Fortress Forever

Fortress Forever (http://forums.fortress-forever.com/index.php)
-   Steam Pre-release Testing (http://forums.fortress-forever.com/forumdisplay.php?f=115)
-   -   Running a dedicated server (http://forums.fortress-forever.com/showthread.php?t=24513)

squeek. 11-29-2014 10:26 PM

Running a dedicated server
 
Following this Neotokyo Dedicated Server Guide should work, except for a few differences:
  • FF's dedicated server appid is 329710

So, for FF, the commands you should use in steamcmd are:
Code:

login anonymous
force_install_dir .\ffds\
app_update 329710 validate

NOTE: Currently, the srcds.exe GUI will not work. This might be fixed in the future, but for now, you must start srcds.exe through the command line.

Terrum 11-29-2014 10:28 PM

Thanks for this! I had a feeling all you had to do was changed the app ID and update, if you already had a server. ;)

squeek. 11-29-2014 10:30 PM

It's a bit different than the current method, because now FF and the SDK files are bundled together in our appid. So, instead of installing Source Dedicated Server through Steamcmd and then manually adding the FF server files to it, you just install our new appid and it'll download everything for you.

Terrum 11-29-2014 10:33 PM

Indeed. However I tested it with an existing server and it updates/overwrites fine, just to confirm with anyone else who wishes to do this with their FF server!

Agent Buckshot Moose 12-02-2014 11:12 PM

Do you have the Linux srcds binaries?

rodox 12-02-2014 11:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Agent Buckshot Moose (Post 505065)
Do you have the Linux srcds binaries?

They no longer exist

squeek. 12-03-2014 12:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Agent Buckshot Moose (Post 505065)
Do you have the Linux srcds binaries?

We have obtained a copy of the pre-Steampipe Linux srcds binaries from psychonic (the guy fixing all the Steam-related stuff for us), but we haven't been able to get them to work right. They are currently included with the Fortress Forever Dedicated Server files.

Powerlord 12-06-2014 04:04 AM

Hmm... does Fortress Forever / the new beta have the same issue that Neotokyo does with the SourceMod MapChooser?

I intend to do some work with the SM MapChooser once the SM core libs are all switched over to the newer SM 1.7 syntax. This is mainly to fix issues it has in certain game modes for Valve games (CSGO's competitive mode's match clinching, CSGO's Arms Race, TF2's MvM), but as long as I'm modigying it, I might as well fix issues in other games as well.

In fact, that installation thing for Neotokyo is the first I'd heard of MapChooser having issues on NeoTokyo...

KubeDawg 12-06-2014 04:26 AM

What issues are you referring to?

If you are referring to the issue where you cannot switch weapons while a vote menu is on the screen, then yes that has been an issue forever in FF. The only other map vote option is the legacy one where you must hit Escape which displays a small vote menu which is something players do not like having to do every time a map vote is called.

Ideally, I'd prefer a similar vote menu to CS:GO but being that FF is on such an old SDK, I doubt that is possible. (I don't think flash-based menus are an option)

squeek. 03-27-2015 05:02 PM

So, in regards to this:
Quote:

Originally Posted by squeek. (Post 507449)
Also fixed dedicated server CPU usage idling at 100% (but there might be side effects to the fix; we'll see).

The custom dedicated.dll we were using was the issue, so we reverted back to the default dedicated.dll for now. The side effect is that the srcds.exe GUI no longer works (that's what the custom dedicated.dll fixed).

Added this note to the OP:

Quote:

NOTE: Currently, the srcds.exe GUI will not work. This might be fixed in the future, but for now, you must start srcds.exe through the command line.


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:12 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.