PDA

View Full Version : Physics Questions/Discussion

o_sobe green
02-15-2005, 05:56 AM
Alright I've read or atleast skimmed through nearly every topic. I'm on these forums daily and I've yet to completely get an idea of how the Source engines physics are going to come into play in FF. Here are a few questions I have mostly out of curiosity. I'm not an expert in the physics of the HL engine or TFC so if I'm wrong on any of this let me know.

Concs
In TFC as far as I can tell there aren't any huge differences in how far your thrown. It seems most classes are "pushed" at about the same speed with some slight differences in the distance. For example a scout will be thrown pretty far while a HW most of the time is just pushed back a few notches. With these new physics will the scout have a slight distance benefit from concing over the medic? I've done a few tests and while they aren't really accurate from what I can tell in height the scout and medic rank pretty close. It would seem to make a little more sense if a scout was thrown a little more up and forward than the medic was. Maybe it is already like this in TFC I don't know. My tests consisted of loading a concmap and conc jumping straight up and spraying the wall in front of me at the height of my jump. Not very accurate I know.

Weapons
I'm pretty sure you guys are going to be using the same system as TFC in which each class moves at its own set speed. But out of pure curiosity I'm going to ask anyway. Will there be any weapon weight at all? An example of this can be seen in CS. Maybe not to that severe degree, but will there be any difference in speed -at all- compared to having the AC out or having the shotgun out?

Ragdolls/Gibs + Detpacks