2. propper_cables: add ropes/cables to dynamic models!
  3. propper_particles: attach particle emitters to dynamic models (2007 engine and later only)
  4. propper_physgun_interactions: add custom behavior to physics props--eg. stick to walls, paint splatter, impale enemies
  5. propper_gibs: pick custom physics models to use as gibs when the prop breaks

Here's that link again: http://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/Propper
Crazycarl is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 06-06-2010, 04:40 AM   #35
cjeshjoir™
1-800-UNAGIPOWA
 
cjeshjoir™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: California, USA
Gametype: AvD, Spirit of TFC
Affiliations: ™.AvD
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Send a message via AIM to cjeshjoir™ Send a message via Skype™ to cjeshjoir™
Sweet, this is gonna be way fun.

I managed to get a model with custom gibs compiled using only propper by editing the qc and making it read only. Was quite a learning experience.
__________________

" In my opinion the testing team isn't really made for or of public players, it's made for competative players... " ¹ -Scuzzy (post# 462713)
cjeshjoir™ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 08-21-2010, 11:01 AM   #36
Elmo
Gets tickled by FF
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Elmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK
Class/Position: Med Solly HW
Gametype: Any/CTF
Posts Rated Helpful 41 Times
Errrm, dude, can I use propper to make static (not dynamic) ropes?

Basically I have so many ropes in medieval (since beta1) that it crashes the map when you go spectator and zoom out of the skybox.

There's no need for any movement in them at all. I've wanted someone to make them into props for years but no one has ever done it for me. If propper can do it then I'd be really happy cause they add a nice bit of detail to the map.

Used it for the first time (successfully) today. Last time I tried it it was the first version - somehow I messed it up and got no prop! Seemed nice n easy to work this time
__________________
Support FF:
Done: ff_monkey
Done: ff_bases
Done: ff_warpath
Forever Doing: ff_medieval (beta#99999999)

Last edited by Elmo; 08-21-2010 at 11:03 AM.
Elmo is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 08-21-2010, 02:35 PM   #37
Crazycarl
D&A Member
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Crazycarl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 31 Times
If you build ropes out of brushes, you can make those into static props. Ropes that you add will only for on dynamic props.
Crazycarl is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 08-21-2010, 02:36 PM   #38
Elmo
Gets tickled by FF
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Elmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK
Class/Position: Med Solly HW
Gametype: Any/CTF
Posts Rated Helpful 41 Times
kk - will take a while (so many ropes) but I might just do that.
__________________
Support FF:
Done: ff_monkey
Done: ff_bases
Done: ff_warpath
Forever Doing: ff_medieval (beta#99999999)

Last edited by Elmo; 08-21-2010 at 02:36 PM.
Elmo is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 08-28-2010, 10:55 AM   #39
Elmo
Gets tickled by FF
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Elmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK
Class/Position: Med Solly HW
Gametype: Any/CTF
Posts Rated Helpful 41 Times
Hey Carl,

I'm propping something that's only displacement. I encountered that bug and put a nodraw func_detail block in which sorted it. 2 things:

My skins dont seem to work
My collisions dont work, I got a large box offset from my model.
__________________
Support FF:
Done: ff_monkey
Done: ff_bases
Done: ff_warpath
Forever Doing: ff_medieval (beta#99999999)

Last edited by Elmo; 08-28-2010 at 10:56 AM.
Elmo is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 08-28-2010, 04:17 PM   #40
Crazycarl
D&A Member
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Crazycarl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 31 Times
Displacements aren't solid. If you need collisions, put in a clip brush.

I've noticed that if you have only two skins, it ignores the second one--apparently a logic error on my part--Add a third skin setting (can be the same as the second one) and it should work.
Crazycarl is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.